Register My Garage Arcade V.I.P Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read
Go Back   my6thgen.org - Maxima Forum > my6thgen.org - Very Useful Information > Ask Your Technical & General Questions > Audio, Video & Electronics

Reply
ExclamationThis thread is more than 150+ days old. If you still feel it is necessary to bump this thread, you have the permission to do so. Please click the checkbox below and post your reply.
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-24-2011, 04:47 PM   Thread Starter #1
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
deep007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Official Member #: 301
Last Online: 07-26-2014 02:12 PM
Location: CA
Posts: 1,232

Reputation Level: 11
deep007 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Official Ride  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Dynamat Installation Help

So I Was at the gas station pumping gas and this one guy comes up to me and showed me dynamat that he have probably stolen. Lol long story short I offered him 50 bucks lol and he said 130 then down to 100 bucks.
It a 36 sq feet with 9 sheet all original packing. My question is should I do the door first and then trunk? Or just the trunk? I don't have anything subs in the trunk but It still rattles. How many sheets the front door gonna take? Or what are some places I can dynamat it?
I also heard if I do the whole trunk dynamat it will decrease the in cabin exhaust noise?
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.
deep007 is offline   Send a private message to deep007 Find more posts by deep007 Add deep007 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 10-24-2011, 04:51 PM   #2
Senior Citizen Moderator
6th Gen Official Pops
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
07maximan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Official Member #: 2184
Last Online: 12-08-2014 03:33 PM
Location: Close....Very Close!!
Posts: 9,421

Reputation Level: 69
07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice

Participation Level: 9%
Activity: 9% Activity: 9% Activity: 9%

My Awards:
Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Member of the Month (M.O.T.M)  


/ Point Value: 10

Honorable Ride  


/ Point Value: 5

Most Valuable Poster (MVP)  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: Dynamat Installation Help.

Do the whole car if you can...

I did my doors first. Ill be doing my trunk when I get some rxtra cash.
__________________

Originally Posted by dstruc View Post
Next week Omar is taking us walking through the projects. Alex is getting raped for sure.
Likes: (2)
Datboired832 (10-25-2011), QMaxx (10-24-2011)
07maximan is offline   Send a private message to 07maximan Find more posts by 07maximan Add 07maximan to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 10-24-2011, 04:54 PM   #3
Glendales Official 6th Gen
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Kenny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Official Member #: 2651
Last Online: 03-09-2016 03:59 AM
Location: Southern California
Posts: 5,356

Reputation Level: 35
Kenny has a spectacular aura aboutKenny has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 100%
Activity: 100% Activity: 100% Activity: 100%

My Awards:
Supporting Family Member  


/ Point Value: 10

Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Most Valuable Poster (MVP)  


/ Point Value: 10

Visit Kenny's PS3 Profile Visit Kenny's Xbox Gamercard
Default Re: Dynamat Installation Help.

if you want too reduce the in cabin noise of the exhaust, dynamat the entire floor..which will take a lot of time but very worth it.

if you dont have subs in the trunk, just do the doors, you will get very good sound quality from your speakers if you do the doors and will definately reduce rode noise, i have my whole car dyanamatted and its a crazy difference.

i have polyfill inside the spaces of my trunk and dynamat over it, and it still rattles.

the doors will take about 3 sheets if you want good coverage, you can do two, but too get full potential of dynamat use you might want to cover up any open spaces.

hope i helped.
Kenny is offline   Send a private message to Kenny Find more posts by Kenny Add Kenny to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 10-24-2011, 04:55 PM   Thread Starter #4
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
deep007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Official Member #: 301
Last Online: 07-26-2014 02:12 PM
Location: CA
Posts: 1,232

Reputation Level: 11
deep007 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Official Ride  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: Dynamat Installation Help

Originally Posted by 07maximan View Post
Do the whole car if you can...

I did my doors first. Ill be doing my trunk when I get some rxtra cash.
How many sheet did u do on the doors? whole car means?
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.
deep007 is offline   Send a private message to deep007 Find more posts by deep007 Add deep007 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 10-24-2011, 04:57 PM   Thread Starter #5
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
deep007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Official Member #: 301
Last Online: 07-26-2014 02:12 PM
Location: CA
Posts: 1,232

Reputation Level: 11
deep007 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Official Ride  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: Dynamat Installation Help

Originally Posted by kaygmaxima View Post
if you want too reduce the in cabin noise of the exhaust, dynamat the entire floor..which will take a lot of time but very worth it.

if you dont have subs in the trunk, just do the doors, you will get very good sound quality from your speakers if you do the doors and will definately reduce rode noise, i have my whole car dyanamatted and its a crazy difference.

i have polyfill inside the spaces of my trunk and dynamat over it, and it still rattles.

the doors will take about 3 sheets if you want good coverage, you can do two, but too get full potential of dynamat use you might want to cover up any open spaces.

