Register My Garage Arcade V.I.P Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read
Go Back   my6thgen.org - Maxima Forum > my6thgen.org - Very Useful Information > Ask Your Technical & General Questions > Audio, Video & Electronics

Reply
ExclamationThis thread is more than 150+ days old. If you still feel it is necessary to bump this thread, you have the permission to do so. Please click the checkbox below and post your reply.
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-12-2013, 10:44 PM   Thread Starter #1
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
JGWoolfolk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Official Member #: 7240
Last Online: 04-29-2015 12:51 PM
Posts: 75

Reputation Level: 7
JGWoolfolk is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Viper 5704 Stopped Working

Let me be more clear. My alarm activates and deactivates but does nothing as far as actually unlocking my locks and activating the autostart. I cant get into my car at all...anyvidea what to do? Theres also a strange clicking noise coming from under the hood!
JGWoolfolk is offline   Send a private message to JGWoolfolk Find more posts by JGWoolfolk Add JGWoolfolk to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 04-12-2013, 10:56 PM   #2
Moderator
Burnt Orange
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
BurntOrangeAppeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Official Member #: 2887
Last Online: 12-04-2014 04:56 PM
Location: Under the Bridge
Posts: 2,816

Reputation Level: 34
BurntOrangeAppeal has a spectacular aura aboutBurntOrangeAppeal has a spectacular aura aboutBurntOrangeAppeal has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Viper 5704 Stopped Working

This is something that your alarm installer or a cerrified Viper dealer should be looking at.

One thing you coukd do yourself is to make sure that your remote has a fresh battery.
__________________
'04 SE 6MT, Elite.
'01 SE Anniversary.
'97 GXE.
Click the image to open in full size.
Click the image to open in full size.
-=My Build Tread=-
Likes: (1)
Latinmaxima (04-15-2013)
BurntOrangeAppeal is offline   Send a private message to BurntOrangeAppeal Find more posts by BurntOrangeAppeal Add BurntOrangeAppeal to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 04-12-2013, 11:01 PM   #3
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
xXJU5T_L0UxX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Official Member #: 7452
Last Online: 06-01-2013 09:30 AM
Location: NY
Posts: 128

Reputation Level: 7
xXJU5T_L0UxX is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Viper 5704 Stopped Working

yup, I agree with BOA.. If you had your system professionally installed they should know or find the problem, especially if it was a recent job...
xXJU5T_L0UxX is offline   Send a private message to xXJU5T_L0UxX Find more posts by xXJU5T_L0UxX Add xXJU5T_L0UxX to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 04-12-2013, 11:02 PM   #4
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
xXJU5T_L0UxX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Official Member #: 7452
Last Online: 06-01-2013 09:30 AM
Location: NY
Posts: 128

Reputation Level: 7
xXJU5T_L0UxX is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Viper 5704 Stopped Working

I have the same model on my car by the way...lol
xXJU5T_L0UxX is offline   Send a private message to xXJU5T_L0UxX Find more posts by xXJU5T_L0UxX Add xXJU5T_L0UxX to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 04-13-2013, 01:46 AM   Thread Starter #5
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
JGWoolfolk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Official Member #: 7240
Last Online: 04-29-2015 12:51 PM
Posts: 75

Reputation Level: 7
JGWoolfolk is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Viper 5704 Stopped Working

I ended up having to call AAA because I absolutely could not get into my car. So happens my car battery was dead. They ended up replacing it with a new battery and it works now. I guess I have to reprogram the remote because it will start my car but not lock or unlock the door
JGWoolfolk is offline   Send a private message to JGWoolfolk Find more posts by JGWoolfolk Add JGWoolfolk to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 04-13-2013, 07:42 AM   #6
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
xXJU5T_L0UxX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Official Member #: 7452
Last Online: 06-01-2013 09:30 AM
Location: NY
Posts: 128

Reputation Level: 7
xXJU5T_L0UxX is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Viper 5704 Stopped Working

If yours came with two remotes like mine, check to see if the other one works all the functions. If it does then its without a doubt the remote. Then I would say check the battery on that also b4 trying to reprogram it. If the other one does the same then it's not your remotes its the brain of the alarm and you would have to take it in... Hope this helps..
xXJU5T_L0UxX is offline   Send a private message to xXJU5T_L0UxX Find more posts by xXJU5T_L0UxX Add xXJU5T_L0UxX to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 04-15-2013, 05:22 PM   #7
Senior Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
ESTEP_33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Official Member #: 3127
Last Online: 01-18-2015 01:37 PM
Location: DC
Posts: 922

Reputation Level: 15
ESTEP_33 will become famous soon enough

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Visit ESTEP_33's PS3 Profile Visit ESTEP_33's YouTube
Default Re: Viper 5704 Stopped Working

Before I read the posts I was gonna say the battery may be dead.lol I had one on my truck and the same thing happened when I came back from a weeks vacation, the clicking was probably your starter attempting to start with no juice.
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.
ESTEP_33 is offline   Send a private message to ESTEP_33 Find more posts by ESTEP_33 Add ESTEP_33 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 Members And 1 Guests)
 
Thread Tools


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:32 AM.