Register My Garage Arcade V.I.P Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read
Go Back   my6thgen.org - Maxima Forum > my6thgen.org - Very Useful Information > Ask Your Technical & General Questions > Audio, Video & Electronics

Reply
ExclamationThis thread is more than 150+ days old. If you still feel it is necessary to bump this thread, you have the permission to do so. Please click the checkbox below and post your reply.
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-28-2013, 10:18 PM   Thread Starter #1
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Jingiko's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Official Member #: 220
Last Online: 06-29-2015 02:39 PM
Posts: 320

Reputation Level: 9
Jingiko is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 4%
Activity: 4% Activity: 4% Activity: 4%
Default Amp Hook-Up Wire Kit Suggestions

So out of the entire car the only thing that is taboo to me is AMPS and aftermarket speakers.

Main question is whats a good AMP hook-up wire kit to buy?

I was looking at this on ebay
VM Audio SRSK4B 4 Gauge GA Car Amplifier Amp Installation Wiring Wire Kit RCA | eBay

Im going to buy a sub/box/amp right now but I want to know what wire kit ill need.

So do I just route the huge 4gauge wires through my firewall by drilling a hole?
Also how do you guys hide wire tuck 4gauge wires under your carpet to the front car battery?


Last question is for speakers and tweeters (bose) replacement do i just remove the speakers in the doors and put the new ones in (ie alpine/pioneer/etc) and do I use the existing Bose wire leads? (crimp/solder may be required) Or do I run new wires through the doors etc?
Do I need some kinda template to mount aftermarket speakers?

Lastly where are the Bose amps located?
Once I install my new sub/speakers etc. can I unplug and take out my factory Bose Amps and also can I remove the factory Bose Subs in the deck?

And capacitors! what the hell is that? Ive done some light googling and its overwhelming.
The type of amps/subs I need are already picked out

I guess in a nutshell all i need is advice on
speakers Pioneer
tweeters Pioneer
hook-up wire kit
capacitor?
anything else?
Jingiko is offline   Send a private message to Jingiko Find more posts by Jingiko Add Jingiko to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 04-29-2013, 10:32 AM   #2
Glendales Official 6th Gen
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Kenny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Official Member #: 2651
Last Online: 03-09-2016 03:59 AM
Location: Southern California
Posts: 5,356

Reputation Level: 35
Kenny has a spectacular aura aboutKenny has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 100%
Activity: 100% Activity: 100% Activity: 100%

My Awards:
Supporting Family Member  


/ Point Value: 10

Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Most Valuable Poster (MVP)  


/ Point Value: 10

Visit Kenny's PS3 Profile Visit Kenny's Xbox Gamercard
Default Re: Amp Hook-Up Wire Kit Suggestions

Speakers you might have too run new wire considering the Bose is a different ohm rating.
Amp wire kit, I've had good experiences with Knu Conceptz,Rockford Fosgate and DB Link, those are all I've ever used and all true 4 gauge.
Capacitors-Dont waste your time, just get a better battery (In my opinion), some people like them some people don't, not really necessary though unless you have the money for it then go for it. What it does is it uses stores energy and feeds it to your amp to create less of a draw from your cars battery, eliminating headlight dimming etc.
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.


Follow Me On Instagram/Twitter:@0mg350z
Likes: (1)
Jingiko (04-29-2013)
Kenny is offline   Send a private message to Kenny Find more posts by Kenny Add Kenny to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 04-29-2013, 01:35 PM   Thread Starter #3
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Jingiko's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Official Member #: 220
Last Online: 06-29-2015 02:39 PM
Posts: 320

Reputation Level: 9
Jingiko is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 4%
Activity: 4% Activity: 4% Activity: 4%
Default Re: Amp Hook-Up Wire Kit Suggestions

Kenny to the rescue!

Thanks, ill look into how much caps go for, im currently running a red top duralast battery
not a optima, since they have such great warranties here in nyc, just drop it off at autozone and if it fails I get a new battery, even if it doesnt fail and i slip the kid a $10 new battery :P

Where did you run the wires through when you had the max?
All through the center?

