Register My Garage Arcade V.I.P Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read
Go Back   my6thgen.org - Maxima Forum > my6thgen.org - Very Useful Information > Ask Your Technical & General Questions

Ask Your Technical & General Questions Ask your general and/or technical questions relating to any problem you're experiencing or troubleshooting.

View All Technical & General Questions

Reply
ExclamationThis thread is more than 150+ days old. If you still feel it is necessary to bump this thread, you have the permission to do so. Please click the checkbox below and post your reply.
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-12-2011, 02:30 PM   Thread Starter #1
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Datboired832's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Official Member #: 109
Last Online: 10-15-2017 03:10 AM
Location: Houston, Texas back in San Diego
Posts: 420

Reputation Level: 10
Datboired832 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Info Screen Not Working Correctly!!!

So my NIRD-01 went bad, and so I got another one. Ever since it was installed, I saw that the outside temp. doesnt show and the screen wont dim either. And the miles to empty, trip and ect doesnt work either!! Do you all think its because of the NIRD-01 or something else? How can I fix this??
__________________
***UNDER CONSTRUCTION. AGAIN!****
http://www.cardomain.com/ride/2903137
Datboired832 is offline   Send a private message to Datboired832 Find more posts by Datboired832 Add Datboired832 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 05-12-2011, 09:49 PM   #2
Senior Moderator

my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
1hawaii50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Official Member #: 63
Last Online: 11-03-2014 08:34 PM
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 13,276

Reputation Level: 58
1hawaii50 has a spectacular aura about1hawaii50 has a spectacular aura about1hawaii50 has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Supporting Family Member  


/ Point Value: 10

Member of the Month (M.O.T.M)  


/ Point Value: 10

Most Valuable Poster (MVP)  


/ Point Value: 10

V.I.P Member  


/ Point Value: 15

Spotlight Ride Of The Month  


/ Point Value: 5

Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Official Ride  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: Info Screen Not Working Correctly!!!

Originally Posted by Datboired832 View Post
So my NIRD-01 went bad, and so I got another one. Ever since it was installed, I saw that the outside temp. doesnt show and the screen wont dim either. And the miles to empty, trip and ect doesnt work either!! Do you all think its because of the NIRD-01 or something else? How can I fix this??
Did you install it yourself? Take the keypad apart, there are screws on the backside. Make sure all 4 wires are still inserted into the plug at the circuit board...they are known to come loose. Otherwise, I'd have to guess something isn't connected correctly.
__________________
1hawaii50 is offline   Send a private message to 1hawaii50 Find more posts by 1hawaii50 Add 1hawaii50 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 05-13-2011, 09:59 AM   #3
Queen's Official 6.5 Gen
Donating Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
I3LAZEN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Official Member #: 40
Last Online: 06-09-2014 02:52 PM
Location: Queens, NYC
Posts: 5,849

Reputation Level: 31
I3LAZEN will become famous soon enoughI3LAZEN will become famous soon enough

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
V.I.P Member  


/ Point Value: 15

Honorable Ride  


/ Point Value: 5

Most Valuable Poster (MVP)  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: Info Screen Not Working Correctly!!!



and the nird issues continue [except for Don LOL]
__________________
my6then.org_Member 40
Click the image to open in full size.
Click the image to open in full size.
I3LAZEN is offline   Send a private message to I3LAZEN Find more posts by I3LAZEN Add I3LAZEN to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 05-13-2011, 11:46 AM   Thread Starter #4
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Datboired832's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Official Member #: 109
Last Online: 10-15-2017 03:10 AM
Location: Houston, Texas back in San Diego
Posts: 420

Reputation Level: 10
Datboired832 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Info Screen Not Working Correctly!!!

Don,

Everything all good. I think thers something not connected. And it was professionally installed
__________________
***UNDER CONSTRUCTION. AGAIN!****
http://www.cardomain.com/ride/2903137
Datboired832 is offline   Send a private message to Datboired832 Find more posts by Datboired832 Add Datboired832 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 05-13-2011, 11:58 AM   #5
Senior Moderator

my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
1hawaii50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Official Member #: 63
Last Online: 11-03-2014 08:34 PM
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 13,276

Reputation Level: 58
1hawaii50 has a spectacular aura about1hawaii50 has a spectacular aura about1hawaii50 has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Supporting Family Member  


/ Point Value: 10

Member of the Month (M.O.T.M)  


/ Point Value: 10

Most Valuable Poster (MVP)  


/ Point Value: 10

V.I.P Member  


/ Point Value: 15

Spotlight Ride Of The Month  


/ Point Value: 5

Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Official Ride  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: Info Screen Not Working Correctly!!!

