Register My Garage Arcade V.I.P Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read
Go Back   my6thgen.org - Maxima Forum > my6thgen.org - Very Useful Information > Ask Your Technical & General Questions > Interior, Exterior & Lighting

Reply
ExclamationThis thread is more than 150+ days old. If you still feel it is necessary to bump this thread, you have the permission to do so. Please click the checkbox below and post your reply.
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-02-2011, 11:25 PM   Thread Starter #1
Glendales Official 6th Gen
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Kenny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Official Member #: 2651
Last Online: 03-09-2016 03:59 AM
Location: Southern California
Posts: 5,356

Reputation Level: 36
Kenny has a spectacular aura aboutKenny has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 100%
Activity: 100% Activity: 100% Activity: 100%

My Awards:
Supporting Family Member  


/ Point Value: 10

Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Most Valuable Poster (MVP)  


/ Point Value: 10

Visit Kenny's PS3 Profile Visit Kenny's Xbox Gamercard
Default Can I Ground 2 Electrical Devices To The Same Grounding Point?

Hey Guys, so I bought aftermarket fog lights for my car, I got all the mounting and wiring figured out but I was wondering if it's okay to ground two seperate grounding wires from the fog lights to the same grounding point? I usually never do it when installing car audio but I've heard mixed opinions on if it's okay or not, my general question is can I ground multiple negative wires to the same frame bolt. The only reason I'm asking is because my ground wires only reach to one close ground and I don't want to go through the trouble of extending the wires. Thanks for any advice.

Last edited by Kenny; 12-03-2011 at 02:36 AM.
Kenny is offline   Send a private message to Kenny Find more posts by Kenny Add Kenny to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 12-02-2011, 11:32 PM   #2
Senior Citizen Moderator
6th Gen Official Pops
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
07maximan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Official Member #: 2184
Last Online: 12-08-2014 03:33 PM
Location: Close....Very Close!!
Posts: 9,421

Reputation Level: 69
07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice

Participation Level: 9%
Activity: 9% Activity: 9% Activity: 9%

My Awards:
Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Member of the Month (M.O.T.M)  


/ Point Value: 10

Honorable Ride  


/ Point Value: 5

Most Valuable Poster (MVP)  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: Can I Ground 2 Electrical Devices To The Same Grounding Point?

I do it with out a problem....whether or not you're supposed to, I don't know.
__________________

Originally Posted by dstruc View Post
Next week Omar is taking us walking through the projects. Alex is getting raped for sure.
07maximan is offline   Send a private message to 07maximan Find more posts by 07maximan Add 07maximan to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 12-02-2011, 11:35 PM   #3
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
EddyMaxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Official Member #: 1
Location: Bat-Brooklyn, NYC
Posts: 34,335

Reputation Level: 20
EddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to behold

Participation Level: 100%
Activity: 100% Activity: 100% Activity: 100%


Visit EddyMaxx's Facebook Visit EddyMaxx's PS3 Profile Visit EddyMaxx's YouTube
Default Re: Can I Ground 2 Electrical Devices To The Same Grounding Point?

All grounds are common so it is fine.

I do it where I can to keep things clean.
__________________
04' Nissan Maxima - [Supercharged w/ HR Swapped Motor & Fully Built Auto Trans]
98' Nissan Maxima - [VQ35DE 6-Speed Supercharged]

6thgen 2014 Build Thread
EddyMaxx is offline   Send a private message to EddyMaxx Find more posts by EddyMaxx Add EddyMaxx to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 12-03-2011, 01:03 AM   #4
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
joecurr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Official Member #: 626
Last Online: 03-26-2014 08:45 PM
Posts: 454

Reputation Level: 29
joecurr has a spectacular aura aboutjoecurr has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Honorable Ride  


/ Point Value: 5

Default Re: Can I Ground 2 Electrical Devices To The Same Grounding Point?

+1, it's perfectly fine to connect "two desperate grounding wires" to the same point. Make sure it's a good ground point first though.
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.
joecurr is offline   Send a private message to joecurr Find more posts by joecurr Add joecurr to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 12-03-2011, 01:08 AM   Thread Starter #5
Glendales Official 6th Gen
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Kenny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Official Member #: 2651
Last Online: 03-09-2016 03:59 AM
Location: Southern California
Posts: 5,356

Reputation Level: 36
Kenny has a spectacular aura aboutKenny has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 100%
Activity: 100% Activity: 100% Activity: 100%

My Awards:
Supporting Family Member  


/ Point Value: 10

Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Most Valuable Poster (MVP)  


/ Point Value: 10

Visit Kenny's PS3 Profile Visit Kenny's Xbox Gamercard
Default Re: Can I Ground 2 Electrical Devices To The Same Grounding Point?

Alright thanks a lot guys
Kenny is offline   Send a private message to Kenny Find more posts by Kenny Add Kenny to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 12-03-2011, 02:36 AM   Thread Starter #6
Glendales Official 6th Gen
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Kenny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Official Member #: 2651
Last Online: 03-09-2016 03:59 AM
Location: Southern California
Posts: 5,356

Reputation Level: 36
Kenny has a spectacular aura aboutKenny has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 100%
Activity: 100% Activity: 100% Activity: 100%

My Awards:
Supporting Family Member  


/ Point Value: 10

Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Most Valuable Poster (MVP)  


/ Point Value: 10

Visit Kenny's PS3 Profile Visit Kenny's Xbox Gamercard
Default Re: Can I Ground 2 Electrical Devices To The Same Grounding Point?

Originally Posted by joecurr View Post
+1, it's perfectly fine to connect "two desperate grounding wires" to the same point. Make sure it's a good ground point first though.
Sorry. Typo, I
Meant "two seperate grounding points"
Kenny is offline   Send a private message to Kenny Find more posts by Kenny Add Kenny to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 12-03-2011, 09:12 AM   #7
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
bee2ndmax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Official Member #: 1865
Last Online: 03-01-2019 01:05 PM
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 129

Reputation Level: 9
bee2ndmax is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Can I Ground 2 Electrical Devices To The Same Grounding Point?

Yeap..They right. As long is clean and well connected you should be fine. ALL GROUND ARE COMMON.
bee2ndmax is offline   Send a private message to bee2ndmax Find more posts by bee2ndmax Add bee2ndmax to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 12-03-2011, 09:40 AM   #8
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Hmax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Official Member #: 158
Last Online: 05-10-2018 02:35 PM
Location: Da Bronx, NY
Posts: 5,926

Reputation Level: 32
Hmax will become famous soon enoughHmax will become famous soon enough

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Most Valuable Poster (MVP)  


/ Point Value: 10

Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Default Re: Can I Ground 2 Electrical Devices To The Same Grounding Point?

It car audio its frowned upon, but for fogs, You should be fine
__________________
Originally Posted by hero782 View Post
Low & Slow!!! And I stop at potholes lol
Click the image to open in full size.

Want 12HP More?- CLICK HERE
Hmax is offline   Send a private message to Hmax Find more posts by Hmax Add Hmax to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 Members And 1 Guests)
 
Thread Tools


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:46 PM.