Register My Garage Arcade V.I.P Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read
Go Back   my6thgen.org - Maxima Forum > my6thgen.org - Very Useful Information > Ask Your Technical & General Questions

Ask Your Technical & General Questions Ask your general and/or technical questions relating to any problem you're experiencing or troubleshooting.

View All Technical & General Questions

Reply
ExclamationThis thread is more than 150+ days old. If you still feel it is necessary to bump this thread, you have the permission to do so. Please click the checkbox below and post your reply.
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-05-2012, 09:34 AM   Thread Starter #1
Premier Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
DViious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Official Member #: 738
Last Online: 12-13-2017 12:47 AM
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 1,339

Reputation Level: 13
DViious is on a distinguished road

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Is Dimmer Switch Supposed To Work After HU Install?

Ok so installed a new head unit not to long ago, only trouble is my dimmer switch isnt working... has anyone had this issue after an aftermarket HU install?
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.

R.I.P BISHNU - SECONDTONONE317

TOPSPEED PRO-1 PERFORMANCE SPONSORED

http://stores.ebay.com/TOP-SPEED-PRO-1-PERFORMANCE
DViious is offline   Send a private message to DViious Find more posts by DViious Add DViious to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 02-05-2012, 09:54 AM   #2
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Hmax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Official Member #: 158
Last Online: 05-10-2018 02:35 PM
Location: Da Bronx, NY
Posts: 5,926

Reputation Level: 32
Hmax will become famous soon enoughHmax will become famous soon enough

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Most Valuable Poster (MVP)  


/ Point Value: 10

Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Default Re: Is Dimmer Switch Supposed To Work After HU Install?

its supposed to work, you may have fudged something up. Mine works. Plus i have heard of some people who fried the dimmer switch and/or did not hook something up right. Take it back to the person who installed and tell them, its supposed to work and it worked before the HU
__________________
Originally Posted by hero782 View Post
Low & Slow!!! And I stop at potholes lol
Click the image to open in full size.

Want 12HP More?- CLICK HERE
Hmax is offline   Send a private message to Hmax Find more posts by Hmax Add Hmax to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 02-05-2012, 11:39 AM   #3
Mile High Maxima
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Apollos2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Official Member #: 510
Last Online: 06-06-2016 08:24 PM
Posts: 1,955

Reputation Level: 34
Apollos2 has a spectacular aura aboutApollos2 has a spectacular aura aboutApollos2 has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 27%
Activity: 27% Activity: 27% Activity: 27%
Default Re: Is Dimmer Switch Supposed To Work After HU Install?

No issue when mine was installed, any chance it just got disconnected?
__________________
Cardomain = Silver stream


Click the image to open in full size.Click the image to open in full size.
Apollos2 is offline   Send a private message to Apollos2 Find more posts by Apollos2 Add Apollos2 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 02-05-2012, 11:46 AM   Thread Starter #4
Premier Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
DViious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Official Member #: 738
Last Online: 12-13-2017 12:47 AM
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 1,339

Reputation Level: 13
DViious is on a distinguished road

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Is Dimmer Switch Supposed To Work After HU Install?

Most likely disconnected, there was one socket that wasnt plugged in but i dont know where that goes i only see the extra one on the stock HU...i mean it doesnt bother me just need a quick fix...its just weird to me why it stopped working i will unhook and check again...
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.

R.I.P BISHNU - SECONDTONONE317

TOPSPEED PRO-1 PERFORMANCE SPONSORED

http://stores.ebay.com/TOP-SPEED-PRO-1-PERFORMANCE
DViious is offline   Send a private message to DViious Find more posts by DViious Add DViious to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 02-05-2012, 02:16 PM   #5
Senior Moderator

my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
1hawaii50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Official Member #: 63
Last Online: 11-03-2014 08:34 PM
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 13,276

Reputation Level: 58
1hawaii50 has a spectacular aura about1hawaii50 has a spectacular aura about1hawaii50 has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Supporting Family Member  


/ Point Value: 10

Member of the Month (M.O.T.M)  


/ Point Value: 10

Most Valuable Poster (MVP)  


/ Point Value: 10

V.I.P Member  


/ Point Value: 15

Spotlight Ride Of The Month  


/ Point Value: 5

Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Official Ride  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: Is Dimmer Switch Supposed To Work After HU Install?

Dimmer switch should still work...I don't know why the installer ever would have had to unplug it, if it's unplugged....
__________________
1hawaii50 is offline   Send a private message to 1hawaii50 Find more posts by 1hawaii50 Add 1hawaii50 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 02-05-2012, 06:46 PM   Thread Starter #6
Premier Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
DViious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Official Member #: 738
Last Online: 12-13-2017 12:47 AM
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 1,339

Reputation Level: 13
DViious is on a distinguished road

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Is Dimmer Switch Supposed To Work After HU Install?

i dont know either can you guys give me a heads up on what am i looking for? maybe a fuse blown?
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.

R.I.P BISHNU - SECONDTONONE317

TOPSPEED PRO-1 PERFORMANCE SPONSORED

http://stores.ebay.com/TOP-SPEED-PRO-1-PERFORMANCE
DViious is offline   Send a private message to DViious Find more posts by DViious Add DViious to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 02-05-2012, 06:55 PM   #7
Glendales Official 6th Gen
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Kenny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Official Member #: 2651
Last Online: 03-09-2016 03:59 AM
Location: Southern California
Posts: 5,356

Reputation Level: 36
Kenny has a spectacular aura aboutKenny has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 100%
Activity: 100% Activity: 100% Activity: 100%

My Awards:
Supporting Family Member  


/ Point Value: 10

Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Most Valuable Poster (MVP)  


/ Point Value: 10

Visit Kenny's PS3 Profile Visit Kenny's Xbox Gamercard
Default Re: Is Dimmer Switch Supposed To Work After HU Install?