And do i HAVE to run the 4gauge wires thru my firewall by cutting a hole?
I mean i have a small hole for 2 wires but 4gauge is huge, even with a grommet and silicone.
Jingiko is offline   Send a private message to Jingiko Find more posts by Jingiko Add Jingiko to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 04-29-2013, 02:01 PM   #4
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Nathaniel216's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Official Member #: 7491
Last Online: 10-05-2017 11:05 PM
Location: M.L.
Posts: 145

Reputation Level: 7
Nathaniel216 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Amp Hook-Up Wire Kit Suggestions

Originally Posted by Jingiko View Post
Kenny to the rescue!

Thanks, ill look into how much caps go for, im currently running a red top duralast battery
not a optima, since they have such great warranties here in nyc, just drop it off at autozone and if it fails I get a new battery, even if it doesnt fail and i slip the kid a $10 new battery :P

Where did you run the wires through when you had the max?
All through the center?

And do i HAVE to run the 4gauge wires thru my firewall by cutting a hole?
I mean i have a small hole for 2 wires but 4gauge is huge, even with a grommet and silicone.
You don't have to run it through the center. That would be the hard way. You can run it through the side door kick panels and there is a hole in your firewall on the driver side that you can put your power wire thru so you don't have to cut a hole. that's where I put it. I can take a pic for you if you'd like
Likes: (1)
Jingiko (04-29-2013)
Nathaniel216 is offline   Send a private message to Nathaniel216 Find more posts by Nathaniel216 Add Nathaniel216 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 04-29-2013, 02:54 PM   Thread Starter #5
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Jingiko's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Official Member #: 220
Last Online: 06-29-2015 02:39 PM
Posts: 320

Reputation Level: 9
Jingiko is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 4%
Activity: 4% Activity: 4% Activity: 4%
Default Re: Amp Hook-Up Wire Kit Suggestions

Originally Posted by Nathaniel216 View Post
You don't have to run it through the center. That would be the hard way. You can run it through the side door kick panels and there is a hole in your firewall on the driver side that you can put your power wire thru so you don't have to cut a hole. that's where I put it. I can take a pic for you if you'd like
Is it right by the driver door? If so I think I know where it is, so theoretically i should run a ground down the pass side and power down the driver side right?

Id route the ground behind the radio to the front pass side then down to the back?
Jingiko is offline   Send a private message to Jingiko Find more posts by Jingiko Add Jingiko to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 04-29-2013, 03:14 PM   #6
Glendales Official 6th Gen
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Kenny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Official Member #: 2651
Last Online: 03-09-2016 03:59 AM
Location: Southern California
Posts: 5,356

Reputation Level: 35
Kenny has a spectacular aura aboutKenny has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 100%
Activity: 100% Activity: 100% Activity: 100%

My Awards:
Supporting Family Member  


/ Point Value: 10

Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Most Valuable Poster (MVP)  


/ Point Value: 10

Visit Kenny's PS3 Profile Visit Kenny's Xbox Gamercard
Default Re: Amp Hook-Up Wire Kit Suggestions

Your ground should be no more than 3 feet away from your amp. So if you're mounting your amp in the trunk, ground your wire to the floor of your trunk where the metal is
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.


Follow Me On Instagram/Twitter:@0mg350z
Kenny is offline   Send a private message to Kenny Find more posts by Kenny Add Kenny to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 04-29-2013, 04:30 PM   Thread Starter #7
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Jingiko's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Official Member #: 220
Last Online: 06-29-2015 02:39 PM
Posts: 320

Reputation Level: 9
Jingiko is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 4%
Activity: 4% Activity: 4% Activity: 4%
Default Re: Amp Hook-Up Wire Kit Suggestions

