Register My Garage Arcade V.I.P Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read
Go Back   my6thgen.org - Maxima Forum > my6thgen.org - Very Useful Information > Ask Your Technical & General Questions > Interior, Exterior & Lighting

Reply
ExclamationThis thread is more than 150+ days old. If you still feel it is necessary to bump this thread, you have the permission to do so. Please click the checkbox below and post your reply.
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-10-2012, 04:03 PM   Thread Starter #1
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
teechosen1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Official Member #: 976
Last Online: 06-14-2012 01:29 AM
Location: Orem Utah
Posts: 7

Reputation Level: 0
teechosen1 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Running Lights, Best Place To Splice In???

Looking to add some Day Time Running Lights, looking for the best place to splice in or if I should just tie into the headlights???
teechosen1 is offline   Send a private message to teechosen1 Find more posts by teechosen1 Add teechosen1 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 04-10-2012, 04:10 PM   #2
Senior Citizen Moderator
6th Gen Official Pops
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
07maximan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Official Member #: 2184
Last Online: 12-08-2014 03:33 PM
Location: Close....Very Close!!
Posts: 9,421

Reputation Level: 69
07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice

Participation Level: 9%
Activity: 9% Activity: 9% Activity: 9%

My Awards:
Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Member of the Month (M.O.T.M)  


/ Point Value: 10

Honorable Ride  


/ Point Value: 5

Most Valuable Poster (MVP)  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: Running Lights, Best Place To Splice In???

If you use the head lights they will only turn on with the head lights. Just find a 12v source and run them with a switch.
__________________

Originally Posted by dstruc View Post
Next week Omar is taking us walking through the projects. Alex is getting raped for sure.
07maximan is offline   Send a private message to 07maximan Find more posts by 07maximan Add 07maximan to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 04-10-2012, 04:40 PM   Thread Starter #3
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
teechosen1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Official Member #: 976
Last Online: 06-14-2012 01:29 AM
Location: Orem Utah
Posts: 7

Reputation Level: 0
teechosen1 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Running Lights, Best Place To Splice In???

wheres the best place to find the 12 v source? also do I have to add a switch? Is there a way to have them on just when the car is on without going thru the headlights?
teechosen1 is offline   Send a private message to teechosen1 Find more posts by teechosen1 Add teechosen1 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 04-10-2012, 04:42 PM   #4
Official Sweet Action 6.5gen
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Nismo4Life07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Official Member #: 117
Last Online: 05-19-2016 03:25 PM
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 11,156

Reputation Level: 66
Nismo4Life07 is a jewel in the roughNismo4Life07 is a jewel in the roughNismo4Life07 is a jewel in the roughNismo4Life07 is a jewel in the rough

Participation Level: 100%
Activity: 100% Activity: 100% Activity: 100%

My Awards:
Official Ride  


/ Point Value: 10

Supporting Family Member  


/ Point Value: 10

Honorable Ride  


/ Point Value: 5

Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Honorable Ride  


/ Point Value: 5

Visit Nismo4Life07's Facebook Visit Nismo4Life07's PS3 Profile Visit Nismo4Life07's YouTube
Default Re: Running Lights, Best Place To Splice In???

Originally Posted by teechosen1 View Post
wheres the best place to find the 12 v source? also do I have to add a switch? Is there a way to have them on just when the car is on without going thru the headlights?
it would be best to wire it with a switch that way youre not killing your battery.
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.
Click the image to open in full size.
Nismo4Life07 is offline   Send a private message to Nismo4Life07 Find more posts by Nismo4Life07 Add Nismo4Life07 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 04-10-2012, 04:47 PM   #5
Senior Citizen Moderator
6th Gen Official Pops
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
07maximan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Official Member #: 2184
Last Online: 12-08-2014 03:33 PM
Location: Close....Very Close!!
Posts: 9,421

Reputation Level: 69
07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice

Participation Level: 9%
Activity: 9% Activity: 9% Activity: 9%

My Awards:
Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Member of the Month (M.O.T.M)  


/ Point Value: 10

Honorable Ride  


/ Point Value: 5

Most Valuable Poster (MVP)  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: Running Lights, Best Place To Splice In???

