Register My Garage Arcade V.I.P Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read
Go Back   my6thgen.org - Maxima Forum > my6thgen.org - Very Useful Information > Ask Your Technical & General Questions > Audio, Video & Electronics

Reply
ExclamationThis thread is more than 150+ days old. If you still feel it is necessary to bump this thread, you have the permission to do so. Please click the checkbox below and post your reply.
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-29-2012, 09:50 PM   Thread Starter #1
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
328driver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Official Member #: 3290
Last Online: 01-04-2019 09:49 PM
Posts: 64

Reputation Level: 8
328driver is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default NIRD Draining Battery

Hooked up a Nird-01 in my max and the damn thing drains my battery. Bought a new battery and same thing. Unplugged the nird and the battery holds charge. Anyone else have this issue? Thx
328driver is offline   Send a private message to 328driver Find more posts by 328driver Add 328driver to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 02-29-2012, 10:18 PM   #2
Senior Moderator

my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
1hawaii50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Official Member #: 63
Last Online: 11-03-2014 08:34 PM
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 13,276

Reputation Level: 58
1hawaii50 has a spectacular aura about1hawaii50 has a spectacular aura about1hawaii50 has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Supporting Family Member  


/ Point Value: 10

Member of the Month (M.O.T.M)  


/ Point Value: 10

Most Valuable Poster (MVP)  


/ Point Value: 10

V.I.P Member  


/ Point Value: 15

Spotlight Ride Of The Month  


/ Point Value: 5

Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Official Ride  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: Nird draining battery

Originally Posted by 328driver View Post
Hooked up a Nird-01 in my max and the damn thing drains my battery. Bought a new battery and same thing. Unplugged the nird and the battery holds charge. Anyone else have this issue? Thx
You've got something hooked up wrong...I've got the NIRD in my 07...no draining issues.
__________________
Likes: (1)
Latinmaxima (02-29-2012)
1hawaii50 is offline   Send a private message to 1hawaii50 Find more posts by 1hawaii50 Add 1hawaii50 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 02-29-2012, 11:20 PM   #3
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
hero782's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Official Member #: 335
Last Online: 07-05-2018 03:34 PM
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,834

Reputation Level: 22
hero782 will become famous soon enoughhero782 will become famous soon enough

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Spotlight Ride Of The Month  


/ Point Value: 5

Official Ride  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: NIRD Draining Battery

Did your car come with the Bose system? If so are you still powering the speakers with the Bose amp?
hero782 is offline   Send a private message to hero782 Find more posts by hero782 Add hero782 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 03-01-2012, 12:23 AM   #4
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
joecurr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Official Member #: 626
Last Online: 03-26-2014 08:45 PM
Posts: 454

Reputation Level: 28
joecurr has a spectacular aura aboutjoecurr has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Honorable Ride  


/ Point Value: 5

Default Re: NIRD Draining Battery

I dont know anything about the Nird, but it sounds like you have a power wire hooked up to a constant 12V source instead of ignition.
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.
joecurr is offline   Send a private message to joecurr Find more posts by joecurr Add joecurr to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 03-01-2012, 12:28 AM   #5
Glendales Official 6th Gen
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Kenny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Official Member #: 2651
Last Online: 03-09-2016 03:59 AM
Location: Southern California
Posts: 5,356

Reputation Level: 35
Kenny has a spectacular aura aboutKenny has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 100%
Activity: 100% Activity: 100% Activity: 100%

My Awards:
Supporting Family Member  


/ Point Value: 10

Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Most Valuable Poster (MVP)  


/ Point Value: 10

Visit Kenny's PS3 Profile Visit Kenny's Xbox Gamercard
Default Re: NIRD Draining Battery

^^^this
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.


Follow Me On Instagram/Twitter:@0mg350z
Kenny is offline   Send a private message to Kenny Find more posts by Kenny Add Kenny to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 03-01-2012, 12:34 AM   #6
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
hero782's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Official Member #: 335
Last Online: 07-05-2018 03:34 PM
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,834

Reputation Level: 22
hero782 will become famous soon enoughhero782 will become famous soon enough

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Spotlight Ride Of The Month  


/ Point Value: 5

Official Ride  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: NIRD Draining Battery

Same thing happened to me when I installed my nird. Idk why but on the Bose system the nird keeps sending a constant remote signal to the Bose amp.
hero782 is offline   Send a private message to hero782 Find more posts by hero782 Add hero782 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 03-02-2012, 11:59 PM   Thread Starter #7
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
328driver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Official Member #: 3290
Last Online: 01-04-2019 09:49 PM
Posts: 64

Reputation Level: 8
328driver is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: NIRD Draining Battery

Originally Posted by hero782 View Post
Did your car come with the Bose system? If so are you still powering the speakers with the Bose amp?
Yep, it has the bose.....how did you fix it?
328driver is offline   Send a private message to 328driver Find more posts by 328driver Add 328driver to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 03-07-2012, 02:04 PM   #8
Premier Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
H4X1MA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Official Member #: 265
Last Online: 10-20-2014 06:00 PM
Posts: 1,073

