Register My Garage Arcade V.I.P Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read
Go Back   my6thgen.org - Maxima Forum > my6thgen.org - Very Useful Information > Ask Your Technical & General Questions > Audio, Video & Electronics

Reply
ExclamationThis thread is more than 150+ days old. If you still feel it is necessary to bump this thread, you have the permission to do so. Please click the checkbox below and post your reply.
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-06-2011, 07:57 PM   Thread Starter #1
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
DDub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Official Member #: 2823
Last Online: 06-17-2012 01:33 AM
Location: ohio
Posts: 145

Reputation Level: 8
DDub is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Blown Amp Fuse(s)

So I was putting in my subwoofer this weekend, It's a 12" bazooka sub, just a little something to add a taste of bass to my music. Anyway, I had the REM wire and the audio input cables wired and was getting ready to hook up the power. I've had this set-up in my other car so I know it's not the amp/sub combo here, but when I hooked the power wire up, I blew a fuse in my amp. I'm not sure of the mistake but I'm thinking it could have been one of two mistakes. 1. I hooked the power wire up to the battery first, I thought I had hooked it hooked to the amp first. So when I touched the power cable to the amp the fuse blew. or 2. the length of cable from my battery to the fuse holder is significantly longer this time, about 1.5ft. I'm not sure if either of these did it, but I'd like to know what you experts think!
DDub is offline   Send a private message to DDub Find more posts by DDub Add DDub to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 12-06-2011, 08:06 PM   #2
Senior Citizen Moderator
6th Gen Official Pops
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
07maximan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Official Member #: 2184
Last Online: 12-08-2014 03:33 PM
Location: Close....Very Close!!
Posts: 9,421

Reputation Level: 69
07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice

Participation Level: 9%
Activity: 9% Activity: 9% Activity: 9%

My Awards:
Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Member of the Month (M.O.T.M)  


/ Point Value: 10

Honorable Ride  


/ Point Value: 5

Most Valuable Poster (MVP)  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: Blown Amp Fuse(s)

Generally when the amp fuses go,there is usually something wrong on the inside. What kind of amp is it?
__________________

Originally Posted by dstruc View Post
Next week Omar is taking us walking through the projects. Alex is getting raped for sure.
07maximan is offline   Send a private message to 07maximan Find more posts by 07maximan Add 07maximan to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 12-06-2011, 08:17 PM   Thread Starter #3
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
DDub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Official Member #: 2823
Last Online: 06-17-2012 01:33 AM
Location: ohio
Posts: 145

Reputation Level: 8
DDub is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Blown Amp Fuse(s)

Originally Posted by 07maximan View Post
Generally when the amp fuses go,there is usually something wrong on the inside. What kind of amp is it?
I forgot to mention, there are 2x20amp fuses in the amp. The first time i touched the power cable to the amp, 1 blew. then I took both the fuses out, and (the power cable still attached) put the okay one back, the second it touched the amp it blew too.

It's a replacement amp that a company sent me after I had to send my old one back. It looks like a crappy amp, so I assume it is. It is an American Legacy 800watt amp. not sure of the model or anything, it's the only one they had in stock that they could replace mine with...
DDub is offline   Send a private message to DDub Find more posts by DDub Add DDub to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 12-06-2011, 09:11 PM   #4
Senior Citizen Moderator
6th Gen Official Pops
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
07maximan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Official Member #: 2184
Last Online: 12-08-2014 03:33 PM
Location: Close....Very Close!!
Posts: 9,421

Reputation Level: 69
07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice

Participation Level: 9%
Activity: 9% Activity: 9% Activity: 9%

My Awards:
Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Member of the Month (M.O.T.M)  


/ Point Value: 10

Honorable Ride  


/ Point Value: 5

Most Valuable Poster (MVP)  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: Blown Amp Fuse(s)

I think you have a problem with your amp.
__________________

Originally Posted by dstruc View Post
Next week Omar is taking us walking through the projects. Alex is getting raped for sure.
07maximan is offline   Send a private message to 07maximan Find more posts by 07maximan Add 07maximan to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 12-06-2011, 09:32 PM   #5
Glendales Official 6th Gen
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Kenny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Official Member #: 2651
Last Online: 03-09-2016 03:59 AM
Location: Southern California
Posts: 5,356

Reputation Level: 35
Kenny has a spectacular aura aboutKenny has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 100%
Activity: 100% Activity: 100% Activity: 100%

My Awards:
Supporting Family Member  


/ Point Value: 10

Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Most Valuable Poster (MVP)  


/ Point Value: 10

Visit Kenny's PS3 Profile Visit Kenny's Xbox Gamercard
Default Re: Blown Amp Fuse(s)

Here are a few things that might be wrong.