I heard that when the dimmer switch doesn't work it's evacuate a fuse is blown I can't remember what thread I saw that in though
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.


Follow Me On Instagram/Twitter:@0mg350z
Kenny is offline   Send a private message to Kenny Find more posts by Kenny Add Kenny to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 02-05-2012, 09:16 PM   #8
Senior Moderator

my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
1hawaii50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Official Member #: 63
Last Online: 11-03-2014 08:34 PM
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 13,276

Reputation Level: 58
1hawaii50 has a spectacular aura about1hawaii50 has a spectacular aura about1hawaii50 has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Supporting Family Member  


/ Point Value: 10

Member of the Month (M.O.T.M)  


/ Point Value: 10

Most Valuable Poster (MVP)  


/ Point Value: 10

V.I.P Member  


/ Point Value: 15

Spotlight Ride Of The Month  


/ Point Value: 5

Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Official Ride  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: Is Dimmer Switch Supposed To Work After HU Install?

Originally Posted by DViious View Post
i dont know either can you guys give me a heads up on what am i looking for? maybe a fuse blown?
Originally Posted by kaygmaxima View Post
I heard that when the dimmer switch doesn't work it's evacuate a fuse is blown I can't remember what thread I saw that in though
Your dimmer switch is not on it's own fuse...if it's a fuse, some of your other things will not be working either...

Originally Posted by kaygmaxima View Post
I heard that when the dimmer switch doesn't work it's evacuate a fuse is blown I can't remember what thread I saw that in though
NO IDEA what that means...
__________________
1hawaii50 is offline   Send a private message to 1hawaii50 Find more posts by 1hawaii50 Add 1hawaii50 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 02-05-2012, 09:45 PM   Thread Starter #9
Premier Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
DViious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Official Member #: 738
Last Online: 12-13-2017 12:47 AM
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 1,339

Reputation Level: 13
DViious is on a distinguished road

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Is Dimmer Switch Supposed To Work After HU Install?

well everything is working and the switch still lights up
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.

R.I.P BISHNU - SECONDTONONE317

TOPSPEED PRO-1 PERFORMANCE SPONSORED

http://stores.ebay.com/TOP-SPEED-PRO-1-PERFORMANCE
DViious is offline   Send a private message to DViious Find more posts by DViious Add DViious to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 02-05-2012, 10:07 PM   #10
Glendales Official 6th Gen
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Kenny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Official Member #: 2651
Last Online: 03-09-2016 03:59 AM
Location: Southern California
Posts: 5,356

Reputation Level: 36
Kenny has a spectacular aura aboutKenny has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 100%
Activity: 100% Activity: 100% Activity: 100%

My Awards:
Supporting Family Member  


/ Point Value: 10

Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Most Valuable Poster (MVP)  


/ Point Value: 10

Visit Kenny's PS3 Profile Visit Kenny's Xbox Gamercard
Default Re: Is Dimmer Switch Supposed To Work After HU Install?

Originally Posted by 1hawaii50 View Post
Your dimmer switch is not on it's own fuse...if it's a fuse, some of your other things will not be working either...



NO IDEA what that means...
Sorry I mean "because" my iPhone corrected it to that sorry about that
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.


Follow Me On Instagram/Twitter:@0mg350z
Kenny is offline   Send a private message to Kenny Find more posts by Kenny Add Kenny to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 02-05-2012, 10:20 PM   #11
Senior Moderator

my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
1hawaii50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Official Member #: 63
Last Online: 11-03-2014 08:34 PM
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 13,276

Reputation Level: 58
1hawaii50 has a spectacular aura about1hawaii50 has a spectacular aura about1hawaii50 has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Supporting Family Member  


/ Point Value: 10

Member of the Month (M.O.T.M)  


/ Point Value: 10

Most Valuable Poster (MVP)  


/ Point Value: 10

V.I.P Member  


/ Point Value: 15

Spotlight Ride Of The Month  


/ Point Value: 5

Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Official Ride  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: Is Dimmer Switch Supposed To Work After HU Install?

Originally Posted by DViious View Post
well everything is working and the switch still lights up
Then it is not a fuse issue...
__________________
1hawaii50 is offline   Send a private message to 1hawaii50 Find more posts by 1hawaii50 Add 1hawaii50 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 02-05-2012, 11:46 PM   Thread Starter #12
Premier Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
DViious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Official Member #: 738
Last Online: 12-13-2017 12:47 AM
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 1,339

Reputation Level: 13
DViious is on a distinguished road

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Is Dimmer Switch Supposed To Work After HU Install?

I'm probably going to plug back the old radio and see what happens
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.

R.I.P BISHNU - SECONDTONONE317

TOPSPEED PRO-1 PERFORMANCE SPONSORED

http://stores.ebay.com/TOP-SPEED-PRO-1-PERFORMANCE
DViious is offline   Send a private message to DViious Find more posts by DViious Add DViious to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 Members And 0 Guests and 1 Web Crawlers)
 
Thread Tools


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:09 AM.