Register My Garage Arcade V.I.P Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read
Go Back   my6thgen.org - Maxima Forum > my6thgen.org - Very Useful Information > Ask Your Technical & General Questions > Interior, Exterior & Lighting

Reply
ExclamationThis thread is more than 150+ days old. If you still feel it is necessary to bump this thread, you have the permission to do so. Please click the checkbox below and post your reply.
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-20-2011, 06:21 AM   Thread Starter #1
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
primetime795's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Official Member #: 2518
Last Online: 11-17-2011 10:11 AM
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 35

Reputation Level: 0
primetime795 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 2%
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
Default HID Relay Harness

I just ordered a 9006 6000k hid kit for my 06 maxima. It came with a relay harness as a bonus. I was just wondering if I actually need it or is it fine without it?
primetime795 is offline   Send a private message to primetime795 Find more posts by primetime795 Add primetime795 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 07-20-2011, 06:34 AM   #2
Senior Moderator

my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
1hawaii50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Official Member #: 63
Last Online: 11-03-2014 08:34 PM
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 13,276

Reputation Level: 58
1hawaii50 has a spectacular aura about1hawaii50 has a spectacular aura about1hawaii50 has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Supporting Family Member  


/ Point Value: 10

Member of the Month (M.O.T.M)  


/ Point Value: 10

Most Valuable Poster (MVP)  


/ Point Value: 10

V.I.P Member  


/ Point Value: 15

Spotlight Ride Of The Month  


/ Point Value: 5

Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Official Ride  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: relay harness

Originally Posted by primetime795 View Post
I just ordered a 9006 6000k hid kit for my 06 maxima. It came with a relay harness as a bonus. I was just wondering if I actually need it or is it fine without it?
You should be fine without it, but since you got it, I'd use it. I'm using one on mine. It will allow your HID's to power straight off of the battery, using your light switch to trigger the relay. Some people have reported some flickering issues and the use of the relay was supposed to help prevent that.

A word of advice, if you use it make SURE that you mount the relay somewhere where it will not get wet. If it gets wet, it will cause you a whole lot of issues...don't ask me how I know...
__________________
Likes: (1)
DJ Rowdy (04-05-2012)
1hawaii50 is offline   Send a private message to 1hawaii50 Find more posts by 1hawaii50 Add 1hawaii50 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 07-20-2011, 06:39 AM   #3
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
KRod877's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Official Member #: 449
Last Online: 04-19-2016 12:22 AM
Location: Springfield, MA
Posts: 111

Reputation Level: 10
KRod877 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 2%
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
Default Re: relay harness

U dont need the relay...
KRod877 is offline   Send a private message to KRod877 Find more posts by KRod877 Add KRod877 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 07-20-2011, 06:43 AM   Thread Starter #4
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
primetime795's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Official Member #: 2518
Last Online: 11-17-2011 10:11 AM
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 35

Reputation Level: 0
primetime795 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 2%
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
Default Re: relay harness

Ok thanks. I might just use it to be safe.
primetime795 is offline   Send a private message to primetime795 Find more posts by primetime795 Add primetime795 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 07-20-2011, 06:44 AM   #5
Senior Moderator

my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
1hawaii50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Official Member #: 63
Last Online: 11-03-2014 08:34 PM
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 13,276

Reputation Level: 58
1hawaii50 has a spectacular aura about1hawaii50 has a spectacular aura about1hawaii50 has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Supporting Family Member  


/ Point Value: 10

Member of the Month (M.O.T.M)  


/ Point Value: 10

Most Valuable Poster (MVP)  


/ Point Value: 10

V.I.P Member  


/ Point Value: 15

Spotlight Ride Of The Month  


/ Point Value: 5

Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Official Ride  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: relay harness

Originally Posted by primetime795 View Post
Ok thanks. I might just use it to be safe.
As I said, you don't need it, but since you have it, I'd use it.
__________________
1hawaii50 is offline   Send a private message to 1hawaii50 Find more posts by 1hawaii50 Add 1hawaii50 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 07-20-2011, 06:48 AM   #6
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
KRod877's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Official Member #: 449
Last Online: 04-19-2016 12:22 AM
Location: Springfield, MA
Posts: 111

Reputation Level: 10
KRod877 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 2%
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
Default Re: relay harness

It Might start Flinkering..