1)you didn't remove the fuse from the fuse holder before connecting the amp to the battery.
2)your ground is not good enough
3)you have the +,- mixed up (you'd be surprised)
4)your wiring the sub in a way that the amp can't handle
5)+,- dont match up with the amp and sub as in you might have the negative on the sub hooked up to the positive on the amp vice versa

Hope this helps
Kenny is offline   Send a private message to Kenny Find more posts by Kenny Add Kenny to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 12-06-2011, 09:46 PM   #6
Senior Citizen Moderator
6th Gen Official Pops
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
07maximan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Official Member #: 2184
Last Online: 12-08-2014 03:33 PM
Location: Close....Very Close!!
Posts: 9,421

Reputation Level: 69
07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice

Participation Level: 9%
Activity: 9% Activity: 9% Activity: 9%

My Awards:
Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Member of the Month (M.O.T.M)  


/ Point Value: 10

Honorable Ride  


/ Point Value: 5

Most Valuable Poster (MVP)  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: Blown Amp Fuse(s)

Originally Posted by kaygmaxima View Post
Here are a few things that might be wrong.

1)you didn't remove the fuse from the fuse holder before connecting the amp to the battery.
2)your ground is not good enough
3)you have the +,- mixed up (you'd be surprised)
4)your wiring the sub in a way that the amp can't handle
5)+,- dont match up with the amp and sub as in you might have the negative on the sub hooked up to the positive on the amp vice versa

Hope this helps
1. I'm not sure what youre saying here
2. That would cause a fuse to blow
3. This is possible. I accidentally did that once myself
4. It would blow fuses that fast
5. That wouldn't cause a fuse problem either. That's just a polarity issue, not a huge deal.

I'm not going to lie,your amp is on the lower end of the spectrum. I'd contact the place you got it from. In all my car audio years I've never blown an amp fuse.
__________________

Originally Posted by dstruc View Post
Next week Omar is taking us walking through the projects. Alex is getting raped for sure.
07maximan is offline   Send a private message to 07maximan Find more posts by 07maximan Add 07maximan to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 12-06-2011, 10:01 PM   Thread Starter #7
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
DDub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Official Member #: 2823
Last Online: 06-17-2012 01:33 AM
Location: ohio
Posts: 145

Reputation Level: 8
DDub is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Blown Amp Fuse(s)

Originally Posted by 07maximan View Post


1. I'm not sure what youre saying here
2. That would cause a fuse to blow
3. This is possible. I accidentally did that once myself
4. It would blow fuses that fast
5. That wouldn't cause a fuse problem either. That's just a polarity issue, not a huge deal.

I'm not going to lie,your amp is on the lower end of the spectrum. I'd contact the place you got it from. In all my car audio years I've never blown an amp fuse.
Trust me, I knew it was basically junk the second I saw it, unfortunately I had no choice... any way I can check to make sure it's the amp before I either buy new fuses or switch amps?
DDub is offline   Send a private message to DDub Find more posts by DDub Add DDub to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 12-06-2011, 10:03 PM   #8
Senior Citizen Moderator
6th Gen Official Pops
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
07maximan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Official Member #: 2184
Last Online: 12-08-2014 03:33 PM
Location: Close....Very Close!!
Posts: 9,421

Reputation Level: 69
07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice

Participation Level: 9%
Activity: 9% Activity: 9% Activity: 9%

My Awards:
Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Member of the Month (M.O.T.M)  


/ Point Value: 10

Honorable Ride  


/ Point Value: 5

Most Valuable Poster (MVP)  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: Blown Amp Fuse(s)

Do you have a friend who will let you try his amp with your wiring?
__________________

Originally Posted by dstruc View Post
Next week Omar is taking us walking through the projects. Alex is getting raped for sure.
07maximan is offline   Send a private message to 07maximan Find more posts by 07maximan Add 07maximan to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 12-06-2011, 10:13 PM   Thread Starter #9
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
DDub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Official Member #: 2823
Last Online: 06-17-2012 01:33 AM
Location: ohio
Posts: 145

Reputation Level: 8
DDub is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Blown Amp Fuse(s)

