Register My Garage Arcade V.I.P Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read
Go Back   my6thgen.org - Maxima Forum > my6thgen.org - Very Useful Information > Ask Your Technical & General Questions

Ask Your Technical & General Questions Ask your general and/or technical questions relating to any problem you're experiencing or troubleshooting.

View All Technical & General Questions

Reply
ExclamationThis thread is more than 150+ days old. If you still feel it is necessary to bump this thread, you have the permission to do so. Please click the checkbox below and post your reply.
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-08-2012, 07:01 PM   Thread Starter #1
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
majestic06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Official Member #: 1055
Last Online: 03-19-2013 08:22 PM
Posts: 12

Reputation Level: 0
majestic06 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Front Motor Mount Sensor

Does anyone know why the front mm has an electrical sensor? What is the purpose and what would cause it too make yet another sound under my hood? Can I just disconnect it?
majestic06 is offline   Send a private message to majestic06 Find more posts by majestic06 Add majestic06 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 01-08-2012, 07:07 PM   #2
Moderator
Flipadelphia
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
06BlckMax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Official Member #: 662
Last Online: 09-22-2019 12:01 AM
Location: IG: 06BlckMax
Posts: 6,827

Reputation Level: 56
06BlckMax is a jewel in the rough06BlckMax is a jewel in the rough06BlckMax is a jewel in the rough06BlckMax is a jewel in the rough

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Visit 06BlckMax's PS3 Profile
Default Re: Front motor mount sensor

the sensor monitors the vehicle speed (RPM) and softens or hardens the motor mount. so when your at a stop less vibration are felt as the mount soften up, with high speed it hardens so you get a good handling
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.

------See How It Was Built------
Likes: (1)
hans66 (12-04-2012)
06BlckMax is offline   Send a private message to 06BlckMax Find more posts by 06BlckMax Add 06BlckMax to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 01-08-2012, 08:13 PM   #3
Parking Lot Pimpin
Donating Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
PapaL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Official Member #: 78
Last Online: 11-30-2012 08:02 PM
Location: D\m/V
Posts: 2,612

Reputation Level: 35
PapaL has a spectacular aura aboutPapaL has a spectacular aura aboutPapaL has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Supporting Family Member  


/ Point Value: 10

Official Ride  


/ Point Value: 10

Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Default Re: Front Motor Mount Sensor

You can disconnect it and not break anything.
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.

Originally Posted by 20inlowpros View Post
^^^Nice ass bro!!
Originally Posted by chulo View Post
oh man! pm me if u want to get big by august
Likes: (1)
hans66 (12-04-2012)
PapaL is offline   Send a private message to PapaL Find more posts by PapaL Add PapaL to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 01-10-2012, 06:03 PM   #4
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
elitemaxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Official Member #: 1030
Last Online: 10-28-2012 10:51 AM
Location: brooklyn
Posts: 42

Reputation Level: 0
elitemaxx is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Front motor mount sensor

i was also wondering what was it for, nice.
elitemaxx is offline   Send a private message to elitemaxx Find more posts by elitemaxx Add elitemaxx to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 12-04-2012, 03:04 PM   #5
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
hans66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Official Member #: 1576
Last Online: 04-04-2014 11:49 PM
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 105

Reputation Level: 9
hans66 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Front Motor Mount Sensor

Very useful. Love this site!
hans66 is offline   Send a private message to hans66 Find more posts by hans66 Add hans66 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 12-04-2012, 07:28 PM   #6
Moderator
Burnt Orange
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
BurntOrangeAppeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Official Member #: 2887
Last Online: 12-04-2014 04:56 PM
Location: Under the Bridge
Posts: 2,816

Reputation Level: 34
BurntOrangeAppeal has a spectacular aura aboutBurntOrangeAppeal has a spectacular aura aboutBurntOrangeAppeal has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Front motor mount sensor

Originally Posted by 06BlckMax View Post
the sensor monitors the vehicle speed (RPM) and softens or hardens the motor mount. so when your at a stop less vibration are felt as the mount soften up, with high speed it hardens so you get a good handling
This is partially incorrect The engine mount has a 2 step motor. When your engine is at idle its on soft anything above idle is hardened. Technically it doesnt harden up with increased speed as long as you are above idle the step motor is on pos 2. This can be viewed through OBDII DATA stream. Not being a smart ass either, just wanted to clarify things.
__________________
'04 SE 6MT, Elite.
'01 SE Anniversary.
'97 GXE.
Click the image to open in full size.
Click the image to open in full size.
-=My Build Tread=-
Likes: (2)
1hawaii50 (12-05-2012), smittybizzle (12-04-2012)
BurntOrangeAppeal is offline   Send a private message to BurntOrangeAppeal Find more posts by BurntOrangeAppeal Add BurntOrangeAppeal to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 Members And 1 Guests)
 
Thread Tools


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:26 AM.