Originally Posted by teechosen1 View Post
wheres the best place to find the 12 v source? also do I have to add a switch? Is there a way to have them on just when the car is on without going thru the headlights?
You have 2 fuse panels under the hood. Just tap into one of those. If not run the wires into the car and use the fuse panel there. Take your pick...
__________________

Originally Posted by dstruc View Post
Next week Omar is taking us walking through the projects. Alex is getting raped for sure.
07maximan is offline   Send a private message to 07maximan Find more posts by 07maximan Add 07maximan to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 04-11-2012, 10:38 AM   #6
Senior Moderator

my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
1hawaii50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Official Member #: 63
Last Online: 11-03-2014 08:34 PM
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 13,276

Reputation Level: 58
1hawaii50 has a spectacular aura about1hawaii50 has a spectacular aura about1hawaii50 has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Supporting Family Member  


/ Point Value: 10

Member of the Month (M.O.T.M)  


/ Point Value: 10

Most Valuable Poster (MVP)  


/ Point Value: 10

V.I.P Member  


/ Point Value: 15

Spotlight Ride Of The Month  


/ Point Value: 5

Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Official Ride  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: Running Lights, Best Place To Splice In???

Wire them into the parking lights...then whenever you turn on your parking lights...BAM!!!
__________________
1hawaii50 is offline   Send a private message to 1hawaii50 Find more posts by 1hawaii50 Add 1hawaii50 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 04-11-2012, 10:52 AM   #7
I Am Just A Man
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Deadbolt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Official Member #: 175
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 14,396

Reputation Level: 20
Deadbolt is a jewel in the roughDeadbolt is a jewel in the roughDeadbolt is a jewel in the roughDeadbolt is a jewel in the rough

Participation Level: 100%
Activity: 100% Activity: 100% Activity: 100%


Default Re: Running Lights, Best Place To Splice In???

Wire them to their own switch. From experience, tapping into other lights will only cause problems. Each circuit is fused to handle a certain load, and adding an extra light to run through that one circuit will put more load on that fuse, which will cause blown fuses or lights not lighting up properly.

Stay away from tapping into headlights, fog lights or any other light. Just wire them to their own switch.
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.


Currently Own: 2004 Silver 6th Gen / 2009 White 7th Gen / 2011 Black 7th Gen

Disclaimer: By being a member of my4th/5th/6th/7thgen.org, you acknowledge and agree that if no pics are posted within 24 hours of any installed modification, you can, and will, be automaticly BANNED for 48 hours.
Deadbolt is offline   Send a private message to Deadbolt Find more posts by Deadbolt Add Deadbolt to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 04-21-2012, 05:00 AM   Thread Starter #8
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
teechosen1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Official Member #: 976
Last Online: 06-14-2012 01:29 AM
Location: Orem Utah
Posts: 7

Reputation Level: 0
teechosen1 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Running Lights, Best Place To Splice In???

Originally Posted by 07maximan View Post


You have 2 fuse panels under the hood. Just tap into one of those. If not run the wires into the car and use the fuse panel there. Take your pick...
How do I tap into the fuse panel? Sorry new to wiring?
teechosen1 is offline   Send a private message to teechosen1 Find more posts by teechosen1 Add teechosen1 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 04-21-2012, 06:35 AM   #9
Senior Moderator

my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
1hawaii50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Official Member #: 63
Last Online: 11-03-2014 08:34 PM
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 13,276

Reputation Level: 58
1hawaii50 has a spectacular aura about1hawaii50 has a spectacular aura about1hawaii50 has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Supporting Family Member  


/ Point Value: 10

Member of the Month (M.O.T.M)  


/ Point Value: 10

Most Valuable Poster (MVP)  


/ Point Value: 10

V.I.P Member  


/ Point Value: 15

Spotlight Ride Of The Month  


/ Point Value: 5

Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Official Ride  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: Running Lights, Best Place To Splice In???

Originally Posted by teechosen1 View Post
How do I tap into the fuse panel? Sorry new to wiring?
I'm not trying to be mean, but PLEASE grab a friend that knows what they are doing and have him help you. He can explain to you what he is doing and why. You have the potential to cause some damage to your car if you mess with the wiring and you don't know what you are doing. Once you've been shown, it isn't that difficult.
__________________
Likes: (1)
WIMax437 (04-21-2012)
1hawaii50 is offline   Send a private message to 1hawaii50 Find more posts by 1hawaii50 Add 1hawaii50 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Reply

Tags
daytime, fog, running lights

Go Back   my6thgen.org - Maxima Forum > my6thgen.org - Very Useful Information > Ask Your Technical & General Questions > Interior, Exterior & Lighting


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 Members And 1 Guests)
 
Thread Tools


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:30 AM.