Register My Garage Arcade V.I.P Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read
Go Back   my6thgen.org - Maxima Forum > my6thgen.org - Very Useful Information > Ask Your Technical & General Questions > Interior, Exterior & Lighting

Reply
ExclamationThis thread is more than 150+ days old. If you still feel it is necessary to bump this thread, you have the permission to do so. Please click the checkbox below and post your reply.
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-16-2011, 08:46 PM   Thread Starter #1
Premier Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
silvermax06's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Official Member #: 2470
Last Online: 06-03-2018 02:53 PM
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,173

Reputation Level: 11
silvermax06 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Headlight Wiring

Im gonna be installing an hid kit. Sometime this coming week. Was wondering if anybody knew what the cloor code for the positive wires for the left/right headlight bulb for the halogen lights?
silvermax06 is offline   Send a private message to silvermax06 Find more posts by silvermax06 Add silvermax06 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 10-16-2011, 08:49 PM   #2
Donating Member

my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Max Power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Official Member #: 86
Last Online: 04-30-2019 10:23 PM
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 2,952

Reputation Level: 25
Max Power will become famous soon enoughMax Power will become famous soon enough

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Supporting Family Member  


/ Point Value: 10

Visit Max Power's YouTube
Default Re: Headlight Wiring.

The new hid kit will plug into your existing wires. You wont need to know which is which. "plug n play"
Max Power is offline   Send a private message to Max Power Find more posts by Max Power Add Max Power to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 10-16-2011, 08:55 PM   #3
Senior Moderator

my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
1hawaii50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Official Member #: 63
Last Online: 11-03-2014 08:34 PM
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 13,276

Reputation Level: 58
1hawaii50 has a spectacular aura about1hawaii50 has a spectacular aura about1hawaii50 has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Supporting Family Member  


/ Point Value: 10

Member of the Month (M.O.T.M)  


/ Point Value: 10

Most Valuable Poster (MVP)  


/ Point Value: 10

V.I.P Member  


/ Point Value: 15

Spotlight Ride Of The Month  


/ Point Value: 5

Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Official Ride  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: Headlight Wiring.

Originally Posted by Max Power View Post
The new hid kit will plug into your existing wires. You wont need to know which is which. "plug n play"
..................Out of the fog he appears, to offer his help and wisdom...only to disappear again into the darkness....



To the OP, Craig is most certainly correct!

Craig, how the heck is everything going?
__________________
1hawaii50 is offline   Send a private message to 1hawaii50 Find more posts by 1hawaii50 Add 1hawaii50 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 10-16-2011, 08:58 PM   Thread Starter #4
Premier Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
silvermax06's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Official Member #: 2470
Last Online: 06-03-2018 02:53 PM
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,173

Reputation Level: 11
silvermax06 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Headlight Wiring.

Nope my plug that goes to the factory connector has different colors plus it didn't come mounted on the wire's. I have to snap the connectors on once i figure which wire's to put on which side. So that would be a negative.
silvermax06 is offline   Send a private message to silvermax06 Find more posts by silvermax06 Add silvermax06 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 10-16-2011, 09:03 PM   #5
Donating Member

my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Max Power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Official Member #: 86
Last Online: 04-30-2019 10:23 PM
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 2,952

Reputation Level: 25
Max Power will become famous soon enoughMax Power will become famous soon enough

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Supporting Family Member  


/ Point Value: 10

Visit Max Power's YouTube
Default Re: Headlight Wiring.

Originally Posted by 1hawaii50 View Post
..................Out of the fog he appears, to offer his help and wisdom...only to disappear again into the darkness....



To the OP, Craig is most certainly correct!

Craig, how the heck is everything going?
Lmao. Everythings going well. Thanks for asking
I'm always around. Just haven't seen alot of questions that I can answer.

To the OP, once you see your kit arrive, you'll understand that it's pretty simple. You will, however, need to drill a 7/8" perfect circle into the gray cap to run the wires through.
Max Power is offline   Send a private message to Max Power Find more posts by Max Power Add Max Power to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 10-16-2011, 09:07 PM   #6
Senior Moderator

my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
1hawaii50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Official Member #: 63
Last Online: 11-03-2014 08:34 PM
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 13,276

Reputation Level: 58
1hawaii50 has a spectacular aura about1hawaii50 has a spectacular aura about1hawaii50 has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Supporting Family Member  


/ Point Value: 10

Member of the Month (M.O.T.M)  


/ Point Value: 10

Most Valuable Poster (MVP)  


/ Point Value: 10

V.I.P Member  


/ Point Value: 15

Spotlight Ride Of The Month  


/ Point Value: 5

Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Official Ride  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: Headlight Wiring.

