Register My Garage Arcade V.I.P Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read
Go Back   my6thgen.org - Maxima Forum > my6thgen.org - Very Useful Information > Ask Your Technical & General Questions

Ask Your Technical & General Questions Ask your general and/or technical questions relating to any problem you're experiencing or troubleshooting.

View All Technical & General Questions

Reply
ExclamationThis thread is more than 150+ days old. If you still feel it is necessary to bump this thread, you have the permission to do so. Please click the checkbox below and post your reply.
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-17-2013, 05:36 PM   Thread Starter #1
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
guy8689's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Official Member #: 6240
Last Online: 04-05-2014 04:11 PM
Posts: 4

Reputation Level: 0
guy8689 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Loose Wire, Any Idea

I just put on my winter tires and noticed this wire just hanging behind my front fight wheel. at first I thought it was the wire for my right cornering light but it's not :s Anybody have an idea of what it could be?

Thanks for the help!

Jay
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 2013-11-17 14.49.58.jpg (93.2 KB, 33 views)
File Type: jpg 2013-11-17 14.50.22.jpg (92.9 KB, 34 views)
guy8689 is offline   Send a private message to guy8689 Find more posts by guy8689 Add guy8689 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-18-2013, 10:30 AM   #2
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Terrentius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Official Member #: 14402
Last Online: 03-02-2016 10:47 PM
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 115

Reputation Level: 6
Terrentius is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Loose Wire, Any Idea

If no one chimes in during the meantime, I'll be under my car tomorrow and I'll let you know when I get back home.
Likes: (1)
guy8689 (11-18-2013)
Terrentius is offline   Send a private message to Terrentius Find more posts by Terrentius Add Terrentius to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-20-2013, 07:59 PM   #3
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Terrentius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Official Member #: 14402
Last Online: 03-02-2016 10:47 PM
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 115

Reputation Level: 6
Terrentius is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Loose Wire, Any Idea

I finally got up in there. It looks like that cable/wire attaches to the upper oil pan.

[IMG]Click the image to open in full size.[/IMG]
Terrentius is offline   Send a private message to Terrentius Find more posts by Terrentius Add Terrentius to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-21-2013, 12:22 AM   Thread Starter #4
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
guy8689's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Official Member #: 6240
Last Online: 04-05-2014 04:11 PM
Posts: 4

Reputation Level: 0
guy8689 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Loose Wire, Any Idea

Originally Posted by Terrentius View Post
I finally got up in there. It looks like that cable/wire attaches to the upper oil pan.

[IMG]Click the image to open in full size.[/IMG]
You are right that does look a lot like the same wire! I will take the wheel off friday and see if I can get it back in there. I'll post an update.

Thanks for the taking the time to take a look and post an image
guy8689 is offline   Send a private message to guy8689 Find more posts by guy8689 Add guy8689 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-21-2013, 12:23 AM   Thread Starter #5
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
guy8689's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Official Member #: 6240
Last Online: 04-05-2014 04:11 PM
Posts: 4

Reputation Level: 0
guy8689 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Loose Wire, Any Idea

Originally Posted by Terrentius View Post
I finally got up in there. It looks like that cable/wire attaches to the upper oil pan.

[IMG]Click the image to open in full size.[/IMG]

You are right that does look a lot like the same wire! I will take the wheel off friday and see if I can get it back in there. I'll post an update.

Thanks for the taking the time to take a look and post an image
guy8689 is offline   Send a private message to guy8689 Find more posts by guy8689 Add guy8689 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-21-2013, 09:22 AM   #6
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Terrentius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Official Member #: 14402
Last Online: 03-02-2016 10:47 PM
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 115

Reputation Level: 6
Terrentius is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Loose Wire, Any Idea

Judging by the location and the similarity between the engines, this is what I am guessing it is - oil sensor.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q-6kMd-Hhu4
Terrentius is offline   Send a private message to Terrentius Find more posts by Terrentius Add Terrentius to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-21-2013, 10:44 AM   #7
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Terrentius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Official Member #: 14402
Last Online: 03-02-2016 10:47 PM
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 115

Reputation Level: 6
Terrentius is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Loose Wire, Any Idea

Yeah, I'm pretty sure that is the oil pressure switch - #4 . That said, I also saw some chatter on the 350/370 forums about guys cooking their engines because they had issues with this particular switch. So, best to have it connected and doing its job.

[IMG]Click the image to open in full size.[/IMG]
Terrentius is offline   Send a private message to Terrentius Find more posts by Terrentius Add Terrentius to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-22-2013, 02:58 PM   Thread Starter #8
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
guy8689's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Official Member #: 6240
Last Online: 04-05-2014 04:11 PM
Posts: 4

Reputation Level: 0
guy8689 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Loose Wire, Any Idea

You are absolutely right! I checked again and yes it is the oil pressure switch. It is however broken Will have to get it replaced.

I really appreciate you taking the time to look it up and even post pictures

Cheers!
guy8689 is offline   Send a private message to guy8689 Find more posts by guy8689 Add guy8689 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-22-2013, 04:47 PM   #9
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Terrentius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Official Member #: 14402
Last Online: 03-02-2016 10:47 PM
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 115

Reputation Level: 6
Terrentius is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Loose Wire, Any Idea

Not a problem, bro.

Try a salvage yard for a replacement...you might get one of the cheap there. At a torque spec of 14NM, you should have no problem putting the new one in.
Terrentius is offline   Send a private message to Terrentius Find more posts by Terrentius Add Terrentius to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 Members And 1 Guests)
 
Thread Tools


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:18 PM.