Register My Garage Arcade V.I.P Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read
Go Back   my6thgen.org - Maxima Forum > my6thgen.org - Very Useful Information > Ask Your Technical & General Questions > Audio, Video & Electronics

Reply
ExclamationThis thread is more than 150+ days old. If you still feel it is necessary to bump this thread, you have the permission to do so. Please click the checkbox below and post your reply.
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-02-2014, 02:44 PM   Thread Starter #1
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
grouchman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Official Member #: 620
Last Online: 06-20-2019 06:41 PM
Posts: 2

Reputation Level: 0
grouchman is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Non-Bose Stereo Swap To Bose Unit

Is it possible to swap a factory non-Bose head unit with a Bose head unit? I want the sat feature to add a Ipod adapter and 6 disc changer
grouchman is offline   Send a private message to grouchman Find more posts by grouchman Add grouchman to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 05-04-2014, 08:34 PM   #2
Senior Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
incubus0111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Official Member #: 6540
Last Online: 06-09-2019 06:37 AM
Location: Here
Posts: 619

Reputation Level: 8
incubus0111 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Non-Bose Stereo Swap To Bose Unit

The Bose HU runs to amps. I won't say no it cant be done but it's more than just a HU swap.

You will be better off going with aftermarket double din.
Likes: (1)
Apollos2 (05-10-2014)
incubus0111 is offline   Send a private message to incubus0111 Find more posts by incubus0111 Add incubus0111 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 05-07-2014, 04:50 PM   #3
Reputable Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
smittybizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Official Member #: 1598
Last Online: 03-01-2019 11:33 PM
Location: Baltimore,MD
Posts: 2,222

Reputation Level: 21
smittybizzle will become famous soon enough

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Non-Bose Stereo Swap To Bose Unit

Yes please go aftermarket.
smittybizzle is offline   Send a private message to smittybizzle Find more posts by smittybizzle Add smittybizzle to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 05-10-2014, 03:57 PM   Thread Starter #4
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
grouchman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Official Member #: 620
Last Online: 06-20-2019 06:41 PM
Posts: 2

Reputation Level: 0
grouchman is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Non-Bose Stereo Swap To Bose Unit

My friend gave me the radio thought of installing it, but I decided to go aftermarket just need to decide which one to get
grouchman is offline   Send a private message to grouchman Find more posts by grouchman Add grouchman to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 05-10-2014, 04:20 PM   #5
Mile High Maxima
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Apollos2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Official Member #: 510
Last Online: 06-06-2016 08:24 PM
Posts: 1,955

Reputation Level: 33
Apollos2 has a spectacular aura aboutApollos2 has a spectacular aura aboutApollos2 has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 27%
Activity: 27% Activity: 27% Activity: 27%
Default Re: Non-Bose Stereo Swap To Bose Unit

Yeah the Bose are nice when they are new but they eventually have issues. Go aftermarket you will be much happier in the end.
__________________
Cardomain = Silver stream


Click the image to open in full size.Click the image to open in full size.
Apollos2 is offline   Send a private message to Apollos2 Find more posts by Apollos2 Add Apollos2 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 05-20-2014, 01:21 PM   #6
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
trilla_one's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Official Member #: 2874
Last Online: 06-11-2017 07:39 PM
Location: miami
Posts: 244

Reputation Level: 8
trilla_one is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Non-Bose Stereo Swap To Bose Unit

Just came across an 04-06 in a JY with the bose unit. Is it worth it(or possible) just to swap over the subs and amp and keep my radio? Most advise to just go aftermarket but i rather the look of stock stereos. I like the NDSS unit but dislike the fact that it runs out of bass when you crank it past 20.
__________________


"Every generation has to take its place in battling in the struggle for equality"

-Dr. Harry Thomas
trilla_one is offline   Send a private message to trilla_one Find more posts by trilla_one Add trilla_one to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 05-20-2014, 11:06 PM   #7
Senior Moderator

my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
1hawaii50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Official Member #: 63
Last Online: 11-03-2014 08:34 PM
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 13,276

Reputation Level: 58
1hawaii50 has a spectacular aura about1hawaii50 has a spectacular aura about1hawaii50 has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Supporting Family Member  


/ Point Value: 10

Member of the Month (M.O.T.M)  


/ Point Value: 10

Most Valuable Poster (MVP)  


/ Point Value: 10

V.I.P Member  


/ Point Value: 15

Spotlight Ride Of The Month  


/ Point Value: 5

Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Official Ride  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: Non-Bose Stereo Swap To Bose Unit

Originally Posted by trilla_one View Post
Just came across an 04-06 in a JY with the bose unit. Is it worth it(or possible) just to swap over the subs and amp and keep my radio? Most advise to just go aftermarket but i rather the look of stock stereos. I like the NDSS unit but dislike the fact that it runs out of bass when you crank it past 20.
I do believe the wiring is different also...not just a plug/play...
__________________
1hawaii50 is offline   Send a private message to 1hawaii50 Find more posts by 1hawaii50 Add 1hawaii50 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 Members And 1 Guests)
 
Thread Tools


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:39 AM.