Register My Garage Arcade V.I.P Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read
Go Back   my6thgen.org - Maxima Forum > my6thgen.org - Very Useful Information > Ask Your Technical & General Questions > Audio, Video & Electronics

Reply
ExclamationThis thread is more than 150+ days old. If you still feel it is necessary to bump this thread, you have the permission to do so. Please click the checkbox below and post your reply.
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-02-2012, 11:14 AM   Thread Starter #1
Glendales Official 6th Gen
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Kenny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Official Member #: 2651
Last Online: 03-09-2016 03:59 AM
Location: Southern California
Posts: 5,356

Reputation Level: 36
Kenny has a spectacular aura aboutKenny has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 100%
Activity: 100% Activity: 100% Activity: 100%

My Awards:
Supporting Family Member  


/ Point Value: 10

Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Most Valuable Poster (MVP)  


/ Point Value: 10

Visit Kenny's PS3 Profile Visit Kenny's Xbox Gamercard
Default Would This Work For Hooking Up An Aftermarket Radio With Bose?

Hey guys so I'm installing an aftermarket headunit on my dads truck that has the Bose factory system. Would this radio
Harness work in order to keep the Bose speakers and amp?

http://item.mobileweb.ebay.com/viewi...id=66816801134
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.


Follow Me On Instagram/Twitter:@0mg350z

Last edited by Kenny; 05-02-2012 at 11:27 AM.
Likes: (1)
Latinmaxima (05-08-2012)
Kenny is offline   Send a private message to Kenny Find more posts by Kenny Add Kenny to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 05-02-2012, 11:18 AM   #2
Senior Citizen Moderator
6th Gen Official Pops
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
07maximan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Official Member #: 2184
Last Online: 12-08-2014 03:33 PM
Location: Close....Very Close!!
Posts: 9,421

Reputation Level: 69
07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice

Participation Level: 9%
Activity: 9% Activity: 9% Activity: 9%

My Awards:
Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Member of the Month (M.O.T.M)  


/ Point Value: 10

Honorable Ride  


/ Point Value: 5

Most Valuable Poster (MVP)  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: Would This Work For Hooking Up An Aftermarket Radio With Bose?

Whats an aftermarket headhunting??
__________________

Originally Posted by dstruc View Post
Next week Omar is taking us walking through the projects. Alex is getting raped for sure.
07maximan is offline   Send a private message to 07maximan Find more posts by 07maximan Add 07maximan to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 05-02-2012, 11:27 AM   Thread Starter #3
Glendales Official 6th Gen
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Kenny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Official Member #: 2651
Last Online: 03-09-2016 03:59 AM
Location: Southern California
Posts: 5,356

Reputation Level: 36
Kenny has a spectacular aura aboutKenny has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 100%
Activity: 100% Activity: 100% Activity: 100%

My Awards:
Supporting Family Member  


/ Point Value: 10

Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Most Valuable Poster (MVP)  


/ Point Value: 10

Visit Kenny's PS3 Profile Visit Kenny's Xbox Gamercard
Default Re: Would This Work For Hooking Up An Aftermarket Radio With Bose?

Originally Posted by 07maximan View Post
Whats an aftermarket headhunting??
I meant headunit, sorry stupid iPhone auto correct
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.


Follow Me On Instagram/Twitter:@0mg350z
Kenny is offline   Send a private message to Kenny Find more posts by Kenny Add Kenny to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 05-02-2012, 11:29 AM   #4
I Am Just A Man
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Deadbolt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Official Member #: 175
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 14,396

Reputation Level: 20
Deadbolt is a jewel in the roughDeadbolt is a jewel in the roughDeadbolt is a jewel in the roughDeadbolt is a jewel in the rough

Participation Level: 100%
Activity: 100% Activity: 100% Activity: 100%


Default Re: Would This Work For Hooking Up An Aftermarket Radio With Bose?

Originally Posted by kaygmaxima View Post
I meant headunit, sorry stupid iPhone auto correct
You can't use Bose amp and speakers with an aftermarket HU. If he's going aftermarket, he needs to replace everything.
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.


Currently Own: 2004 Silver 6th Gen / 2009 White 7th Gen / 2011 Black 7th Gen

Disclaimer: By being a member of my4th/5th/6th/7thgen.org, you acknowledge and agree that if no pics are posted within 24 hours of any installed modification, you can, and will, be automaticly BANNED for 48 hours.
Deadbolt is offline   Send a private message to Deadbolt Find more posts by Deadbolt Add Deadbolt to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 05-02-2012, 12:04 PM   #5
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
just-another-maxima's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Official Member #: 4717
Last Online: 07-21-2014 08:39 AM
Posts: 325

Reputation Level: 8
just-another-maxima is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Would This Work For Hooking Up An Aftermarket Radio With Bose?

Pretty sure my dad did this in my 300z? He just plugged up a headunit in and then plugged new speakers into the old amps and they alk worked fine?
__________________
06 SL!!