Originally Posted by 07maximan View Post
Do you have a friend who will let you try his amp with your wiring?
I could find one i'm sure, but I'd have to pick some new fuses up on crutchfield first
DDub is offline   Send a private message to DDub Find more posts by DDub Add DDub to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 12-06-2011, 10:21 PM   #10
Senior Citizen Moderator
6th Gen Official Pops
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
07maximan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Official Member #: 2184
Last Online: 12-08-2014 03:33 PM
Location: Close....Very Close!!
Posts: 9,421

Reputation Level: 69
07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice

Participation Level: 9%
Activity: 9% Activity: 9% Activity: 9%

My Awards:
Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Member of the Month (M.O.T.M)  


/ Point Value: 10

Honorable Ride  


/ Point Value: 5

Most Valuable Poster (MVP)  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: Blown Amp Fuse(s)

Originally Posted by DDub View Post
I could find one i'm sure, but I'd have to pick some new fuses up on crutchfield first
Fuses for the amp? You should be able to get those at your auto parts store.
__________________

Originally Posted by dstruc View Post
Next week Omar is taking us walking through the projects. Alex is getting raped for sure.
07maximan is offline   Send a private message to 07maximan Find more posts by 07maximan Add 07maximan to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 12-06-2011, 10:30 PM   Thread Starter #11
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
DDub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Official Member #: 2823
Last Online: 06-17-2012 01:33 AM
Location: ohio
Posts: 145

Reputation Level: 8
DDub is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Blown Amp Fuse(s)

Originally Posted by 07maximan View Post


Fuses for the amp? You should be able to get those at your auto parts store.
they're the Maxi style amp fuse, I checked and they're not carried there..
DDub is offline   Send a private message to DDub Find more posts by DDub Add DDub to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 12-07-2011, 03:56 AM   #12
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Ascendantmax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Official Member #: 502
Last Online: 03-20-2013 08:07 PM
Location: Houston
Posts: 148

Reputation Level: 9
Ascendantmax is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 5%
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
Default Re: Blown Amp Fuse(s)

i suspect a bad amp as well, or a there's a massive short somewhere in your wires. a fuse blows because the current flowing through it exceeds the fuse's thermal load.

are the power/ground wires frayed and touching the actual metal chassis of the amp?
Ascendantmax is offline   Send a private message to Ascendantmax Find more posts by Ascendantmax Add Ascendantmax to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 12-07-2011, 04:57 AM   #13
Glendales Official 6th Gen
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Kenny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Official Member #: 2651
Last Online: 03-09-2016 03:59 AM
Location: Southern California
Posts: 5,356

Reputation Level: 35
Kenny has a spectacular aura aboutKenny has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 100%
Activity: 100% Activity: 100% Activity: 100%

My Awards:
Supporting Family Member  


/ Point Value: 10

Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Most Valuable Poster (MVP)  


/ Point Value: 10

Visit Kenny's PS3 Profile Visit Kenny's Xbox Gamercard
Default Re: Blown Amp Fuse(s)

+1^^^ I should of thought of that, are your wires exposed to metal or touching?
Kenny is offline   Send a private message to Kenny Find more posts by Kenny Add Kenny to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 12-07-2011, 04:07 PM   Thread Starter #14
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
DDub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Official Member #: 2823
Last Online: 06-17-2012 01:33 AM
Location: ohio
Posts: 145

Reputation Level: 8
DDub is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Blown Amp Fuse(s)

Originally Posted by Ascendantmax View Post
i suspect a bad amp as well, or a there's a massive short somewhere in your wires. a fuse blows because the current flowing through it exceeds the fuse's thermal load.

are the power/ground wires frayed and touching the actual metal chassis of the amp?
My power wire is fine, however I'm replacing the fuse holder because I lost the end connectors that protect the metal. I'm trying my friends JL audio amp today so I'll let you all know if it was my amp or not!
DDub is offline   Send a private message to DDub Find more posts by DDub Add DDub to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 12-08-2011, 12:44 AM   #15
Premier Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
DAlastDON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Official Member #: 89
Last Online: 02-12-2018 02:56 PM
Location: USA
Posts: 1,224

Reputation Level: 44
DAlastDON is a jewel in the roughDAlastDON is a jewel in the roughDAlastDON is a jewel in the roughDAlastDON is a jewel in the rough

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Member of the Month (M.O.T.M)  


/ Point Value: 10

Banner of The Month  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: Blown Amp Fuse(s)

The question no one asked yet. Where was everything stored after it was removed from your previous car?
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.