---------- Post added at 06:48 AM ---------- Previous post was at 06:47 AM ----------

I had the same issue..
KRod877 is offline   Send a private message to KRod877 Find more posts by KRod877 Add KRod877 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 07-20-2011, 06:51 AM   Thread Starter #7
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
primetime795's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Official Member #: 2518
Last Online: 11-17-2011 10:11 AM
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 35

Reputation Level: 0
primetime795 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 2%
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
Default Re: relay harness

Well in that case Ill just install the kit without it and then if I have any issues ill try it with it.
primetime795 is offline   Send a private message to primetime795 Find more posts by primetime795 Add primetime795 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 04-05-2012, 07:48 PM   #8
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Mwright1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Official Member #: 4590
Last Online: 02-08-2017 08:45 AM
Posts: 24

Reputation Level: 0
Mwright1000 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: HID Relay Harness

Does anyone have any pictures or a how to on using the relay harness? I have a '05 that has the factory connectors for the HID ballast but I'm not sure how to integrate the relay harness into the existing wiring. If I use just the factory connector I have to flick the light switch 3-4 times in order to get the headlights to come on. Thanks in advance!!

Last edited by Mwright1000; 04-05-2012 at 09:30 PM.
Mwright1000 is offline   Send a private message to Mwright1000 Find more posts by Mwright1000 Add Mwright1000 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 04-05-2012, 07:59 PM   #9
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
DJ Rowdy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Official Member #: 4099
Last Online: 02-18-2015 07:19 PM
Location: Cranston RI
Posts: 216

Reputation Level: 8
DJ Rowdy is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 27%
Activity: 27% Activity: 27% Activity: 27%
Visit DJ Rowdy's Facebook Visit DJ Rowdy's Twitter Visit DJ Rowdy's LinkedIn
Default Re: relay harness

Originally Posted by 1hawaii50 View Post
You should be fine without it, but since you got it, I'd use it. I'm using one on mine. It will allow your HID's to power straight off of the battery, using your light switch to trigger the relay. Some people have reported some flickering issues and the use of the relay was supposed to help prevent that.

A word of advice, if you use it make SURE that you mount the relay somewhere where it will not get wet. If it gets wet, it will cause you a whole lot of issues...don't ask me how I know...
One of my fog lights flickers for a bit, then stops!
DJ Rowdy is offline   Send a private message to DJ Rowdy Find more posts by DJ Rowdy Add DJ Rowdy to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 04-05-2012, 09:55 PM   #10
Premier Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
silvermax06's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Official Member #: 2470
Last Online: 06-03-2018 02:53 PM
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,173

Reputation Level: 11
silvermax06 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: HID Relay Harness

I would use it or your just gonna have to pull everything apart again. I installed mine without one at first an my lights where whack. One would come on an the other wouldn't i'd turmn them off an back on again an it would be the same...lol... Bought a harness an have never had an issue since... But to each there own...
Likes: (1)
Latinmaxima (04-05-2012)
silvermax06 is offline   Send a private message to silvermax06 Find more posts by silvermax06 Add silvermax06 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 04-05-2012, 10:47 PM   #11
Executive Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Latinmaxima's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Official Member #: 1924
Last Online: 05-05-2016 04:32 PM
Location: Richmond, KY
Posts: 5,588

Reputation Level: 24
Latinmaxima is on a distinguished road

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Visit Latinmaxima's Facebook Visit Latinmaxima's PS3 Profile Visit Latinmaxima's YouTube Visit Latinmaxima's Xbox Gamercard
Default Re: HID Relay Harness

I also used the harness for my fogs. Best option in my opinion. It should plug into the factory plug. The issue is the rubber grommet.

Dicho por el E4GT de Latinmaxima con Tapatalk.
__________________
2004 Nissan Maxima SE<(^_^<)Samsung Galaxy Nexus(>^_^)> Motorola Xoom
Click the image to open in full size.
Latinmaxima is offline   Send a private message to Latinmaxima Find more posts by Latinmaxima Add Latinmaxima to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 Members And 1 Guests)
 
Thread Tools


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:42 PM.