hope i helped.
U have done the entire floor?
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.
deep007 is offline   Send a private message to deep007 Find more posts by deep007 Add deep007 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 10-24-2011, 05:54 PM   #6
Senior Citizen Moderator
6th Gen Official Pops
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
07maximan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Official Member #: 2184
Last Online: 12-08-2014 03:33 PM
Location: Close....Very Close!!
Posts: 9,421

Reputation Level: 69
07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice

Participation Level: 9%
Activity: 9% Activity: 9% Activity: 9%

My Awards:
Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Member of the Month (M.O.T.M)  


/ Point Value: 10

Honorable Ride  


/ Point Value: 5

Most Valuable Poster (MVP)  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: Dynamat Installation Help.

Originally Posted by deep007 View Post
How many sheet did u do on the doors? whole car means?
Just under 3 sheets per side. I think it made a noticeable difference. It's not cheap and it is a lot of work,but it's worth it. Keep in mind Dynamat is the most expensive,look at some other stuff that works just as well,but costs less.
__________________

Originally Posted by dstruc View Post
Next week Omar is taking us walking through the projects. Alex is getting raped for sure.
07maximan is offline   Send a private message to 07maximan Find more posts by 07maximan Add 07maximan to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 10-24-2011, 06:00 PM   #7
Glendales Official 6th Gen
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Kenny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Official Member #: 2651
Last Online: 03-09-2016 03:59 AM
Location: Southern California
Posts: 5,356

Reputation Level: 35
Kenny has a spectacular aura aboutKenny has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 100%
Activity: 100% Activity: 100% Activity: 100%

My Awards:
Supporting Family Member  


/ Point Value: 10

Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Most Valuable Poster (MVP)  


/ Point Value: 10

Visit Kenny's PS3 Profile Visit Kenny's Xbox Gamercard
Default Re: Dynamat Installation Help.

Originally Posted by deep007 View Post
U have done the entire floor?
I've done my entire floor, entire doors, and trunk lid
Likes: (1)
Datboired832 (10-25-2011)
Kenny is offline   Send a private message to Kenny Find more posts by Kenny Add Kenny to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 10-25-2011, 02:58 PM   #8
IC3D
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Digital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Official Member #: 26
Last Online: 09-03-2014 06:02 PM
Location: Fairfield County, CT
Posts: 2,027

Reputation Level: 20
Digital will become famous soon enough

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
V.I.P Member  


/ Point Value: 15

Visit Digital's Facebook Visit Digital's Twitter Visit Digital's YouTube Visit Digital's LinkedIn
Default Re: Dynamat Installation Help.

I got two layers in my trunk and trunk lid and rear deck.
Digital is offline   Send a private message to Digital Find more posts by Digital Add Digital to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 10-25-2011, 03:54 PM   Thread Starter #9
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
deep007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Official Member #: 301
Last Online: 07-26-2014 02:12 PM
Location: CA
Posts: 1,232

Reputation Level: 11
deep007 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Official Ride  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: Dynamat Installation Help

Originally Posted by Digital View Post
I got two layers in my trunk and trunk lid and rear deck.
damm man it's probably heavy as f**k. I guess I'm gonna start with my front doors and work to back
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.
deep007 is offline   Send a private message to deep007 Find more posts by deep007 Add deep007 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 10-25-2011, 05:05 PM   #10
Mile High Maxima
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Apollos2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Official Member #: 510
Last Online: 06-06-2016 08:24 PM
Posts: 1,955

Reputation Level: 33
Apollos2 has a spectacular aura aboutApollos2 has a spectacular aura aboutApollos2 has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 27%
Activity: 27% Activity: 27% Activity: 27%
Default Re: Dynamat Installation Help.

Smart, start with the doors. It makes a big difference. One layer should be enough if it's decent quality. It's worth it.

If you up for spending a little more $$ you can add some of this while your in there

Application: Use behind speakers mounted in doors
http://www.dynamat.com/products_car_audio_dynaxorb.html
Click the image to open in full size.

BEFORE:
Click the image to open in full size.

AFTER:
Click the image to open in full size.
__________________
Cardomain = Silver stream


Click the image to open in full size.Click the image to open in full size.

Last edited by Apollos2; 10-25-2011 at 05:10 PM.
Apollos2 is offline   Send a private message to Apollos2 Find more posts by Apollos2 Add Apollos2 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 10-26-2011, 01:58 AM   #11
Miltown's Maxima
Donating Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
BOOTZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Official Member #: 496
Last Online: 02-26-2016 06:14 PM
Location: Brewcity
Posts: 2,577

Reputation Level: 29
BOOTZ has a spectacular aura aboutBOOTZ has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 15%
Activity: 15% Activity: 15% Activity: 15%

My Awards:
Spotlight Ride Of The Month  


/ Point Value: 5

Honorable Ride  


/ Point Value: 5

Default Re: Dynamat Installation Help.