Click the image to open in full size.
just-another-maxima is offline   Send a private message to just-another-maxima Find more posts by just-another-maxima Add just-another-maxima to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 05-02-2012, 12:14 PM   Thread Starter #6
Glendales Official 6th Gen
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Kenny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Official Member #: 2651
Last Online: 03-09-2016 03:59 AM
Location: Southern California
Posts: 5,356

Reputation Level: 36
Kenny has a spectacular aura aboutKenny has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 100%
Activity: 100% Activity: 100% Activity: 100%

My Awards:
Supporting Family Member  


/ Point Value: 10

Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Most Valuable Poster (MVP)  


/ Point Value: 10

Visit Kenny's PS3 Profile Visit Kenny's Xbox Gamercard
Default Re: Would This Work For Hooking Up An Aftermarket Radio With Bose?

Originally Posted by Deadbolt View Post
You can't use Bose amp and speakers with an aftermarket HU. If he's going aftermarket, he needs to replace everything.
Are you serious?! I thought they made some type of converter to keep the same amp and speakers!
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.


Follow Me On Instagram/Twitter:@0mg350z
Kenny is offline   Send a private message to Kenny Find more posts by Kenny Add Kenny to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 05-02-2012, 12:23 PM   #7
I Am Just A Man
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Deadbolt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Official Member #: 175
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 14,396

Reputation Level: 20
Deadbolt is a jewel in the roughDeadbolt is a jewel in the roughDeadbolt is a jewel in the roughDeadbolt is a jewel in the rough

Participation Level: 100%
Activity: 100% Activity: 100% Activity: 100%


Default Re: Would This Work For Hooking Up An Aftermarket Radio With Bose?

Originally Posted by kaygmaxima View Post
Are you serious?! I thought they made some type of converter to keep the same amp and speakers!
No, they made hi/low converters for aftermarket amps and subs to work with Bose systems, but not aftermarket HU with Bose amp and speakers.

Get in contact with a local stereo shop to see if they have anything.
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.


Currently Own: 2004 Silver 6th Gen / 2009 White 7th Gen / 2011 Black 7th Gen

Disclaimer: By being a member of my4th/5th/6th/7thgen.org, you acknowledge and agree that if no pics are posted within 24 hours of any installed modification, you can, and will, be automaticly BANNED for 48 hours.
Deadbolt is offline   Send a private message to Deadbolt Find more posts by Deadbolt Add Deadbolt to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 05-02-2012, 12:39 PM   Thread Starter #8
Glendales Official 6th Gen
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Kenny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Official Member #: 2651
Last Online: 03-09-2016 03:59 AM
Location: Southern California
Posts: 5,356

Reputation Level: 36
Kenny has a spectacular aura aboutKenny has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 100%
Activity: 100% Activity: 100% Activity: 100%

My Awards:
Supporting Family Member  


/ Point Value: 10

Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Most Valuable Poster (MVP)  


/ Point Value: 10

Visit Kenny's PS3 Profile Visit Kenny's Xbox Gamercard
Default Re: Would This Work For Hooking Up An Aftermarket Radio With Bose?

Originally Posted by Deadbolt View Post
No, they made hi/low converters for aftermarket amps and subs to work with Bose systems, but not aftermarket HU with Bose amp and speakers.

Get in contact with a local stereo shop to see if they have anything.
Alright will do buddy thanks a lot
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.


Follow Me On Instagram/Twitter:@0mg350z
Kenny is offline   Send a private message to Kenny Find more posts by Kenny Add Kenny to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 05-02-2012, 12:43 PM   #9
Moderator
Flipadelphia
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
06BlckMax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Official Member #: 662
Last Online: 07-14-2019 10:40 PM
Location: IG: 06BlckMax
Posts: 6,827

Reputation Level: 56
06BlckMax is a jewel in the rough06BlckMax is a jewel in the rough06BlckMax is a jewel in the rough06BlckMax is a jewel in the rough

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Visit 06BlckMax's PS3 Profile
Default Re: Would This Work For Hooking Up An Aftermarket Radio With Bose?

Im lost, I have an aftermarket HU and I use all the Bose speakers in the car and an aftermarket amp just for my sub
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.

------See How It Was Built------
06BlckMax is offline   Send a private message to 06BlckMax Find more posts by 06BlckMax Add 06BlckMax to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 05-02-2012, 12:46 PM   #10
Senior Citizen Moderator
6th Gen Official Pops
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
07maximan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Official Member #: 2184
Last Online: 12-08-2014 03:33 PM
Location: Close....Very Close!!
Posts: 9,421

Reputation Level: 69
07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice

Participation Level: 9%
Activity: 9% Activity: 9% Activity: 9%

My Awards:
Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Member of the Month (M.O.T.M)  


/ Point Value: 10

Honorable Ride  


/ Point Value: 5

Most Valuable Poster (MVP)  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: Would This Work For Hooking Up An Aftermarket Radio With Bose?

