Register My Garage Arcade V.I.P Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read
Go Back   my6thgen.org - Maxima Forum > my6thgen.org - Very Useful Information > Ask Your Technical & General Questions > Interior, Exterior & Lighting

Reply
ExclamationThis thread is more than 150+ days old. If you still feel it is necessary to bump this thread, you have the permission to do so. Please click the checkbox below and post your reply.
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-10-2012, 03:48 PM   Thread Starter #1
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Silversurfermax3.5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Official Member #: 3238
Last Online: 10-20-2013 06:12 PM
Posts: 151

Reputation Level: 17
Silversurfermax3.5 will become famous soon enough

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Default DRL Placement/Location

Heyy guys I've been trying to find out where my DRL (Daytime Running Lights)
are located, I've looked to up to double check that my car comes with DRL and it said it does, but i cant seem to get a picture of which bulb is my DRL..
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.
Silversurfermax3.5 is offline   Send a private message to Silversurfermax3.5 Find more posts by Silversurfermax3.5 Add Silversurfermax3.5 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 02-10-2012, 04:01 PM   #2
Senior Moderator
The Capital's 6th Gen
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
officerfrasher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Official Member #: 1765
Last Online: 06-01-2018 10:32 AM
Location: Frankfort, KY 40601
Posts: 13,375

Reputation Level: 58
officerfrasher has a spectacular aura aboutofficerfrasher has a spectacular aura aboutofficerfrasher has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Member of the Month (M.O.T.M)  


/ Point Value: 10

Supporting Family Member  


/ Point Value: 10

Official Ride  


/ Point Value: 10

Spotlight Ride Of The Month  


/ Point Value: 5

Default Re: DRL Placement/Location

I don't believe the 07-08 have them. The 04-06 have a spot of them, but only have the bulb if it's a Canadian Maxima.
officerfrasher is offline   Send a private message to officerfrasher Find more posts by officerfrasher Add officerfrasher to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 02-10-2012, 04:08 PM   #3
Poetic Max
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Kontra-vers-E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Official Member #: 2199
Last Online: 04-25-2017 03:22 PM
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 8,498

Reputation Level: 35
Kontra-vers-E will become famous soon enoughKontra-vers-E will become famous soon enough

Participation Level: 100%
Activity: 100% Activity: 100% Activity: 100%
Visit Kontra-vers-E's Facebook Visit Kontra-vers-E's PS3 Profile
Default Re: DRL Placement/Location

I have DRL on my Max, all I have to do is turn my head lights to the "ON" position. But serioulsy, I don't know of any Maxs that had DRLs, they only thing I could think to do is turn your sensor sensitivity all the way up to make them come on.
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.

Greatness in the making...
Kontra-vers-E is offline   Send a private message to Kontra-vers-E Find more posts by Kontra-vers-E Add Kontra-vers-E to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 02-10-2012, 04:13 PM   #4
Senior Moderator
The Capital's 6th Gen
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
officerfrasher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Official Member #: 1765
Last Online: 06-01-2018 10:32 AM
Location: Frankfort, KY 40601
Posts: 13,375

Reputation Level: 58
officerfrasher has a spectacular aura aboutofficerfrasher has a spectacular aura aboutofficerfrasher has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Member of the Month (M.O.T.M)  


/ Point Value: 10

Supporting Family Member  


/ Point Value: 10

Official Ride  


/ Point Value: 10

Spotlight Ride Of The Month  


/ Point Value: 5

Default Re: DRL Placement/Location

Originally Posted by Kontra-vers-E View Post
turn your sensor sensitivity all the way up to make them come on.
How do you do that?
officerfrasher is offline   Send a private message to officerfrasher Find more posts by officerfrasher Add officerfrasher to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 02-10-2012, 04:16 PM   #5
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Jeeks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Official Member #: 3905
Last Online: 05-28-2017 10:11 PM
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario
Posts: 80

Reputation Level: 8
Jeeks is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Visit Jeeks's Facebook Visit Jeeks's PS3 Profile
Default Re: DRL Placement/Location

On your 6.5 gen they are built into the high/low beam.
Jeeks is offline   Send a private message to Jeeks Find more posts by Jeeks Add Jeeks to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 02-10-2012, 04:19 PM   #6
Poetic Max
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Kontra-vers-E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Official Member #: 2199
Last Online: 04-25-2017 03:22 PM
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 8,498

Reputation Level: 35
Kontra-vers-E will become famous soon enoughKontra-vers-E will become famous soon enough

Participation Level: 100%
Activity: 100% Activity: 100% Activity: 100%
Visit Kontra-vers-E's Facebook Visit Kontra-vers-E's PS3 Profile
Default Re: DRL Placement/Location

Originally Posted by officerfrasher View Post


How do you do that?
Maybe it's only with the navigation system, but my lights have a sensor that turns my lights on once it reaches a certain level of darkness and I can adjust it. Not sure if non Navi Max have it.
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.