Originally Posted by Apollos2 View Post
Smart, start with the doors. It makes a big difference. One layer should be enough if it's decent quality. It's worth it.

If you up for spending a little more $$ you can add some of this while your in there

Application: Use behind speakers mounted in doors
http://www.dynamat.com/products_car_audio_dynaxorb.html
Click the image to open in full size.

BEFORE:
Click the image to open in full size.

AFTER:
Click the image to open in full size.
What did you use on the door? Def doesn't look like regular dynamat
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.
BOOTZ is offline   Send a private message to BOOTZ Find more posts by BOOTZ Add BOOTZ to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 10-27-2011, 09:13 PM   #12
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
SilverFoxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Official Member #: 7
Last Online: 01-16-2018 02:57 PM
Location: Illa-del-phi-pennsy
Posts: 272

Reputation Level: 11
SilverFoxx is on a distinguished road

Participation Level: 33%
Activity: 33% Activity: 33% Activity: 33%
Default Re: Dynamat Installation Help.

My entire car is almost covered. Even the inner C piller inside the trunk. My back seat all the way to the front seats. Just gotta do the roof and I will be complete. SOUND QUALITY IS GREAT!!
__________________
TeamAllOutNissan: President

www.TeamAllOutNissan.com

I'm mainly show with a little bit of go, but best believe she is not slow!!
SilverFoxx is offline   Send a private message to SilverFoxx Find more posts by SilverFoxx Add SilverFoxx to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 10-28-2011, 04:54 PM   #13
Mile High Maxima
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Apollos2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Official Member #: 510
Last Online: 06-06-2016 08:24 PM
Posts: 1,955

Reputation Level: 33
Apollos2 has a spectacular aura aboutApollos2 has a spectacular aura aboutApollos2 has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 27%
Activity: 27% Activity: 27% Activity: 27%
Default Re: Dynamat Installation Help.

Originally Posted by bootz View Post
What did you use on the door? Def doesn't look like regular dynamat
Good eye! It's actually Cascade Audio. Believe it or not I bought it from CarDomain, who had the lowest price and they had a coupon code. It was a crazy deal

http://cascadeaudio.com/car_noise_co...r_door_kit.htm

Per this thread and recommend from the guy how told me how to work my IB setup.
http://forums.maxima.org/audio-elect...ng-thread.html
__________________
Cardomain = Silver stream


Click the image to open in full size.Click the image to open in full size.
Apollos2 is offline   Send a private message to Apollos2 Find more posts by Apollos2 Add Apollos2 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 10-28-2011, 05:28 PM   #14
Miltown's Maxima
Donating Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
BOOTZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Official Member #: 496
Last Online: 02-26-2016 06:14 PM
Location: Brewcity
Posts: 2,577

Reputation Level: 29
BOOTZ has a spectacular aura aboutBOOTZ has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 15%
Activity: 15% Activity: 15% Activity: 15%

My Awards:
Spotlight Ride Of The Month  


/ Point Value: 5

Honorable Ride  


/ Point Value: 5

Default Re: Dynamat Installation Help.

Originally Posted by Apollos2 View Post
Good eye! It's actually Cascade Audio. Believe it or not I bought it from CarDomain, who had the lowest price and they had a coupon code. It was a crazy deal

http://cascadeaudio.com/car_noise_co...r_door_kit.htm

Per this thread and recommend from the guy how told me how to work my IB setup.
http://forums.maxima.org/audio-elect...ng-thread.html

I really like how clean that goes on. Did you notice much difference with it?

How did you buy it from car domain? I didn't know they sold stuff like that.
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.
BOOTZ is offline   Send a private message to BOOTZ Find more posts by BOOTZ Add BOOTZ to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 10-28-2011, 07:32 PM   #15
Mile High Maxima
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Apollos2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Official Member #: 510
Last Online: 06-06-2016 08:24 PM
Posts: 1,955

Reputation Level: 33
Apollos2 has a spectacular aura aboutApollos2 has a spectacular aura aboutApollos2 has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 27%
Activity: 27% Activity: 27% Activity: 27%
Default Re: Dynamat Installation Help

Yeah works good, I'm sure they are all pretty close to each other in quality but the Cascade is a bit lighter and does go on real nice.

I just check Cardomain they don't seem to sell stuff like this anymore but then again if you look at the date in the pic, this was a while back.
__________________
Cardomain = Silver stream


Click the image to open in full size.Click the image to open in full size.
Apollos2 is offline   Send a private message to Apollos2 Find more posts by Apollos2 Add Apollos2 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 Members And 0 Guests and 1 Web Crawlers)
 
Thread Tools


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:25 PM.