Register My Garage Arcade V.I.P Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read
Go Back   my6thgen.org - Maxima Forum > my6thgen.org - Very Useful Information > Ask Your Technical & General Questions > Audio, Video & Electronics

Reply
ExclamationThis thread is more than 150+ days old. If you still feel it is necessary to bump this thread, you have the permission to do so. Please click the checkbox below and post your reply.
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-11-2012, 01:10 AM   Thread Starter #1
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Jony09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Official Member #: 3079
Last Online: 10-08-2014 03:48 PM
Location: Houston
Posts: 385

Reputation Level: 8
Jony09 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default New Head Unit for 07

Im planning on installing a new head unit on my max. I wanted an alpine but doesnt have color customization and i want it to semi-match the interior.

im looking at these 3 models cause they have rear usb ports to hide the wires.

JVC Arsenal KD-A735BT CD receiver at Crutchfield.com

Pioneer DEH-P7400HD CD receiver at Crutchfield.com

this one doesnt have rear usb but its nice.
Kenwood Excelon KDC-X496 CD receiver at Crutchfield.com

Im later planning to hide the stereo in either the glove compartment of arm rest and installing and ipad as my dash and adding screens.
Jony09 is offline   Send a private message to Jony09 Find more posts by Jony09 Add Jony09 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 05-11-2012, 01:49 AM   #2
Senior Moderator
The Capital's 6th Gen
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
officerfrasher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Official Member #: 1765
Last Online: 06-01-2018 10:32 AM
Location: Frankfort, KY 40601
Posts: 13,375

Reputation Level: 58
officerfrasher has a spectacular aura aboutofficerfrasher has a spectacular aura aboutofficerfrasher has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Member of the Month (M.O.T.M)  


/ Point Value: 10

Supporting Family Member  


/ Point Value: 10

Official Ride  


/ Point Value: 10

Spotlight Ride Of The Month  


/ Point Value: 5

Default Re: New Head Unit for 07

So what are your questions?
officerfrasher is offline   Send a private message to officerfrasher Find more posts by officerfrasher Add officerfrasher to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 05-11-2012, 01:57 AM   Thread Starter #3
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Jony09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Official Member #: 3079
Last Online: 10-08-2014 03:48 PM
Location: Houston
Posts: 385

Reputation Level: 8
Jony09 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: New Head Unit for 07

Originally Posted by officerfrasher View Post
So what are your questions?
lol which head unit do ya think will look semi-stock?
how does the sound quality change? for those with aftermarket i have bose


anyone know of a cable that can be used from the headunits USB to ipad and to screen amp?
Jony09 is offline   Send a private message to Jony09 Find more posts by Jony09 Add Jony09 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 05-11-2012, 09:53 PM   #4
Senior Moderator
The Capital's 6th Gen
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
officerfrasher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Official Member #: 1765
Last Online: 06-01-2018 10:32 AM
Location: Frankfort, KY 40601
Posts: 13,375

Reputation Level: 58
officerfrasher has a spectacular aura aboutofficerfrasher has a spectacular aura aboutofficerfrasher has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Member of the Month (M.O.T.M)  


/ Point Value: 10

Supporting Family Member  


/ Point Value: 10

Official Ride  


/ Point Value: 10

Spotlight Ride Of The Month  


/ Point Value: 5

Default Re: New Head Unit for 07

Originally Posted by Jony09 View Post
lol which head unit do ya think will look semi-stock?
how does the sound quality change? for those with aftermarket i have bose


anyone know of a cable that can be used from the headunits USB to ipad and to screen amp?
I don't think any of them will look anywhere close to stock. They'll look something like this:

Click the image to open in full size.

Click the image to open in full size.

I'm partial to Pioneer myself, but if that one comes with pink/purple lighting, then NO WAY!

