Register My Garage Arcade V.I.P Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read
Go Back   my6thgen.org - Maxima Forum > my6thgen.org - Very Useful Information > Ask Your Technical & General Questions > Audio, Video & Electronics

Reply
ExclamationThis thread is more than 150+ days old. If you still feel it is necessary to bump this thread, you have the permission to do so. Please click the checkbox below and post your reply.
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-08-2012, 09:00 AM   Thread Starter #1
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
eribs4e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Official Member #: 485
Last Online: 05-09-2013 08:54 AM
Posts: 39

Reputation Level: 0
eribs4e is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 2%
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
Default Aftermarket Radio....Sort Of?

I'm working on installing a PC in the max and I've got question regarding the audio.

I've got the bose without navigation and intend on keeping all the speakers/amp etc and only remove the factory radio. I had bought the PAC AUX adapter to connect the audio system to the pc using RCA cables so I can use the SAT button control.

If I use the PAC AUX adapter as intended, will the system (speakers and amp) power up? Is there something else I'll need or am missing?
eribs4e is offline   Send a private message to eribs4e Find more posts by eribs4e Add eribs4e to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 03-08-2012, 09:06 AM   #2
Executive Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Latinmaxima's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Official Member #: 1924
Last Online: 05-05-2016 04:32 PM
Location: Richmond, KY
Posts: 5,588

Reputation Level: 24
Latinmaxima is on a distinguished road

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Visit Latinmaxima's Facebook Visit Latinmaxima's PS3 Profile Visit Latinmaxima's YouTube Visit Latinmaxima's Xbox Gamercard
Default Re: Aftermarket Radio....sort of?

I am pretty sure you need something to act as a head unit still. Alpine has a receiver made simpy for powering audio. Someone else has on on here. I will try to find it and link back.

The sat button won't work without the factory head unit.
__________________
2004 Nissan Maxima SE<(^_^<)Samsung Galaxy Nexus(>^_^)> Motorola Xoom
Click the image to open in full size.
Latinmaxima is offline   Send a private message to Latinmaxima Find more posts by Latinmaxima Add Latinmaxima to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 03-08-2012, 09:38 AM   Thread Starter #3
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
eribs4e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Official Member #: 485
Last Online: 05-09-2013 08:54 AM
Posts: 39

Reputation Level: 0
eribs4e is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 2%
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
Default Re: Aftermarket Radio....sort of?

Originally Posted by latinismo View Post
I am pretty sure you need something to act as a head unit still. Alpine has a receiver made simpy for powering audio. Someone else has on on here. I will try to find it and link back.

The sat button won't work without the factory head unit.
That's what I was afraid of. My original intention was to keep the factory radio...until I actually got in there and realized that the radio/cd unit were a single unit. Let me know if you find that receiver for powering audio.
eribs4e is offline   Send a private message to eribs4e Find more posts by eribs4e Add eribs4e to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 03-08-2012, 09:43 AM   #4
Executive Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Latinmaxima's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Official Member #: 1924
Last Online: 05-05-2016 04:32 PM
Location: Richmond, KY
Posts: 5,588

Reputation Level: 24
Latinmaxima is on a distinguished road

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Visit Latinmaxima's Facebook Visit Latinmaxima's PS3 Profile Visit Latinmaxima's YouTube Visit Latinmaxima's Xbox Gamercard
Default Re: Aftermarket Radio....sort of?

The other option if you want to keep the SAT button is use a USA SPEC PA-15 and run the audio form the car pc to that. Have you considered that?
__________________
2004 Nissan Maxima SE<(^_^<)Samsung Galaxy Nexus(>^_^)> Motorola Xoom
Click the image to open in full size.
Latinmaxima is offline   Send a private message to Latinmaxima Find more posts by Latinmaxima Add Latinmaxima to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 03-08-2012, 10:01 AM   Thread Starter #5
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
eribs4e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Official Member #: 485
Last Online: 05-09-2013 08:54 AM
Posts: 39

Reputation Level: 0
eribs4e is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 2%
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
Default Re: Aftermarket Radio....sort of?

Originally Posted by latinismo View Post
The other option if you want to keep the SAT button is use a USA SPEC PA-15 and run the audio form the car pc to that. Have you considered that?
How is that USA Spec unit any different than the PAC unit I have...PAC ISNI531.

Pac-Audio.com Product Details | iPod Integration for your car and More by Pac-Audio - Connecting you to the future
eribs4e is offline   Send a private message to eribs4e Find more posts by eribs4e Add eribs4e to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 03-08-2012, 11:10 AM   #6
Executive Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Latinmaxima's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Official Member #: 1924
Last Online: 05-05-2016 04:32 PM
Location: Richmond, KY
Posts: 5,588

Reputation Level: 24
Latinmaxima is on a distinguished road

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Visit Latinmaxima's Facebook Visit Latinmaxima's PS3 Profile Visit Latinmaxima's YouTube Visit Latinmaxima's Xbox Gamercard
Default Re: Aftermarket Radio....Sort Of?