Originally Posted by Kenny View Post
Your ground should be no more than 3 feet away from your amp. So if you're mounting your amp in the trunk, ground your wire to the floor of your trunk where the metal is
Thanks thats what I was going to do with both the amp leads.
but running the negative from the battery to the amp should be ran from the pass side correct? and run the +12v from the driver side.
Jingiko is offline   Send a private message to Jingiko Find more posts by Jingiko Add Jingiko to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 04-29-2013, 05:19 PM   #8
Glendales Official 6th Gen
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Kenny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Official Member #: 2651
Last Online: 03-09-2016 03:59 AM
Location: Southern California
Posts: 5,356

Reputation Level: 35
Kenny has a spectacular aura aboutKenny has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 100%
Activity: 100% Activity: 100% Activity: 100%

My Awards:
Supporting Family Member  


/ Point Value: 10

Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Most Valuable Poster (MVP)  


/ Point Value: 10

Visit Kenny's PS3 Profile Visit Kenny's Xbox Gamercard
Default Re: Amp Hook-Up Wire Kit Suggestions

No you're not suppose to run the negative from the battery to the amp. What you're supposed to run is power/remote on one side and on the opposite side your RCA's that go behind the Headunit. Ground goes somewhere bolted in the trunk like I said.
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.


Follow Me On Instagram/Twitter:@0mg350z
Likes: (1)
Jingiko (04-29-2013)
Kenny is offline   Send a private message to Kenny Find more posts by Kenny Add Kenny to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 04-29-2013, 05:58 PM   #9
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Jony09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Official Member #: 3079
Last Online: 10-08-2014 03:48 PM
Location: Houston
Posts: 385

Reputation Level: 8
Jony09 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Amp Hook-Up Wire Kit Suggestions

I would suggest you do a little research before you begin as it seems your new at audio. Not to complicated but is better to have a little knowledge and not burn anything. Good luck on your install.

Posted Via Tapatalk 2
Jony09 is offline   Send a private message to Jony09 Find more posts by Jony09 Add Jony09 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 04-29-2013, 06:11 PM   #10
Senior Citizen Moderator
6th Gen Official Pops
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
07maximan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Official Member #: 2184
Last Online: 12-08-2014 03:33 PM
Location: Close....Very Close!!
Posts: 9,421

Reputation Level: 69
07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice

Participation Level: 9%
Activity: 9% Activity: 9% Activity: 9%

My Awards:
Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Member of the Month (M.O.T.M)  


/ Point Value: 10

Honorable Ride  


/ Point Value: 5

Most Valuable Poster (MVP)  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: Amp Hook-Up Wire Kit Suggestions

Ive been kind of following this thread and I agree with Jony09. I think you might be trying to do too much with little or no knowledge. Maybe try to find a local car audio shop you can support. You help them they help you. Generally speaking in my opinion, if you cant run an amp wire...maybe you shouldnt. If you dont know what your doing you will start a fire.
__________________

Originally Posted by dstruc View Post
Next week Omar is taking us walking through the projects. Alex is getting raped for sure.
Likes: (2)
1hawaii50 (04-29-2013), Jingiko (04-29-2013)
07maximan is offline   Send a private message to 07maximan Find more posts by 07maximan Add 07maximan to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 04-29-2013, 06:33 PM   #11
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Nathaniel216's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Official Member #: 7491
Last Online: 10-05-2017 11:05 PM
Location: M.L.
Posts: 145

Reputation Level: 7
Nathaniel216 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Amp Hook-Up Wire Kit Suggestions

Originally Posted by Jingiko View Post
Is it right by the driver door? If so I think I know where it is, so theoretically i should run a ground down the pass side and power down the driver side right?

Id route the ground behind the radio to the front pass side then down to the back?
Jingiko Kenny is right. You don't and not suppose to ground your cable from your battery to your amp. It's your amp ground cable to the frame in your trunk. And your Power cable from the battery to the amp needs to be away from your RCA's when your routing your wires
Nathaniel216 is offline   Send a private message to Nathaniel216 Find more posts by Nathaniel216 Add Nathaniel216 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 04-29-2013, 06:49 PM   Thread Starter #12
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Jingiko's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Official Member #: 220
Last Online: 06-29-2015 02:39 PM
Posts: 320

Reputation Level: 9
Jingiko is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 4%
Activity: 4% Activity: 4% Activity: 4%
Default Re: Amp Hook-Up Wire Kit Suggestions

You guys are right about the wiring.