Inside Peanutbutter Outside Jelly
Likes: (1)
Kenny (12-08-2011)
DAlastDON is offline   Send a private message to DAlastDON Find more posts by DAlastDON Add DAlastDON to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 12-08-2011, 01:14 AM   #16
Senior Citizen Moderator
6th Gen Official Pops
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
07maximan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Official Member #: 2184
Last Online: 12-08-2014 03:33 PM
Location: Close....Very Close!!
Posts: 9,421

Reputation Level: 69
07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice

Participation Level: 9%
Activity: 9% Activity: 9% Activity: 9%

My Awards:
Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Member of the Month (M.O.T.M)  


/ Point Value: 10

Honorable Ride  


/ Point Value: 5

Most Valuable Poster (MVP)  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: Blown Amp Fuse(s)

Originally Posted by DAlastDON View Post
The question no one asked yet. Where was everything stored after it was removed from your previous car?
Unless he stored it outside or under a sink,it doesn't matter where it was stored.
__________________

Originally Posted by dstruc View Post
Next week Omar is taking us walking through the projects. Alex is getting raped for sure.
07maximan is offline   Send a private message to 07maximan Find more posts by 07maximan Add 07maximan to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 12-08-2011, 01:19 AM   #17
Glendales Official 6th Gen
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Kenny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Official Member #: 2651
Last Online: 03-09-2016 03:59 AM
Location: Southern California
Posts: 5,356

Reputation Level: 35
Kenny has a spectacular aura aboutKenny has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 100%
Activity: 100% Activity: 100% Activity: 100%

My Awards:
Supporting Family Member  


/ Point Value: 10

Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Most Valuable Poster (MVP)  


/ Point Value: 10

Visit Kenny's PS3 Profile Visit Kenny's Xbox Gamercard
Default Re: Blown Amp Fuse(s)

i just remebered 2 things

when amps blow fuses quick, either your gain is set too high, or theres internal damage on the amp, i had a rockford fosgate r1000 amp that was about 3 days old, it blew fuses 3 times in one day, i took it to my job to see what was wrong with it, and the amp was internally damaged so i had to just sent it back and got a new one, no matter how old or new an amp is, it can be defective from manufacturer, in this scenario i would just recommend getting a new amp bro and save yourself from big headaches
Kenny is offline   Send a private message to Kenny Find more posts by Kenny Add Kenny to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 12-08-2011, 04:36 PM   Thread Starter #18
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
DDub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Official Member #: 2823
Last Online: 06-17-2012 01:33 AM
Location: ohio
Posts: 145

Reputation Level: 8
DDub is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Blown Amp Fuse(s)

Originally Posted by DAlastDON View Post
The question no one asked yet. Where was everything stored after it was removed from your previous car?
It was stored in my house in my room, so that shouldn't be a problem! and everything else besides the sub itself is brand new, and probably shouldn't matter!


Originally Posted by kaygmaxima View Post
i just remebered 2 things

when amps blow fuses quick, either your gain is set too high, or theres internal damage on the amp, i had a rockford fosgate r1000 amp that was about 3 days old, it blew fuses 3 times in one day, i took it to my job to see what was wrong with it, and the amp was internally damaged so i had to just sent it back and got a new one, no matter how old or new an amp is, it can be defective from manufacturer, in this scenario i would just recommend getting a new amp bro and save yourself from big headaches

Yeah I'm going to see if my buddy will let me take his Rockford amp, I'm tryin it tonight and if it works I'm definitely just buying it from him. American Legacy wants me to pay shipping to their store and $15 return shipping to replace a crappy amp that I paid less than double that for... definitely not worth that.

Last edited by DDub; 12-08-2011 at 04:39 PM.
DDub is offline   Send a private message to DDub Find more posts by DDub Add DDub to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 12-08-2011, 09:43 PM   Thread Starter #19
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
DDub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Official Member #: 2823
Last Online: 06-17-2012 01:33 AM
Location: ohio
Posts: 145

Reputation Level: 8
DDub is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Blown Amp Fuse(s)

So I got my buddys amp, it's a Rockford Fosgate P4004. Sadly it didn't work either, so it's something with my wiring apparently but I don't know what. All of the fuses are fine, battery is grounded, the amp is grounded, no wires are touching, the wire from battery to fuse holder is only 12" now. Still have no idea... any ideas..?
DDub is offline   Send a private message to DDub Find more posts by DDub Add DDub to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 12-08-2011, 09:53 PM   #20
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Ascendantmax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Official Member #: 502
Last Online: 03-20-2013 08:07 PM
Location: Houston
Posts: 148

Reputation Level: 9
Ascendantmax is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 5%
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
Default Re: Blown Amp Fuse(s)

i would just double check everything. start from the battery terminal and work your way back. make sure no wire strands are exposed and what-not.
__________________
Audio: Eclipse CD5100, Arc Audio 1500-XXK, Arc Audio 4150-XXK, DLS Iridium 8.3i, DLS Nobelium 12, Arc Audio XEQ Equalizer, Boston Acoustics SL65, Custom A-Pillars, Hushmat, Cascade Audio Deflex, Kicker Hyperflex, Audison ST Interconnects.