Greatness in the making...
Kontra-vers-E is offline   Send a private message to Kontra-vers-E Find more posts by Kontra-vers-E Add Kontra-vers-E to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 02-10-2012, 04:31 PM   #7
Moderator
Burnt Orange
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
BurntOrangeAppeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Official Member #: 2887
Last Online: 12-04-2014 04:56 PM
Location: Under the Bridge
Posts: 2,816

Reputation Level: 34
BurntOrangeAppeal has a spectacular aura aboutBurntOrangeAppeal has a spectacular aura aboutBurntOrangeAppeal has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: DRL Placement/Location

Your 6.5 Gen will only have them if it Canadian Orgin car, and ended up back in US . Evey Canadian Max has to have DRL, this is bylaw. This is regardless whether its 4,5,6,7 gen etc. 7 gen max will have it regardless if its Canadian orgin or US. The manufacturers stop splitting cars for Canada Us Bound in around 2010... as too many techs swere frying harnesses installing aftermarket DRL modules. Now days, with new cars all you have to do is go to the dealer and the tech will turn them on with ConsultII.
__________________
'04 SE 6MT, Elite.
'01 SE Anniversary.
'97 GXE.
Click the image to open in full size.
Click the image to open in full size.
-=My Build Tread=-
BurntOrangeAppeal is offline   Send a private message to BurntOrangeAppeal Find more posts by BurntOrangeAppeal Add BurntOrangeAppeal to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 02-10-2012, 07:28 PM   Thread Starter #8
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Silversurfermax3.5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Official Member #: 3238
Last Online: 10-20-2013 06:12 PM
Posts: 151

Reputation Level: 17
Silversurfermax3.5 will become famous soon enough

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Default Re: DRL Placement/Location

Originally Posted by Danski6MT View Post
Your 6.5 Gen will only have them if it Canadian Orgin car, and ended up back in US . Evey Canadian Max has to have DRL, this is bylaw. This is regardless whether its 4,5,6,7 gen etc. 7 gen max will have it regardless if its Canadian orgin or US. The manufacturers stop splitting cars for Canada Us Bound in around 2010... as too many techs swere frying harnesses installing aftermarket DRL modules. Now days, with new cars all you have to do is go to the dealer and the tech will turn them on with ConsultII.
So wait i dont have DRL in my car lol
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.
Silversurfermax3.5 is offline   Send a private message to Silversurfermax3.5 Find more posts by Silversurfermax3.5 Add Silversurfermax3.5 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 02-10-2012, 07:48 PM   #9
Moderator
Burnt Orange
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
BurntOrangeAppeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Official Member #: 2887
Last Online: 12-04-2014 04:56 PM
Location: Under the Bridge
Posts: 2,816

Reputation Level: 34
BurntOrangeAppeal has a spectacular aura aboutBurntOrangeAppeal has a spectacular aura aboutBurntOrangeAppeal has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: DRL Placement/Location

Originally Posted by Silversurfermax3.5 View Post
So wait i dont have DRL in my car lol
If your 6.5 max has them then your daytime running lights will activate when your hand brake is not applied and your headlight switch is in "OFF" position or in first click position. This is not to be confused with "Auto" setting which works of the light sensor. (DRL is cancelled in "Auto" mode, or handbrake applied)
-Dan
__________________
'04 SE 6MT, Elite.
'01 SE Anniversary.
'97 GXE.
Click the image to open in full size.
Click the image to open in full size.
-=My Build Tread=-

Last edited by BurntOrangeAppeal; 02-11-2012 at 11:29 AM. Reason: Information was incorrect.
BurntOrangeAppeal is offline   Send a private message to BurntOrangeAppeal Find more posts by BurntOrangeAppeal Add BurntOrangeAppeal to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 02-10-2012, 11:07 PM   #10
Premier Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
jsmithsole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Official Member #: 76
Last Online: 09-28-2019 02:12 AM
Location: So Cal
Posts: 2,209

Reputation Level: 17
jsmithsole is on a distinguished road

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Guinness Record Holder  


/ Point Value: 15

Banner of The Month  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: DRL Placement/Location

Not unless you're in Canada, eh!
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.
MyClick the image to open in full size.@ Car Domain
jsmithsole is offline   Send a private message to jsmithsole Find more posts by jsmithsole Add jsmithsole to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 02-11-2012, 12:45 AM   #11
Moderator
Burnt Orange
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
BurntOrangeAppeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Official Member #: 2887
Last Online: 12-04-2014 04:56 PM
Location: Under the Bridge
Posts: 2,816

Reputation Level: 34
BurntOrangeAppeal has a spectacular aura aboutBurntOrangeAppeal has a spectacular aura aboutBurntOrangeAppeal has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: DRL Placement/Location

Originally Posted by jsmithsole View Post
Not unless you're in Canada, eh!
Yessir, were either safer or more prone to blindness
__________________
'04 SE 6MT, Elite.
'01 SE Anniversary.
'97 GXE.
Click the image to open in full size.
Click the image to open in full size.
-=My Build Tread=-
BurntOrangeAppeal is offline   Send a private message to BurntOrangeAppeal Find more posts by BurntOrangeAppeal Add BurntOrangeAppeal to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 02-11-2012, 02:05 AM   #12
Premier Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
DAlastDON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Official Member #: 89
Last Online: 02-12-2018 02:56 PM
Location: USA
Posts: 1,224