I will however just route a power wire from the engine to the trunk down the driver side
and rca cables from the hu to the trunk down the pass side.
all disconnected, and ill have someone knowledgeable connect them for me.

Thanks guys!
Jingiko is offline   Send a private message to Jingiko Find more posts by Jingiko Add Jingiko to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 04-29-2013, 09:38 PM   #13
Glendales Official 6th Gen
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Kenny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Official Member #: 2651
Last Online: 03-09-2016 03:59 AM
Location: Southern California
Posts: 5,356

Reputation Level: 35
Kenny has a spectacular aura aboutKenny has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 100%
Activity: 100% Activity: 100% Activity: 100%

My Awards:
Supporting Family Member  


/ Point Value: 10

Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Most Valuable Poster (MVP)  


/ Point Value: 10

Visit Kenny's PS3 Profile Visit Kenny's Xbox Gamercard
Default Re: Amp Hook-Up Wire Kit Suggestions

DO NOT FORGET
EVERYTIME you work on the cars electrical DISCONNECT THE NEGATIVE BARTERY TERMINAL!
You'll thank me later
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.


Follow Me On Instagram/Twitter:@0mg350z
Kenny is offline   Send a private message to Kenny Find more posts by Kenny Add Kenny to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 04-29-2013, 09:46 PM   #14
Senior Citizen Moderator
6th Gen Official Pops
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
07maximan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Official Member #: 2184
Last Online: 12-08-2014 03:33 PM
Location: Close....Very Close!!
Posts: 9,421

Reputation Level: 69
07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice

Participation Level: 9%
Activity: 9% Activity: 9% Activity: 9%

My Awards:
Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Member of the Month (M.O.T.M)  


/ Point Value: 10

Honorable Ride  


/ Point Value: 5

Most Valuable Poster (MVP)  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: Amp Hook-Up Wire Kit Suggestions

Originally Posted by Kenny View Post
DO NOT FORGET
EVERYTIME you work on the cars electrical DISCONNECT THE NEGATIVE BARTERY TERMINAL!
You'll thank me later
This is one thing I never do...its a good idea I just never do it. Just be careful not to touch live wires.
__________________

Originally Posted by dstruc View Post
Next week Omar is taking us walking through the projects. Alex is getting raped for sure.
07maximan is offline   Send a private message to 07maximan Find more posts by 07maximan Add 07maximan to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 04-29-2013, 10:58 PM   #15
Senior Moderator

my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
1hawaii50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Official Member #: 63
Last Online: 11-03-2014 08:34 PM
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 13,276

Reputation Level: 58
1hawaii50 has a spectacular aura about1hawaii50 has a spectacular aura about1hawaii50 has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Supporting Family Member  


/ Point Value: 10

Member of the Month (M.O.T.M)  


/ Point Value: 10

Most Valuable Poster (MVP)  


/ Point Value: 10

V.I.P Member  


/ Point Value: 15

Spotlight Ride Of The Month  


/ Point Value: 5

Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Official Ride  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: Amp Hook-Up Wire Kit Suggestions

Check out KnuKonceptz for wiring...decent prices and great wire.
__________________
1hawaii50 is offline   Send a private message to 1hawaii50 Find more posts by 1hawaii50 Add 1hawaii50 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 04-30-2013, 01:03 AM   #16
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
maxi91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Official Member #: 4372
Last Online: 08-25-2014 12:13 AM
Posts: 45

Reputation Level: 0
maxi91 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Amp Hook-Up Wire Kit Suggestions

Hit me up if u need a install im located in ny queens i can answer all ur questions and teach u a lil bit while installing lol
maxi91 is offline   Send a private message to maxi91 Find more posts by maxi91 Add maxi91 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 Members And 1 Guests)
 
Thread Tools


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:10 AM.