Register My Garage Arcade V.I.P Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read
Go Back   my6thgen.org - Maxima Forum > my6thgen.org - Very Useful Information > Ask Your Technical & General Questions > Interior, Exterior & Lighting

Reply
ExclamationThis thread is more than 150+ days old. If you still feel it is necessary to bump this thread, you have the permission to do so. Please click the checkbox below and post your reply.
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-18-2011, 11:26 PM   Thread Starter #1
Premier Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
MaxPrime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Official Member #: 2533
Last Online: 03-14-2014 05:58 PM
Location: Bronx-NY
Posts: 1,203

Reputation Level: 11
MaxPrime is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Official Ride  


/ Point Value: 10

Default How To Wire My Foglights?

Ok i have and 2004 maxima with the hybrid body kit , i have aftermarket fogs on them and i want to wire them i have no clue on where to start,here is a picture so you know what i mean.

P.S car is not done still some paint and stuff that need to be done and HID installation so take it easy on me on the look of it.

Click the image to open in full size.
Click the image to open in full size.
Click the image to open in full size.
MaxPrime is offline   Send a private message to MaxPrime Find more posts by MaxPrime Add MaxPrime to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 08-18-2011, 11:33 PM   #2
Donating Member

my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Max Power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Official Member #: 86
Last Online: 04-30-2019 10:23 PM
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 2,952

Reputation Level: 25
Max Power will become famous soon enoughMax Power will become famous soon enough

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Supporting Family Member  


/ Point Value: 10

Visit Max Power's YouTube
Default Re: How to wire my foglights.

Dont try to "over think it"
Find the wires that go to the stock 04-06 fogs, then run them to the new ones.
Max Power is offline   Send a private message to Max Power Find more posts by Max Power Add Max Power to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 08-18-2011, 11:35 PM   #3
Official Member
Donating Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
PhantomMax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Official Member #: 141
Last Online: 08-21-2016 02:52 AM
Location: illinois
Posts: 1,740

Reputation Level: 17
PhantomMax is on a distinguished road

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Spotlight Ride Of The Month  


/ Point Value: 5

Default Re: How To Wire My Foglights?

Don't wire both bumper and headlight fogs together. To much would blow the fuse or relay. I have a seperate harness for my fogs. More work but looks better.

Sent from my Samsung Epic Galaxy S 4G
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.
Youtube_Video Clip

Last edited by PhantomMax; 08-18-2011 at 11:38 PM.
PhantomMax is offline   Send a private message to PhantomMax Find more posts by PhantomMax Add PhantomMax to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 08-18-2011, 11:36 PM   #4
Quicksilver
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
RAZ76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Official Member #: 138
Last Online: 04-30-2015 12:24 PM
Location: ANAHEIM/OKC
Posts: 7,612

Reputation Level: 50
RAZ76 is a jewel in the roughRAZ76 is a jewel in the roughRAZ76 is a jewel in the rough

Participation Level: 100%
Activity: 100% Activity: 100% Activity: 100%

My Awards:
Member of the Month (M.O.T.M)  


/ Point Value: 10

Banner of The Month  


/ Point Value: 10

Official Ride  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: How to wire my foglights.

Originally Posted by Max Power View Post
Dont try to "over think it"
Find the wires that go to the stock 04-06 fogs, then run them to the new ones.
04-06 are in the headlights. If he does that, then he kills the fogs in his headlights. He needs to run an entire new system for them, switch and all if he wants to keep the fogs in his heads.
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.
RAZ76 is offline   Send a private message to RAZ76 Find more posts by RAZ76 Add RAZ76 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 08-18-2011, 11:37 PM   Thread Starter #5
Premier Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
MaxPrime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Official Member #: 2533
Last Online: 03-14-2014 05:58 PM
Location: Bronx-NY
Posts: 1,203

Reputation Level: 11
MaxPrime is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Official Ride  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: How to wire my foglights.

Yeah but them whats going to power the fogs inside the headlights if i rewire it to turn on the ones in the bumper i want those on too , i was going to add some bulbs in there maybe yellow or blue. so whats my next option.
MaxPrime is offline   Send a private message to MaxPrime Find more posts by MaxPrime Add MaxPrime to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 08-18-2011, 11:40 PM   Thread Starter #6
Premier Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
MaxPrime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Official Member #: 2533
Last Online: 03-14-2014 05:58 PM
Location: Bronx-NY
Posts: 1,203

Reputation Level: 11
MaxPrime is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Official Ride  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: How to wire my foglights.