Originally Posted by silvermax06 View Post
Nope my plug that goes to the factory connector has different colors plus it didn't come mounted on the wire's. I have to snap the connectors on once i figure which wire's to put on which side. So that would be a negative.
Easiest thing is grab a test light from AutoZone...shouldn't be more than a couple bucks...you can quickly figure out which is which (should you need to). Whatever you do, however, DO NOT use the test light on the HID bulbs...there is a lot of juice running through those ballasts....
__________________
1hawaii50 is offline   Send a private message to 1hawaii50 Find more posts by 1hawaii50 Add 1hawaii50 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 10-16-2011, 09:07 PM   Thread Starter #7
Premier Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
silvermax06's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Official Member #: 2470
Last Online: 06-03-2018 02:53 PM
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,173

Reputation Level: 11
silvermax06 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Headlight Wiring.

I got my kit. And everything required. But the wires that connect to the factory harness that plug wasn't already on. I have to determine which side to silde the wires into. The wires have metal tips on them that slide into the connector that was supplied...
silvermax06 is offline   Send a private message to silvermax06 Find more posts by silvermax06 Add silvermax06 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 10-16-2011, 09:19 PM   Thread Starter #8
Premier Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
silvermax06's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Official Member #: 2470
Last Online: 06-03-2018 02:53 PM
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,173

Reputation Level: 11
silvermax06 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Headlight Wiring.

Oh crap i just... I don't know which is positive or negative on the ballast wires. Why can't people you red an black damn..........
silvermax06 is offline   Send a private message to silvermax06 Find more posts by silvermax06 Add silvermax06 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 10-16-2011, 09:25 PM   #9
Donating Member

my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Max Power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Official Member #: 86
Last Online: 04-30-2019 10:23 PM
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 2,952

Reputation Level: 25
Max Power will become famous soon enoughMax Power will become famous soon enough

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Supporting Family Member  


/ Point Value: 10

Visit Max Power's YouTube
Default Re: Headlight Wiring.

Are you saying your stock harness was cut?
Regardless, take the + and - that plugged in at your halogen bulb and connect to the new wiring harness (which goes back to power your ballast) If it doesn't power your new bulbs, twist the wires 180 degrees that come from your old bulb to ballast. And you should be fine.
Max Power is offline   Send a private message to Max Power Find more posts by Max Power Add Max Power to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 10-16-2011, 09:48 PM   Thread Starter #10
Premier Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
silvermax06's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Official Member #: 2470
Last Online: 06-03-2018 02:53 PM
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,173

Reputation Level: 11
silvermax06 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Headlight Wiring.

Originally Posted by Max Power View Post
Are you saying your stock harness was cut?
Regardless, take the + and - that plugged in at your halogen bulb and connect to the new wiring harness (which goes back to power your ballast) If it doesn't power your new bulbs, twist the wires 180 degrees that come from your old bulb to ballast. And you should be fine.
No my factory wires are fine. It's the plug that pwers the ballast. Those wires are red an black the way things should be. But the car wiring isn't the same color. So i don't know which wires to hook together i don't want to blow any fuses or the ballast.. I was hoping some one would know the color code.. If not i guess i will have to pick up a test light...

Last edited by silvermax06; 10-16-2011 at 09:51 PM.
silvermax06 is offline   Send a private message to silvermax06 Find more posts by silvermax06 Add silvermax06 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 10-16-2011, 09:53 PM   #11
Senior Moderator
The Capital's 6th Gen
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
officerfrasher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Official Member #: 1765
Last Online: 06-01-2018 10:32 AM
Location: Frankfort, KY 40601
Posts: 13,375

Reputation Level: 58
officerfrasher has a spectacular aura aboutofficerfrasher has a spectacular aura aboutofficerfrasher has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Member of the Month (M.O.T.M)  


/ Point Value: 10

Supporting Family Member  


/ Point Value: 10

Official Ride  


/ Point Value: 10

Spotlight Ride Of The Month  


/ Point Value: 5

Default Re: Headlight Wiring

Originally Posted by Max Power View Post
Are you saying your stock harness was cut?
I know what he's saying, I've had kits like that before. They send you what ever fitting you need to fit into your oem plug e.g. 9005, 9006, 9007 etc. They expect you to plug the wires from the kit into the fitting they supply.

What I usually do is to plug the kit wires into the oem harness and turn the lights on. If it comes on, it's good. If it doesn't come on, switch them around. Simple.
officerfrasher is offline   Send a private message to officerfrasher Find more posts by officerfrasher Add officerfrasher to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 10-16-2011, 09:57 PM   Thread Starter #12
Premier Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
silvermax06's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Official Member #: 2470
Last Online: 06-03-2018 02:53 PM
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,173

Reputation Level: 11
silvermax06 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Headlight Wiring

Originally Posted by officerfrasher View Post


I know what he's saying, I've had kits like that before. They send you what ever fitting you need to fit into your oem plug e.g. 9005, 9006, 9007 etc. They expect you to plug the wires from the kit into the fitting they supply.