You can use the cable that came with your iPad to plug into the HU. What do you mean by screen amp?
officerfrasher is offline   Send a private message to officerfrasher Find more posts by officerfrasher Add officerfrasher to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 05-11-2012, 11:46 PM   Thread Starter #5
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Jony09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Official Member #: 3079
Last Online: 10-08-2014 03:48 PM
Location: Houston
Posts: 385

Reputation Level: 8
Jony09 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: New Head Unit for 07

Screen amp, I meant video amp which takes one signl n makes more of it , ipad-> video amp-> headrest screens.
Thanks officer
Jony09 is offline   Send a private message to Jony09 Find more posts by Jony09 Add Jony09 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 05-12-2012, 02:14 AM   #6
Senior Moderator
The Capital's 6th Gen
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
officerfrasher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Official Member #: 1765
Last Online: 06-01-2018 10:32 AM
Location: Frankfort, KY 40601
Posts: 13,375

Reputation Level: 58
officerfrasher has a spectacular aura aboutofficerfrasher has a spectacular aura aboutofficerfrasher has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Member of the Month (M.O.T.M)  


/ Point Value: 10

Supporting Family Member  


/ Point Value: 10

Official Ride  


/ Point Value: 10

Spotlight Ride Of The Month  


/ Point Value: 5

Default Re: New Head Unit for 07

Originally Posted by Jony09 View Post
Screen amp, I meant video amp which takes one signl n makes more of it , ipad-> video amp-> headrest screens.
Thanks officer
The HU would probably have to have RCA video outputs to be able to connect extra screens. Which means you'd probably need a higher end unit than those you've selected. But I'll also say this, I'm no A/V expert, so maybe someone else with more knowledge will chime in. Paging @07maximan
Likes: (1)
1hawaii50 (05-12-2012)
officerfrasher is offline   Send a private message to officerfrasher Find more posts by officerfrasher Add officerfrasher to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 05-12-2012, 09:29 AM   #7
Senior Moderator

my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
1hawaii50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Official Member #: 63
Last Online: 11-03-2014 08:34 PM
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 13,276

Reputation Level: 58
1hawaii50 has a spectacular aura about1hawaii50 has a spectacular aura about1hawaii50 has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Supporting Family Member  


/ Point Value: 10

Member of the Month (M.O.T.M)  


/ Point Value: 10

Most Valuable Poster (MVP)  


/ Point Value: 10

V.I.P Member  


/ Point Value: 15

Spotlight Ride Of The Month  


/ Point Value: 5

Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Official Ride  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: New Head Unit for 07

I don't know that a standard CD head unit will run DVD screens...there are no outputs. As James said, I think you are going to need a DVD head unit.

Myself, I've had Pioneer Premier, Kenwood Excelon, and Alpine. The Alpine CDA-9887 that I had was an awesome head unit, but the display was nothing special. Myself, I'm partial to the Kenwood Excelon units.
__________________
1hawaii50 is offline   Send a private message to 1hawaii50 Find more posts by 1hawaii50 Add 1hawaii50 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 05-12-2012, 11:29 AM   #8
Senior Citizen Moderator
6th Gen Official Pops
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
07maximan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Official Member #: 2184
Last Online: 12-08-2014 03:33 PM
Location: Close....Very Close!!
Posts: 9,421

Reputation Level: 69
07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice

Participation Level: 9%
Activity: 9% Activity: 9% Activity: 9%

My Awards:
Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Member of the Month (M.O.T.M)  


/ Point Value: 10

Honorable Ride  


/ Point Value: 5

Most Valuable Poster (MVP)  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: New Head Unit for 07

To be honest the HU's you picked are a little on the lower end of the spectrum. I'm not really 100% sure what you're trying to do. I don't know of any single din HU's that have any type of AV outputs. As far as sound quality, a lot times a new HU will actually sound worse with your stock speakers. I always recommend changing out speakers,especially the Bose.

I would look at a double din,even a cheaper one will give you more options for any future AV plans you might have.

One more thing,try to stay away from JVC,they really aren't that great. Stick with Sony,Pioneer and Kennwood.
__________________

Originally Posted by dstruc View Post
Next week Omar is taking us walking through the projects. Alex is getting raped for sure.
Likes: (1)
1hawaii50 (05-12-2012)
07maximan is offline   Send a private message to 07maximan Find more posts by 07maximan Add 07maximan to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 05-12-2012, 06:37 PM   Thread Starter #9
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Jony09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Official Member #: 3079
Last Online: 10-08-2014 03:48 PM
Location: Houston
Posts: 385

Reputation Level: 8
Jony09 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: New Head Unit for 07

Alright preciate yall ill see maybe a single din pop out screen I wasnt tryna spend much on a head unit since its going to be hidden later n just be conected to the ipad which will take the head ubits place
Jony09 is offline   Send a private message to Jony09 Find more posts by Jony09 Add Jony09 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 Members And 1 Guests)
 
Thread Tools


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:44 PM.