Reputation Level: 21
H4X1MA will become famous soon enough

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: NIRD Draining Battery

Originally Posted by joecurr View Post
I dont know anything about the Nird, but it sounds like you have a power wire hooked up to a constant 12V source instead of ignition.
This is your answer. I had the same problem.
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.
H4X1MA is offline   Send a private message to H4X1MA Find more posts by H4X1MA Add H4X1MA to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 03-07-2012, 02:23 PM   #9
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
hero782's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Official Member #: 335
Last Online: 07-05-2018 03:34 PM
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,834

Reputation Level: 22
hero782 will become famous soon enoughhero782 will become famous soon enough

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Spotlight Ride Of The Month  


/ Point Value: 5

Official Ride  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: NIRD Draining Battery

You need to bypass the remote wire from the nird. I connect the remote wire from my HU to the first plug on the nird that connects to the oem plug. There's a old thread around here where I posted exactly what I did.
Likes: (2)
bcsomso (09-16-2013), Savage.vanity09 (03-27-2012)
hero782 is offline   Send a private message to hero782 Find more posts by hero782 Add hero782 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 03-10-2012, 03:44 AM   Thread Starter #10
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
328driver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Official Member #: 3290
Last Online: 01-04-2019 09:49 PM
Posts: 64

Reputation Level: 8
328driver is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: NIRD Draining Battery

Originally Posted by H4X1MA View Post
This is your answer. I had the same problem.
Thanks for the input but not that simple. There is only one wire being supplied from the battery as a constant source (yellow). All wires hooked up as instructed. Tested the interface and several pins show voltage with the ignition off. Think its a defective interface.
328driver is offline   Send a private message to 328driver Find more posts by 328driver Add 328driver to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 03-10-2012, 10:13 PM   Thread Starter #11
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
328driver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Official Member #: 3290
Last Online: 01-04-2019 09:49 PM
Posts: 64

Reputation Level: 8
328driver is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: NIRD Draining Battery

O.k., installed a new NIRD today and still drains the battery. All wires hooked up correctly according to Metra. Can hear fuzz coming from the speakers when the car is off. How can I wire the thing to ACC or bypass the amp?.....Damn it F'n sux having to jump my car every time I want to drive it!!!!!!
328driver is offline   Send a private message to 328driver Find more posts by 328driver Add 328driver to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 03-10-2012, 10:16 PM   #12
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
hero782's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Official Member #: 335
Last Online: 07-05-2018 03:34 PM
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,834

Reputation Level: 22
hero782 will become famous soon enoughhero782 will become famous soon enough

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Spotlight Ride Of The Month  


/ Point Value: 5

Official Ride  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: NIRD Draining Battery

You need to bypass the remote wire from the nird. The brain of the nird keeps a constant 12v signal going to the remote. It only affect the BOSE
Likes: (1)
bcsomso (09-16-2013)
hero782 is offline   Send a private message to hero782 Find more posts by hero782 Add hero782 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 03-13-2012, 11:10 PM   Thread Starter #13
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
328driver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Official Member #: 3290
Last Online: 01-04-2019 09:49 PM
Posts: 64

Reputation Level: 8
328driver is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: NIRD Draining Battery

Originally Posted by hero782 View Post
You need to bypass the remote wire from the nird. The brain of the nird keeps a constant 12v signal going to the remote. It only affect the BOSE
Yep hero, you were right....spliced the remote wire pass the nird and the battery keeps its charge. I owe you a case of beer!!!!!!! Thanks again!!!!
328driver is offline   Send a private message to 328driver Find more posts by 328driver Add 328driver to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 03-14-2012, 02:47 AM   #14
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Jony09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Official Member #: 3079
Last Online: 10-08-2014 03:48 PM
Location: Houston
Posts: 385

Reputation Level: 8
Jony09 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: NIRD Draining Battery

Originally Posted by 328driver View Post
Yep hero, you were right....spliced the remote wire pass the nird and the battery keeps its charge. I owe you a case of beer!!!!!!! Thanks again!!!!
Do you have pics of the bypass?
Jony09 is offline   Send a private message to Jony09 Find more posts by Jony09 Add Jony09 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 03-16-2012, 12:54 AM   Thread Starter #15
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
328driver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Official Member #: 3290
Last Online: 01-04-2019 09:49 PM
Posts: 64

Reputation Level: 8
328driver is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: NIRD Draining Battery

Originally Posted by Jony09 View Post
Do you have pics of the bypass?
Nope, kind of did it in a hurry....if you need it I can walk you thru it step by step. Hero sent me a pic I can send you if that helps to.....
328driver is offline   Send a private message to 328driver Find more posts by 328driver Add 328driver to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 Members And 1 Guests)
 
Thread Tools


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:23 AM.