Performance: Berk Tech intake - Cory's BOP - Racingline Y-Pipe - Greddy SP2 Cat-back - Progress Sport - KYB - Viper 791XV alarm - 5000k HID headlights and fogs - T-Rex billet grill - IPCW LED tails - 20% tint on sides, 5% tint back window - Suede headliner
Ascendantmax is offline   Send a private message to Ascendantmax Find more posts by Ascendantmax Add Ascendantmax to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 12-08-2011, 09:53 PM   #21
Moderator
Flipadelphia
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
06BlckMax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Official Member #: 662
Last Online: Today 05:50 PM
Location: IG: 06BlckMax
Posts: 6,827

Reputation Level: 55
06BlckMax is a jewel in the rough06BlckMax is a jewel in the rough06BlckMax is a jewel in the rough06BlckMax is a jewel in the rough

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Visit 06BlckMax's PS3 Profile
Default Re: Blown Amp Fuse(s)

I would try a different sub I had a problem with my amp to one time it kept going into protect mode and turned out my sub was the problem, a short im guessing
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.

------See How It Was Built------
06BlckMax is online now   Send a private message to 06BlckMax Find more posts by 06BlckMax Add 06BlckMax to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 12-08-2011, 10:18 PM   Thread Starter #22
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
DDub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Official Member #: 2823
Last Online: 06-17-2012 01:33 AM
Location: ohio
Posts: 145

Reputation Level: 8
DDub is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Blown Amp Fuse(s)

Originally Posted by 06BlckMax View Post
I would try a different sub I had a problem with my amp to one time it kept going into protect mode and turned out my sub was the problem, a short im guessing
That's my next step, but would it really blow a fuse?
DDub is offline   Send a private message to DDub Find more posts by DDub Add DDub to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 12-08-2011, 10:22 PM   #23
Moderator
Flipadelphia
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
06BlckMax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Official Member #: 662
Last Online: Today 05:50 PM
Location: IG: 06BlckMax
Posts: 6,827

Reputation Level: 55
06BlckMax is a jewel in the rough06BlckMax is a jewel in the rough06BlckMax is a jewel in the rough06BlckMax is a jewel in the rough

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Visit 06BlckMax's PS3 Profile
Default Re: Blown Amp Fuse(s)

ya I think it would be possible worth a try pop 2 wire and put them in a different sub im sure you know someone with a sub you could borrow for 10 seconds
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.

------See How It Was Built------
06BlckMax is online now   Send a private message to 06BlckMax Find more posts by 06BlckMax Add 06BlckMax to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 12-08-2011, 10:46 PM   Thread Starter #24
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
DDub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Official Member #: 2823
Last Online: 06-17-2012 01:33 AM
Location: ohio
Posts: 145

Reputation Level: 8
DDub is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Blown Amp Fuse(s)

Originally Posted by 06BlckMax View Post
ya I think it would be possible worth a try pop 2 wire and put them in a different sub im sure you know someone with a sub you could borrow for 10 seconds
I guess that's the next step then
DDub is offline   Send a private message to DDub Find more posts by DDub Add DDub to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 12-08-2011, 11:23 PM   #25
Senior Citizen Moderator
6th Gen Official Pops
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
07maximan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Official Member #: 2184
Last Online: 12-08-2014 03:33 PM
Location: Close....Very Close!!
Posts: 9,421

Reputation Level: 69
07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice

Participation Level: 9%
Activity: 9% Activity: 9% Activity: 9%

My Awards:
Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Member of the Month (M.O.T.M)  


/ Point Value: 10

Honorable Ride  


/ Point Value: 5

Most Valuable Poster (MVP)  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: Blown Amp Fuse(s)

Do this...connect a short length of positive and negative wire directly to your battery. If it works ok it will be something wrong with your positive wire. Maybe a small crack in the outer sleeve. What gauge of wire are you using?
__________________

Originally Posted by dstruc View Post
Next week Omar is taking us walking through the projects. Alex is getting raped for sure.
07maximan is offline   Send a private message to 07maximan Find more posts by 07maximan Add 07maximan to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 Members And 1 Guests)
 
Thread Tools


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:06 PM.