Sorry i was already in the motion of replying, that sounds hard i am really bad if i dont see any pics i dont know whats the names of anything
MaxPrime is offline   Send a private message to MaxPrime Find more posts by MaxPrime Add MaxPrime to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 08-18-2011, 11:41 PM   #7
Quicksilver
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
RAZ76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Official Member #: 138
Last Online: 04-30-2015 12:24 PM
Location: ANAHEIM/OKC
Posts: 7,612

Reputation Level: 50
RAZ76 is a jewel in the roughRAZ76 is a jewel in the roughRAZ76 is a jewel in the rough

Participation Level: 100%
Activity: 100% Activity: 100% Activity: 100%

My Awards:
Member of the Month (M.O.T.M)  


/ Point Value: 10

Banner of The Month  


/ Point Value: 10

Official Ride  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: How to wire my foglights.

Too much draw, you'll blow something if you do that. Like I said, if you want to keep the ones in the head, then you need a totally separate system. If you don't then it's easy, cut those out and wire them to the bottom.
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.
RAZ76 is offline   Send a private message to RAZ76 Find more posts by RAZ76 Add RAZ76 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 08-18-2011, 11:42 PM   #8
Official Member
Donating Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
PhantomMax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Official Member #: 141
Last Online: 08-21-2016 02:52 AM
Location: illinois
Posts: 1,740

Reputation Level: 17
PhantomMax is on a distinguished road

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Spotlight Ride Of The Month  


/ Point Value: 5

Default Re: How To Wire My Foglights?

Originally Posted by MaxPrime View Post
Yeah but them whats going to power the fogs inside the headlights if i rewire it to turn on the ones in the bumper i want those on too , i was going to add some bulbs in there maybe yellow or blue. so whats my next option.
Very easy. If you have a CAI then the fire wall below the steering colum would be easy to reach. Drill a small hole and run the switch under the steering wheel. Then ground the black wire to the chassis. The red wire to the battery and connect your fogs.


Sent from my Samsung Epic Galaxy S 4G
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.
Youtube_Video Clip

Last edited by PhantomMax; 08-18-2011 at 11:45 PM.
PhantomMax is offline   Send a private message to PhantomMax Find more posts by PhantomMax Add PhantomMax to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 08-18-2011, 11:42 PM   #9
Donating Member

my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Max Power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Official Member #: 86
Last Online: 04-30-2019 10:23 PM
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 2,952

Reputation Level: 25
Max Power will become famous soon enoughMax Power will become famous soon enough

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Supporting Family Member  


/ Point Value: 10

Visit Max Power's YouTube
Default Re: How to wire my foglights.

We'll you don't need 2 set of fogs.
If you want to put in a colored led bulb, just add a switch. (fog light rewire switch from pepboys) and hook em up to the new leds in the stock fogs. Run the switch into the cabin and turn them on manually.
Max Power is offline   Send a private message to Max Power Find more posts by Max Power Add Max Power to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 08-18-2011, 11:48 PM   Thread Starter #10
Premier Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
MaxPrime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Official Member #: 2533
Last Online: 03-14-2014 05:58 PM
Location: Bronx-NY
Posts: 1,203

Reputation Level: 11
MaxPrime is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Official Ride  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: How to wire my foglights.

sorry people i decide i will paid for the installation this is too much for me. sorry to bother but thanks for the help for sure , is a lil to hard for me when i dont see pictures and stuff like that to follow.

Last edited by MaxPrime; 08-18-2011 at 11:51 PM.
MaxPrime is offline   Send a private message to MaxPrime Find more posts by MaxPrime Add MaxPrime to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 08-18-2011, 11:51 PM   #11
Official Member
Donating Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
PhantomMax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Official Member #: 141
Last Online: 08-21-2016 02:52 AM
Location: illinois
Posts: 1,740

Reputation Level: 17
PhantomMax is on a distinguished road

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Spotlight Ride Of The Month  


/ Point Value: 5

Default Re: How To Wire My Foglights?

Originally Posted by MaxPrime View Post
sorry people i decide i will paid for the installation this is too much for me.
Haha. Don't pay more than the fog lights cost.

Sent from my Samsung Epic Galaxy S 4G
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.
Youtube_Video Clip
PhantomMax is offline   Send a private message to PhantomMax Find more posts by PhantomMax Add PhantomMax to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 08-18-2011, 11:52 PM   Thread Starter #12
Premier Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
MaxPrime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Official Member #: 2533
Last Online: 03-14-2014 05:58 PM
Location: Bronx-NY
Posts: 1,203

Reputation Level: 11
MaxPrime is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Official Ride  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: How to wire my foglights.

