Register My Garage Arcade V.I.P Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read
Go Back   my6thgen.org - Maxima Forum > my6thgen.org - Very Useful Information > Ask Your Technical & General Questions > Audio, Video & Electronics

Reply
ExclamationThis thread is more than 150+ days old. If you still feel it is necessary to bump this thread, you have the permission to do so. Please click the checkbox below and post your reply.
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-09-2012, 11:00 AM   Thread Starter #1
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
spiritman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Official Member #: 6123
Last Online: 02-09-2015 05:55 PM
Posts: 36

Reputation Level: 0
spiritman is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Is My HU Trying To Turn On Too Many Things?

So I finally get my stuff installed (build thread pending) and I run into an issue. My HU is an Alpine INE-S920HD with one remote turn on wire. It is not fused and it is wired to the HU bypass and 2 amps. I also have it wired to the blue/white wire on the Axxess NIRD-01 interface. When I first hooked up just the HU, it came on and I was able to program my Axxess AWSC steering wheel control. I thought everything was cool so I disconnected the negative cable to the battery and ran the rest of my power wires.

Last night, I got everything hooked up except for the door speakers (still have to sound deaden). I went to turn it on and the HU powered up. However, the amps didn't turn on and my steering wheel control didn't work. Also, my lights around my a/c controls don't light up.

Nothing changed in my wiring from the time it worked to now expect I wired up the 2 amps and removed the stock Bose amp. What should I be looking for?
spiritman is offline   Send a private message to spiritman Find more posts by spiritman Add spiritman to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-09-2012, 11:10 AM   #2
Executive Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Latinmaxima's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Official Member #: 1924
Last Online: 05-05-2016 04:32 PM
Location: Richmond, KY
Posts: 5,588

Reputation Level: 24
Latinmaxima is on a distinguished road

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Visit Latinmaxima's Facebook Visit Latinmaxima's PS3 Profile Visit Latinmaxima's YouTube Visit Latinmaxima's Xbox Gamercard
Default Re: Is My HU Trying To Turn On Too Many Things?

Possibly but not sure. I would consider removing other items one by one.

Posted Via Tapatalk 2
__________________
2004 Nissan Maxima SE<(^_^<)Samsung Galaxy Nexus(>^_^)> Motorola Xoom
Click the image to open in full size.
Latinmaxima is offline   Send a private message to Latinmaxima Find more posts by Latinmaxima Add Latinmaxima to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-09-2012, 11:16 AM   Thread Starter #3
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
spiritman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Official Member #: 6123
Last Online: 02-09-2015 05:55 PM
Posts: 36

Reputation Level: 0
spiritman is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default re: Is My HU Trying To Turn On Too Many Things?

Also, the orange/white wire from the NIRD-01 is not in use because the Alpine does not have a dimmer or illumination wire.
spiritman is offline   Send a private message to spiritman Find more posts by spiritman Add spiritman to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-09-2012, 11:54 AM   #4
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
JekyllMd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Official Member #: 475
Last Online: 02-12-2019 05:05 PM
Location: Doylestown PA
Posts: 225

Reputation Level: 9
JekyllMd is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default re: Is My HU Trying To Turn On Too Many Things?

Anything is possible, with that being said its a good rule of thumb to use a relay for remote turn on's so you get a good 12v to your devices. If I remember to my days of installing that the remote wire coming from the HU is not a true 12v.
Likes: (1)
Latinmaxima (11-09-2012)
JekyllMd is offline   Send a private message to JekyllMd Find more posts by JekyllMd Add JekyllMd to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-09-2012, 12:01 PM   #5
Senior Citizen Moderator
6th Gen Official Pops
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
07maximan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Official Member #: 2184
Last Online: 12-08-2014 03:33 PM
Location: Close....Very Close!!
Posts: 9,421

Reputation Level: 69
07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice

Participation Level: 9%
Activity: 9% Activity: 9% Activity: 9%

My Awards:
Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Member of the Month (M.O.T.M)  


/ Point Value: 10

Honorable Ride  


/ Point Value: 5

Most Valuable Poster (MVP)  


/ Point Value: 10

Default re: Is My HU Trying To Turn On Too Many Things?

Im not a huge fan of that NIRD,too many things to go wrong...