Originally Posted by 06BlckMax View Post
Im lost, I have an aftermarket HU and I use all the Bose speakers in the car and an aftermarket amp just for my sub
I went to Crutchfield.com and put in all the info for a Maxima with the Bose HU and it didn't say anything about special adapters or incompatibility..

Like Rani said,contact a local shop and see if they can steer you in the right direction
__________________

Originally Posted by dstruc View Post
Next week Omar is taking us walking through the projects. Alex is getting raped for sure.
07maximan is offline   Send a private message to 07maximan Find more posts by 07maximan Add 07maximan to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 05-02-2012, 12:48 PM   Thread Starter #11
Glendales Official 6th Gen
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Kenny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Official Member #: 2651
Last Online: 03-09-2016 03:59 AM
Location: Southern California
Posts: 5,356

Reputation Level: 36
Kenny has a spectacular aura aboutKenny has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 100%
Activity: 100% Activity: 100% Activity: 100%

My Awards:
Supporting Family Member  


/ Point Value: 10

Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Most Valuable Poster (MVP)  


/ Point Value: 10

Visit Kenny's PS3 Profile Visit Kenny's Xbox Gamercard
Default Re: Would This Work For Hooking Up An Aftermarket Radio With Bose?

I'll contact CrutchField right now and see what they say, hopefully I don't have to spend to much, his birthday is in 2 weeks and it'll suck if I can't install the gift I got for him, I'll keep you guys updated, thanks a lot
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.


Follow Me On Instagram/Twitter:@0mg350z
Kenny is offline   Send a private message to Kenny Find more posts by Kenny Add Kenny to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 05-08-2012, 02:32 PM   #12
Executive Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Latinmaxima's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Official Member #: 1924
Last Online: 05-05-2016 04:32 PM
Location: Richmond, KY
Posts: 5,588

Reputation Level: 24
Latinmaxima is on a distinguished road

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Visit Latinmaxima's Facebook Visit Latinmaxima's PS3 Profile Visit Latinmaxima's YouTube Visit Latinmaxima's Xbox Gamercard
Default Re: Would This Work For Hooking Up An Aftermarket Radio With Bose?

I thought that harness would work just fine. That is what crutchfield is sending with my new headunit. I also have a scosche adapter that takes the harness wires on both sides into it with an adjustable screw (potentiometer) for adjusting the output values to the bose amp.
__________________
2004 Nissan Maxima SE<(^_^<)Samsung Galaxy Nexus(>^_^)> Motorola Xoom
Click the image to open in full size.
Latinmaxima is offline   Send a private message to Latinmaxima Find more posts by Latinmaxima Add Latinmaxima to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 05-08-2012, 02:41 PM   Thread Starter #13
Glendales Official 6th Gen
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Kenny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Official Member #: 2651
Last Online: 03-09-2016 03:59 AM
Location: Southern California
Posts: 5,356

Reputation Level: 36
Kenny has a spectacular aura aboutKenny has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 100%
Activity: 100% Activity: 100% Activity: 100%

My Awards:
Supporting Family Member  


/ Point Value: 10

Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Most Valuable Poster (MVP)  


/ Point Value: 10

Visit Kenny's PS3 Profile Visit Kenny's Xbox Gamercard
Default Re: Would This Work For Hooking Up An Aftermarket Radio With Bose?

Originally Posted by latinismo View Post
I thought that harness would work just fine. That is what crutchfield is sending with my new headunit. I also have a scosche adapter that takes the harness wires on both sides into it with an adjustable screw (potentiometer) for adjusting the output values to the bose amp.


This is what I ended up getting
Nissan/Infiniti Factory Integration Adapter 1994-up Nissan/Infiniti at Crutchfield.com

The one I posted supposedly sucks and gives a lot of noise, I didn't want to cheap out on my dad so I got the one CrutchField advised me to get
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.


Follow Me On Instagram/Twitter:@0mg350z
Kenny is offline   Send a private message to Kenny Find more posts by Kenny Add Kenny to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 05-08-2012, 03:18 PM   #14
Executive Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Latinmaxima's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Official Member #: 1924
Last Online: 05-05-2016 04:32 PM
Location: Richmond, KY
Posts: 5,588

Reputation Level: 24
Latinmaxima is on a distinguished road

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Visit Latinmaxima's Facebook Visit Latinmaxima's PS3 Profile Visit Latinmaxima's YouTube Visit Latinmaxima's Xbox Gamercard
Default Re: Would This Work For Hooking Up An Aftermarket Radio With Bose?

That is the seperate scosche adapter I have along with the wiring harnesses at home. I didn't know I already had those. Oh well they come free with the headunit so it doesn't matter. Thanks for the feedback!
__________________
2004 Nissan Maxima SE<(^_^<)Samsung Galaxy Nexus(>^_^)> Motorola Xoom
Click the image to open in full size.
Latinmaxima is offline   Send a private message to Latinmaxima Find more posts by Latinmaxima Add Latinmaxima to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 Members And 1 Guests)
 
Thread Tools


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:21 PM.