What I usually do is to plug the kit wires into the oem harness and turn the lights on. If it comes on, it's good. If it doesn't come on, switch them around. Simple.
So it won't blow any fuses like that or ballast?
silvermax06 is offline   Send a private message to silvermax06 Find more posts by silvermax06 Add silvermax06 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 10-16-2011, 09:57 PM   #13
Donating Member

my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Max Power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Official Member #: 86
Last Online: 04-30-2019 10:23 PM
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 2,952

Reputation Level: 25
Max Power will become famous soon enoughMax Power will become famous soon enough

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Supporting Family Member  


/ Point Value: 10

Visit Max Power's YouTube
Default Re: Headlight Wiring.

Originally Posted by silvermax06 View Post
No my factory wires are fine. It's the plug that pwers the ballast. Those wires are red an black the way things should be. But the car wiring isn't the same color. So i don't know which wires to hook together i don't want to blow any fuses or the ballast.. I was hoping some one would know the color code.. If not i guess i will have to pick up a test light...
Sounds like your making this more complicated than it is.

Did you purchase a 9006 hid kit?
If yes, then the wiring to power the ballast would connect directly to the stock connection that went to your stock hallogen bulb. From there it would send another wire to your new hid bulb.
The only thing you would need to do is find a way for the bulb harnes to connect to the ballast, then back to the new bulb, which is by drilling a 7/8" hole in the gray cap.

If you have stock wiring and bought a 9006 kit, this has been covered 10,000 times over. Search is your friend.
Max Power is offline   Send a private message to Max Power Find more posts by Max Power Add Max Power to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 10-16-2011, 10:05 PM   Thread Starter #14
Premier Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
silvermax06's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Official Member #: 2470
Last Online: 06-03-2018 02:53 PM
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,173

Reputation Level: 11
silvermax06 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Headlight Wiring

Originally Posted by officerfrasher View Post


I know what he's saying, I've had kits like that before. They send you what ever fitting you need to fit into your oem plug e.g. 9005, 9006, 9007 etc. They expect you to plug the wires from the kit into the fitting they supply.

What I usually do is to plug the kit wires into the oem harness and turn the lights on. If it comes on, it's good. If it doesn't come on, switch them around. Simple.
Thank you. I think you are the only one that understood what i was saying. I don't know why it was so hard to explain that my plug didn't come pre-wired.. I will try what you said. I might just check out a test light too. May need it down the road. Then i won't have to ask question's. That apparently have been asked a 1000's times...
silvermax06 is offline   Send a private message to silvermax06 Find more posts by silvermax06 Add silvermax06 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 10-16-2011, 10:10 PM   #15
Senior Moderator
The Capital's 6th Gen
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
officerfrasher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Official Member #: 1765
Last Online: 06-01-2018 10:32 AM
Location: Frankfort, KY 40601
Posts: 13,375

Reputation Level: 58
officerfrasher has a spectacular aura aboutofficerfrasher has a spectacular aura aboutofficerfrasher has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Member of the Month (M.O.T.M)  


/ Point Value: 10

Supporting Family Member  


/ Point Value: 10

Official Ride  


/ Point Value: 10

Spotlight Ride Of The Month  


/ Point Value: 5

Default Re: Headlight Wiring

Originally Posted by silvermax06 View Post
So it won't blow any fuses like that or ballast?
I've never had an issue with that.
officerfrasher is offline   Send a private message to officerfrasher Find more posts by officerfrasher Add officerfrasher to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 10-17-2011, 06:39 AM   #16
Senior Moderator

my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
1hawaii50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Official Member #: 63
Last Online: 11-03-2014 08:34 PM
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 13,276

Reputation Level: 58
1hawaii50 has a spectacular aura about1hawaii50 has a spectacular aura about1hawaii50 has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Supporting Family Member  


/ Point Value: 10

Member of the Month (M.O.T.M)  


/ Point Value: 10

Most Valuable Poster (MVP)  


/ Point Value: 10

V.I.P Member  


/ Point Value: 15

Spotlight Ride Of The Month  


/ Point Value: 5

Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Official Ride  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: Headlight Wiring

Craig,

I think his kit had spade terminals on the end as opposed to a plug. You just plug the spade terminals into the factory plug. IMHO this doesn't make for a very weatherproof connection. Me personally, I would pick up an extra set of plug pigtails off of ebay and solder them to the kit for a weathertight connection.
__________________
1hawaii50 is offline   Send a private message to 1hawaii50 Find more posts by 1hawaii50 Add 1hawaii50 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 10-17-2011, 11:16 AM   #17
Premier Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
MaxPrime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Official Member #: 2533
Last Online: 03-14-2014 05:58 PM
Location: Bronx-NY
Posts: 1,203

Reputation Level: 11
MaxPrime is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Official Ride  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: Headlight Wiring

Wow i just got to this thread someone had to tell him to post some pictures
MaxPrime is offline   Send a private message to MaxPrime Find more posts by MaxPrime Add MaxPrime to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 Members And 1 Guests)
 
Thread Tools


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:13 PM.