I think a lot of the issues stemmed from the wires in the control pad. My first NIRD worked, but the control pad wouldn't do anything. I RMA'd it and the second one did EXACTLY the same thing. I called Metra (very helpful tech dept.), and they told me to open the keypad and check the wires....they told me they are prone to come loose. I opened the keypad, and sure enough! I'm sure that was the same issue with the first one I had.

Don't get me wrong, I'm sure there are some NIRD units that are legitimately bad...they are electronic, and it happens with any product. That being said, other than the keypad, I think the other big problem with them is in the installation. They are EXTREMELY time consuming to hook up....LOTS of wires. I took my time and spent a couple hours on it. I triple checked all of my wiring before making my connections. A lot of the issues I've seen are with people that had a shop install it for them...there's no telling how the shop hooked it up...

All told, I'm glad I bought the unit, even with the small issues that I've had with it. I still get the wonky screen occasionally upon shifting into reverse......a simple shut off/restart corrects it. Still, I'm glad I didn't lose my info screen!
__________________
1hawaii50 is offline   Send a private message to 1hawaii50 Find more posts by 1hawaii50 Add 1hawaii50 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 05-13-2011, 12:02 PM   #6
Senior Moderator

my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
1hawaii50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Official Member #: 63
Last Online: 11-03-2014 08:34 PM
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 13,276

Reputation Level: 58
1hawaii50 has a spectacular aura about1hawaii50 has a spectacular aura about1hawaii50 has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Supporting Family Member  


/ Point Value: 10

Member of the Month (M.O.T.M)  


/ Point Value: 10

Most Valuable Poster (MVP)  


/ Point Value: 10

V.I.P Member  


/ Point Value: 15

Spotlight Ride Of The Month  


/ Point Value: 5

Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Official Ride  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: Info Screen Not Working Correctly!!!

Originally Posted by Datboired832 View Post
Don,

Everything all good. I think thers something not connected. And it was professionally installed
The screen not dimming has to do with the dimmer wire...I wired my dimmer wire right to one of my switches to the lower left of the steering wheel. As far as none of your buttons working...open the keypad and check the wires. One the backside of the circuit board, the wires terminate at a small plastic plug that is plugged into the board. One of my wires pulled out of the plug. I just pushed the pin back into the plug, and I was good to go.

As far as a professional installation...that doesn't mean that they hooked it up right. If you still have the instructions, you're going to need to gain access to it, and re-check all of the connections. If you need the instructions, I can dig mine out and e-mail them to you.
__________________
1hawaii50 is offline   Send a private message to 1hawaii50 Find more posts by 1hawaii50 Add 1hawaii50 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 05-13-2011, 12:04 PM   Thread Starter #7
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Datboired832's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Official Member #: 109
Last Online: 10-15-2017 03:10 AM
Location: Houston, Texas back in San Diego
Posts: 420

Reputation Level: 10
Datboired832 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Info Screen Not Working Correctly!!!

Thanks alot. I dont have the instructions anymore. You still have my email?
__________________
***UNDER CONSTRUCTION. AGAIN!****
http://www.cardomain.com/ride/2903137
Datboired832 is offline   Send a private message to Datboired832 Find more posts by Datboired832 Add Datboired832 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 05-13-2011, 03:19 PM   #8
Senior Moderator

my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
1hawaii50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Official Member #: 63
Last Online: 11-03-2014 08:34 PM
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 13,276

Reputation Level: 58
1hawaii50 has a spectacular aura about1hawaii50 has a spectacular aura about1hawaii50 has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Supporting Family Member  


/ Point Value: 10

Member of the Month (M.O.T.M)  


/ Point Value: 10

Most Valuable Poster (MVP)  


/ Point Value: 10

V.I.P Member  


/ Point Value: 15

Spotlight Ride Of The Month  


/ Point Value: 5

Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Official Ride  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: Info Screen Not Working Correctly!!!

Originally Posted by Datboired832 View Post
Thanks alot. I dont have the instructions anymore. You still have my email?
I'm sure I do, but shoot me a PM just in case...I'll try to get them over to you tonight.
__________________
1hawaii50 is offline   Send a private message to 1hawaii50 Find more posts by 1hawaii50 Add 1hawaii50 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 05-13-2011, 03:24 PM   Thread Starter #9
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Datboired832's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Official Member #: 109
Last Online: 10-15-2017 03:10 AM
Location: Houston, Texas back in San Diego
Posts: 420

Reputation Level: 10
Datboired832 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Info Screen Not Working Correctly!!!

PM sent
__________________
***UNDER CONSTRUCTION. AGAIN!****
http://www.cardomain.com/ride/2903137
Datboired832 is offline   Send a private message to Datboired832 Find more posts by Datboired832 Add Datboired832 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 Members And 1 Guests)
 
Thread Tools


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:22 AM.