Nevermind. You can use that and the factory radio and be all set. That should let you use the SAT button and you simply need the screen in place of the info screen I would assume. Sorry. I saw PAC and thought steering wheel controls. Sorry.
__________________
2004 Nissan Maxima SE<(^_^<)Samsung Galaxy Nexus(>^_^)> Motorola Xoom
Click the image to open in full size.
Latinmaxima is offline   Send a private message to Latinmaxima Find more posts by Latinmaxima Add Latinmaxima to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 03-08-2012, 11:15 AM   Thread Starter #7
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
eribs4e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Official Member #: 485
Last Online: 05-09-2013 08:54 AM
Posts: 39

Reputation Level: 0
eribs4e is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 2%
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
Default Re: Aftermarket Radio....Sort Of?

Originally Posted by latinismo View Post
Nevermind. You can use that and the factory radio and be all set. That should let you use the SAT button and you simply need the screen in place of the info screen I would assume. Sorry. I saw PAC and thought steering wheel controls. Sorry.
lol...no problem. I really appreciate the help.

So you think I should be able to just wire up the PAC adapter I have and connect my rca's and everything should work fine?
eribs4e is offline   Send a private message to eribs4e Find more posts by eribs4e Add eribs4e to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 03-08-2012, 12:00 PM   #8
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Hmax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Official Member #: 158
Last Online: 05-10-2018 02:35 PM
Location: Da Bronx, NY
Posts: 5,926

Reputation Level: 32
Hmax will become famous soon enoughHmax will become famous soon enough

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Most Valuable Poster (MVP)  


/ Point Value: 10

Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Default Re: Aftermarket Radio....Sort Of?

^^^^^^ only one way to find out, try it
__________________
Originally Posted by hero782 View Post
Low & Slow!!! And I stop at potholes lol
Click the image to open in full size.

Want 12HP More?- CLICK HERE
Hmax is offline   Send a private message to Hmax Find more posts by Hmax Add Hmax to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 03-08-2012, 12:51 PM   Thread Starter #9
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
eribs4e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Official Member #: 485
Last Online: 05-09-2013 08:54 AM
Posts: 39

Reputation Level: 0
eribs4e is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 2%
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
Default Re: Aftermarket Radio....Sort Of?

Originally Posted by Hmax View Post
^^^^^^ only one way to find out, try it
That's the plan tonight after work...I'll definitely post back what I find.
eribs4e is offline   Send a private message to eribs4e Find more posts by eribs4e Add eribs4e to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 03-08-2012, 01:02 PM   #10
Executive Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Latinmaxima's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Official Member #: 1924
Last Online: 05-05-2016 04:32 PM
Location: Richmond, KY
Posts: 5,588

Reputation Level: 24
Latinmaxima is on a distinguished road

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Visit Latinmaxima's Facebook Visit Latinmaxima's PS3 Profile Visit Latinmaxima's YouTube Visit Latinmaxima's Xbox Gamercard
Default Re: Aftermarket Radio....Sort Of?

Yes. As long as the PAC plugs into the radio and you program it to give you the aux access it will work. Do you already have the screen in?
__________________
2004 Nissan Maxima SE<(^_^<)Samsung Galaxy Nexus(>^_^)> Motorola Xoom
Click the image to open in full size.
Latinmaxima is offline   Send a private message to Latinmaxima Find more posts by Latinmaxima Add Latinmaxima to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 03-08-2012, 01:32 PM   Thread Starter #11
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
eribs4e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Official Member #: 485
Last Online: 05-09-2013 08:54 AM
Posts: 39

Reputation Level: 0
eribs4e is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 2%
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
Default Re: Aftermarket Radio....Sort Of?

Originally Posted by latinismo View Post
Yes. As long as the PAC plugs into the radio and you program it to give you the aux access it will work. Do you already have the screen in?
The screen is ready but not in yet. I'm going to mess around with it tonight. I'm not sure how much room I've got in behind where the radio used to be to fit the radio behind the screen. Gonna see what I can rig up tonight.
eribs4e is offline   Send a private message to eribs4e Find more posts by eribs4e Add eribs4e to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 03-08-2012, 02:32 PM   #12
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Hmax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Official Member #: 158
Last Online: 05-10-2018 02:35 PM
Location: Da Bronx, NY
Posts: 5,926

Reputation Level: 32
Hmax will become famous soon enoughHmax will become famous soon enough

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Most Valuable Poster (MVP)  


/ Point Value: 10

Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Default Re: Aftermarket Radio....Sort Of?

keep us posted
__________________
Originally Posted by hero782 View Post
Low & Slow!!! And I stop at potholes lol
Click the image to open in full size.

Want 12HP More?- CLICK HERE
Hmax is offline   Send a private message to Hmax Find more posts by Hmax Add Hmax to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 03-08-2012, 03:08 PM   #13
Executive Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Latinmaxima's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Official Member #: 1924
Last Online: 05-05-2016 04:32 PM
Location: Richmond, KY
Posts: 5,588

Reputation Level: 24
Latinmaxima is on a distinguished road

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Visit Latinmaxima's Facebook Visit Latinmaxima's PS3 Profile Visit Latinmaxima's YouTube Visit Latinmaxima's Xbox Gamercard
Default Re: Aftermarket Radio....Sort Of?

Take pics while it is apart. Curious to see what options you have for mounting depending on your equipment.
__________________
2004 Nissan Maxima SE<(^_^<)Samsung Galaxy Nexus(>^_^)> Motorola Xoom
Click the image to open in full size.
Latinmaxima is offline   Send a private message to Latinmaxima Find more posts by Latinmaxima Add Latinmaxima to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 Members And 1 Guests)
 
Thread Tools


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:21 PM.