Register My Garage Arcade V.I.P Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read
Go Back   my6thgen.org - Maxima Forum > my6thgen.org - Very Useful Information > Ask Your Technical & General Questions > Audio, Video & Electronics

Reply
ExclamationThis thread is more than 150+ days old. If you still feel it is necessary to bump this thread, you have the permission to do so. Please click the checkbox below and post your reply.
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-01-2017, 03:37 PM   Thread Starter #1
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
05SmokeSE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Official Member #: 2748
Last Online: 02-01-2019 07:44 PM
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 30

Reputation Level: 0
05SmokeSE is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 33%
Activity: 33% Activity: 33% Activity: 33%
Default Can Replace just the Fuel Gauge?

So... that's the question: Can you replace just the Fuel Gauge?

Can you open up the instrument cluster and change out the fuel level gauge with a good one from a donor instrument panel of the same year?

Is that possible, or is the fuel level gauge hard soldered onto the instrument cluster printed circuit board and not removable?

If it's possible, I'm going to buy a spare instrument panel off of eBay and give it a try.

PS) My problem is that the needle has spun all the way around clockwise and is resting on the back side of stop post. I've read the posts about people spinning their fuel gauge needle back around where it belongs with a magnet, but most say that doesn't really work. So, I'd like to replace just the fuel gauge if it can be done.

Anybody done it?

Last edited by 05SmokeSE; 03-01-2017 at 04:49 PM.
05SmokeSE is offline   Send a private message to 05SmokeSE Find more posts by 05SmokeSE Add 05SmokeSE to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 03-06-2017, 03:20 PM   Thread Starter #2
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
05SmokeSE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Official Member #: 2748
Last Online: 02-01-2019 07:44 PM
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 30

Reputation Level: 0
05SmokeSE is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 33%
Activity: 33% Activity: 33% Activity: 33%
Default Answering my Own Question

OK... so it looks like the answer is NO, you can't just change out a bad fuel gauge in the instrument cluster.

I had a "spun" fuel gauge needle that was bumping up against the wrong side of the stop. Tried to get it to spin back around to the left side with magnets from the outside, but it wouldn't quite pull back around far enough to stay there.

So, yesterday I removed the instrument cluster from the dash and disassembled it. I spun the fuel gauge needle back around where it belonged and it stayed there! Yay!

I looked at the disassembled gauge set to see if perhaps an individual gauge (like the fuel gauge) could be removed from it and replaced with a good one.

It doesn't seem practical since the individual gauges are hard mounted on the main printed circuit board (PCB) that contains the whole works. So, unless you want to try to un-solder an individual gauge and solder on a new one, there's no way to do it.

By the time you buy a used meter panel to get the new gauge, you might as well just use the whole replacement meter panel. Plus, if you're not experienced at soldering on PCBs, you just may fry something else in the process.

***
05SmokeSE is offline   Send a private message to 05SmokeSE Find more posts by 05SmokeSE Add 05SmokeSE to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 Members And 1 Guests)
 
Thread Tools


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:42 PM.