Originally Posted by PhantomMax View Post
Haha. Don't pay more than the fog lights cost.

Sent from my Samsung Epic Galaxy S 4G
Fogs was 60 so i really hope is not more than that.
MaxPrime is offline   Send a private message to MaxPrime Find more posts by MaxPrime Add MaxPrime to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 08-18-2011, 11:59 PM   Thread Starter #13
Premier Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
MaxPrime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Official Member #: 2533
Last Online: 03-14-2014 05:58 PM
Location: Bronx-NY
Posts: 1,203

Reputation Level: 11
MaxPrime is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Official Ride  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: How to wire my foglights.

Originally Posted by Raz76 View Post
Too much draw, you'll blow something if you do that. Like I said, if you want to keep the ones in the head, then you need a totally separate system. If you don't then it's easy, cut those out and wire them to the bottom.
This sound very easy to do but i will hate to loose the headlight fogs, i was going to add some regular blue bulbs in there
MaxPrime is offline   Send a private message to MaxPrime Find more posts by MaxPrime Add MaxPrime to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 08-21-2011, 03:47 AM   #14
Mile High City 6th Gen
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
vitec115's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Official Member #: 483
Last Online: 07-11-2014 12:08 PM
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,553

Reputation Level: 15
vitec115 is on a distinguished road

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Visit vitec115's PS3 Profile Visit vitec115's Xbox Gamercard
Default Re: How to wire my foglights.

Originally Posted by MaxPrime View Post
This sound very easy to do but i will hate to loose the headlight fogs, i was going to add some regular blue bulbs in there

I have the same bumper and IMO you dont need the headlight fogz anymore after you get the ones from the bumper is more then what you will need,but is all you.also i did what max said just unplug the fogz from the headlights and tap those wire and ur done... anyway good luck with that.
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.
vitec115 is offline   Send a private message to vitec115 Find more posts by vitec115 Add vitec115 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 08-21-2011, 12:10 PM   Thread Starter #15
Premier Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
MaxPrime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Official Member #: 2533
Last Online: 03-14-2014 05:58 PM
Location: Bronx-NY
Posts: 1,203

Reputation Level: 11
MaxPrime is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Official Ride  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: How to wire my foglights.

Originally Posted by vitec115 View Post
I have the same bumper and IMO you dont need the headlight fogz anymore after you get the ones from the bumper is more then what you will need,but is all you.also i did what max said just unplug the fogz from the headlights and tap those wire and ur done... anyway good luck with that.
You right i wont need them but i want a blue bulb in there just for looks not for light output , so can i just unplug the fogs from head lights and still add some blue non led bulbs in there and if so how can i wire it ? or can i just wire it with the fogs for the bumper ?
MaxPrime is offline   Send a private message to MaxPrime Find more posts by MaxPrime Add MaxPrime to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 08-21-2011, 01:24 PM   #16
The Irish 6th Gen!
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
iirishsamuraii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Official Member #: 61
Last Online: 05-02-2014 07:53 AM
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,733

Reputation Level: 15
iirishsamuraii is on a distinguished road

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Supporting Family Member  


/ Point Value: 10

Banner of The Month  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: How To Wire My Foglights?

i saw this pretty late but ill charge you $50 for everything if you want to meet up ill do the wiring and stuff for you
iirishsamuraii is offline   Send a private message to iirishsamuraii Find more posts by iirishsamuraii Add iirishsamuraii to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 08-21-2011, 02:05 PM   Thread Starter #17
Premier Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
MaxPrime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Official Member #: 2533
Last Online: 03-14-2014 05:58 PM
Location: Bronx-NY
Posts: 1,203

Reputation Level: 11
MaxPrime is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Official Ride  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: How To Wire My Foglights?

Sounds good where in NJ you from maybe i can take a trip up there tomorrow or so?
MaxPrime is offline   Send a private message to MaxPrime Find more posts by MaxPrime Add MaxPrime to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 08-21-2011, 04:48 PM   #18
1st Place Maxima
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
chulo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Official Member #: 77
Last Online: 01-31-2013 02:43 PM
Location: NJ
Posts: 2,499

Reputation Level: 27
chulo will become famous soon enoughchulo will become famous soon enough

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Member of the Month (M.O.T.M)  


/ Point Value: 10

Banner of The Month  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: How To Wire My Foglights?

shanes your best bet right now. it will take em 5 minutes
chulo is offline   Send a private message to chulo Find more posts by chulo Add chulo to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 08-21-2011, 10:03 PM   Thread Starter #19
Premier Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
MaxPrime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Official Member #: 2533
Last Online: 03-14-2014 05:58 PM
Location: Bronx-NY
Posts: 1,203

Reputation Level: 11
MaxPrime is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Official Ride  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: How To Wire My Foglights?