It has to be some thing in the remote wire. It might need a relay,but Im not sure on that. To be honest Ive never used a relay in any my installs. Right now I have 2 amps,an external EQ and a power cap running off of one remote wire. Go back thru and check all your wires.
__________________

Originally Posted by dstruc View Post
Next week Omar is taking us walking through the projects. Alex is getting raped for sure.
07maximan is offline   Send a private message to 07maximan Find more posts by 07maximan Add 07maximan to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-09-2012, 12:42 PM   Thread Starter #6
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
spiritman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Official Member #: 6123
Last Online: 02-09-2015 05:55 PM
Posts: 36

Reputation Level: 0
spiritman is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default re: Is My HU Trying To Turn On Too Many Things?

I might run home on lunch and work on it some more. I had a question about something. I wired up the blue/white wire from the NIRD-01. Since I have the remote wire directly off the HU, I should even need to wire that up correct?
spiritman is offline   Send a private message to spiritman Find more posts by spiritman Add spiritman to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-09-2012, 12:57 PM   Thread Starter #7
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
spiritman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Official Member #: 6123
Last Online: 02-09-2015 05:55 PM
Posts: 36

Reputation Level: 0
spiritman is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default re: Is My HU Trying To Turn On Too Many Things?

Originally Posted by 07maximan View Post
Im not a huge fan of that NIRD,too many things to go wrong...
Actually, I can go back in and solder up the Metra 70-7552. All I lose is stock bluetooth and the display over the HU correct?
spiritman is offline   Send a private message to spiritman Find more posts by spiritman Add spiritman to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-09-2012, 02:11 PM   #8
Senior Citizen Moderator
6th Gen Official Pops
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
07maximan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Official Member #: 2184
Last Online: 12-08-2014 03:33 PM
Location: Close....Very Close!!
Posts: 9,421

Reputation Level: 69
07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice

Participation Level: 9%
Activity: 9% Activity: 9% Activity: 9%

My Awards:
Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Member of the Month (M.O.T.M)  


/ Point Value: 10

Honorable Ride  


/ Point Value: 5

Most Valuable Poster (MVP)  


/ Point Value: 10

Default re: Is My HU Trying To Turn On Too Many Things?

Originally Posted by spiritman View Post
Actually, I can go back in and solder up the Metra 70-7552. All I lose is stock bluetooth and the display over the HU correct?
Im not sure. I didnt use any wire harness on mine. As far as the display screen goes I just plugged my stock HU in and tucked it in the dash. I cant control any thing on the screen but I never used it any way. It still shows the time and if the doors or trunk is open. Thats all I care about.
__________________

Originally Posted by dstruc View Post
Next week Omar is taking us walking through the projects. Alex is getting raped for sure.
07maximan is offline   Send a private message to 07maximan Find more posts by 07maximan Add 07maximan to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-09-2012, 02:19 PM   #9
Senior Moderator
The Capital's 6th Gen
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
officerfrasher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Official Member #: 1765
Last Online: 06-01-2018 10:32 AM
Location: Frankfort, KY 40601
Posts: 13,375

Reputation Level: 58
officerfrasher has a spectacular aura aboutofficerfrasher has a spectacular aura aboutofficerfrasher has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Member of the Month (M.O.T.M)  


/ Point Value: 10

Supporting Family Member  


/ Point Value: 10

Official Ride  


/ Point Value: 10

Spotlight Ride Of The Month  


/ Point Value: 5

Default Re: Is My HU Trying To Turn On Too Many Things?

Check fuses.
officerfrasher is offline   Send a private message to officerfrasher Find more posts by officerfrasher Add officerfrasher to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-09-2012, 03:23 PM   Thread Starter #10
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
spiritman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Official Member #: 6123
Last Online: 02-09-2015 05:55 PM
Posts: 36

Reputation Level: 0
spiritman is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Is My HU Trying To Turn On Too Many Things?

Apparently, I was an idiot last night. The power wire from the battery was not connected to my power distribution block. Also, my dimmer was turned all the way down so it appeared like my dash lights were out. My Axxess AWSC still doesn't work, so that's the only thing I have to figure out.
spiritman is offline   Send a private message to spiritman Find more posts by spiritman Add spiritman to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 Members And 1 Guests)
 
Thread Tools


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:32 AM.