Reputation Level: 44
DAlastDON is a jewel in the roughDAlastDON is a jewel in the roughDAlastDON is a jewel in the roughDAlastDON is a jewel in the rough

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Member of the Month (M.O.T.M)  


/ Point Value: 10

Banner of The Month  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: DRL Placement/Location

Originally Posted by Danski6MT View Post
If your 6.5 max has them then your daytime running lights will activate when your hand brake is not applied and your headlight switch is in "OFF" position or in first click position. This is not to be confused with "Auto" setting which works of the light sensor. (DRL is cancelled in "Auto" mode, or handbrake applied) Power is supplied through fog lamp relay to left and right fog lamp. Ground is supplied through ground E15 & E24

-Dan
The FSM has conflicting information about which bulb is used for the DRL. I think you are right about it being the fog lights. I could not have quoted it better from the FSM without doing a copy and paste. Something else that i found interesting in the FSM are these two harness diagrams. The HID diagram shows which bulb is the cornering lamp right. But the halogen diagram right below it shows the canadian DRL in place of the cornering light on the halogen diagram. Honestly i think that it is a misprint as i trust the electrical operation description and wiring diagrams.

Click the image to open in full size.

Click the image to open in full size.

This is also under the USA section too.

Click the image to open in full size.
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.

Inside Peanutbutter Outside Jelly
DAlastDON is offline   Send a private message to DAlastDON Find more posts by DAlastDON Add DAlastDON to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 02-11-2012, 09:17 AM   #13
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Jeeks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Official Member #: 3905
Last Online: 05-28-2017 10:11 PM
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario
Posts: 80

Reputation Level: 8
Jeeks is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Visit Jeeks's Facebook Visit Jeeks's PS3 Profile
Default Re: DRL Placement/Location

Like I said on a 6.5 gen the DRL is the main low/high beam bulb. So if our regular low/high beam bulb goes out so does one of our DRL. Its programmed to stay on all the time, unlike a 6 gen which has a seperate bulb altogether
Jeeks is offline   Send a private message to Jeeks Find more posts by Jeeks Add Jeeks to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 02-11-2012, 11:28 AM   #14
Moderator
Burnt Orange
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
BurntOrangeAppeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Official Member #: 2887
Last Online: 12-04-2014 04:56 PM
Location: Under the Bridge
Posts: 2,816

Reputation Level: 34
BurntOrangeAppeal has a spectacular aura aboutBurntOrangeAppeal has a spectacular aura aboutBurntOrangeAppeal has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: DRL Placement/Location

Originally Posted by Jeeks View Post
Like I said on a 6.5 gen the DRL is the main low/high beam bulb. So if our regular low/high beam bulb goes out so does one of our DRL. Its programmed to stay on all the time, unlike a 6 gen which has a seperate bulb altogether

After looking into this a bit further, I stand corrected. Jeeks & DAlastDON info is correct. DRL bulb is in the headlight. My apollogies.
__________________
'04 SE 6MT, Elite.
'01 SE Anniversary.
'97 GXE.
Click the image to open in full size.
Click the image to open in full size.
-=My Build Tread=-

Last edited by BurntOrangeAppeal; 02-11-2012 at 11:30 AM.
BurntOrangeAppeal is offline   Send a private message to BurntOrangeAppeal Find more posts by BurntOrangeAppeal Add BurntOrangeAppeal to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 02-11-2012, 12:46 PM   Thread Starter #15
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Silversurfermax3.5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Official Member #: 3238
Last Online: 10-20-2013 06:12 PM
Posts: 151

Reputation Level: 17
Silversurfermax3.5 will become famous soon enough

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Default Re: DRL Placement/Location

Originally Posted by Jeeks View Post
Like I said on a 6.5 gen the DRL is the main low/high beam bulb. So if our regular low/high beam bulb goes out so does one of our DRL. Its programmed to stay on all the time, unlike a 6 gen which has a seperate bulb altogether
and this is in the US maxima??
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.
Silversurfermax3.5 is offline   Send a private message to Silversurfermax3.5 Find more posts by Silversurfermax3.5 Add Silversurfermax3.5 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 02-11-2012, 12:54 PM   #16
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Jeeks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Official Member #: 3905
Last Online: 05-28-2017 10:11 PM
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario
Posts: 80

Reputation Level: 8
Jeeks is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Visit Jeeks's Facebook Visit Jeeks's PS3 Profile
Default Re: DRL Placement/Location

No, US cars don't require DRL. I'm sure its a setting in your cars computer that enables them to be on. I know when I go to Minneapolis and i see 6.5 gens on the road non have DRL on cause its not mandatory but mine are always on cause i have a Canadian 6.5 gen.
Jeeks is offline   Send a private message to Jeeks Find more posts by Jeeks Add Jeeks to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 Members And 1 Guests)
 
Thread Tools


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:54 PM.