Yeah trying to get him to do it tomorrow but no respond waiting shane
MaxPrime is offline   Send a private message to MaxPrime Find more posts by MaxPrime Add MaxPrime to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 08-22-2011, 07:06 PM   #20
Official Member
Donating Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
PhantomMax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Official Member #: 141
Last Online: 08-21-2016 02:52 AM
Location: illinois
Posts: 1,740

Reputation Level: 17
PhantomMax is on a distinguished road

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Spotlight Ride Of The Month  


/ Point Value: 5

Default Re: How To Wire My Foglights?

Pics.... Simple. Drill to the left of the brake pedal. There is a metal plate exposed there. Drill straight through. Stock air box will be in the way. CAI will leave open space......
Click the image to open in full size.

Click the image to open in full size.

Click the image to open in full size.

Click the image to open in full size.

Click the image to open in full size.

Click the image to open in full size.

Click the image to open in full size.




Sent from my Samsung Epic Galaxy S 4G
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.
Youtube_Video Clip

Last edited by PhantomMax; 08-22-2011 at 07:42 PM.
PhantomMax is offline   Send a private message to PhantomMax Find more posts by PhantomMax Add PhantomMax to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 08-22-2011, 11:23 PM   Thread Starter #21
Premier Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
MaxPrime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Official Member #: 2533
Last Online: 03-14-2014 05:58 PM
Location: Bronx-NY
Posts: 1,203

Reputation Level: 11
MaxPrime is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Official Ride  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: How To Wire My Foglights?

Thanks man this is just what i was looking very very helpfull
MaxPrime is offline   Send a private message to MaxPrime Find more posts by MaxPrime Add MaxPrime to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 08-23-2011, 08:58 PM   #22
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
JekyllMd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Official Member #: 475
Last Online: 09-20-2019 09:20 PM
Location: Doylestown PA
Posts: 225

Reputation Level: 10
JekyllMd is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: How To Wire My Foglights?

Take it to your local stereo shop and ask them to make you or pay them to install a relay and have it wired directly to the battery. OOoo and pay them what ever it takes to make it right.
JekyllMd is offline   Send a private message to JekyllMd Find more posts by JekyllMd Add JekyllMd to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 08-24-2011, 03:28 PM   #23
Official Member
Donating Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
PhantomMax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Official Member #: 141
Last Online: 08-21-2016 02:52 AM
Location: illinois
Posts: 1,740

Reputation Level: 17
PhantomMax is on a distinguished road

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Spotlight Ride Of The Month  


/ Point Value: 5

Default Re: How To Wire My Foglights?

Originally Posted by MaxPrime View Post
Thanks man this is just what i was looking very very helpfull
Click the image to open in full size.

Just connect the positive to the battery and the negative to chassis. Don't pay alot for that man. Unless you don't like to get dirty

Oh and the relay should come in the box with the kit. Unless you want to pay for another.

Sent from my Samsung Epic Galaxy S 4G
Attached Images
File Type: jpg uploadfromtaptalk1314213741873.jpg (31.4 KB, 10 views)
File Type: jpg uploadfromtaptalk1314213755748.jpg (24.0 KB, 9 views)
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.
Youtube_Video Clip

Last edited by PhantomMax; 08-24-2011 at 03:32 PM.
PhantomMax is offline   Send a private message to PhantomMax Find more posts by PhantomMax Add PhantomMax to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 08-27-2011, 10:00 AM   Thread Starter #24
Premier Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
MaxPrime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Official Member #: 2533
Last Online: 03-14-2014 05:58 PM
Location: Bronx-NY
Posts: 1,203

Reputation Level: 11
MaxPrime is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Official Ride  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: How To Wire My Foglights?

Originally Posted by PhantomMax View Post
Click the image to open in full size.

Just connect the positive to the battery and the negative to chassis. Don't pay alot for that man. Unless you don't like to get dirty

Oh and the relay should come in the box with the kit. Unless you want to pay for another.

Sent from my Samsung Epic Galaxy S 4G
Nice bro this will help a lot
MaxPrime is offline   Send a private message to MaxPrime Find more posts by MaxPrime Add MaxPrime to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 Members And 1 Guests)
 
Thread Tools


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:31 PM.