Register My Garage Arcade V.I.P Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read
Go Back   my6thgen.org - Maxima Forum > my6thgen.org - Very Useful Information > Ask Your Technical & General Questions > Audio, Video & Electronics

Reply
ExclamationThis thread is more than 150+ days old. If you still feel it is necessary to bump this thread, you have the permission to do so. Please click the checkbox below and post your reply.
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-07-2012, 02:06 PM   Thread Starter #1
Premier Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
H4X1MA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Official Member #: 265
Last Online: 10-20-2014 06:00 PM
Posts: 1,073

Reputation Level: 20
H4X1MA will become famous soon enough

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Aftermarket Amp Install

07 SL w/Bose

If I wanted to upgrade my bose amp to aftermarket, what is involved. Local said I would probably have to rewire everything from the doors to the new amp. Sound right?

He also said something about most newer cars using a plug in the doors which is a pain in the ass to deal with, do our cars do that?
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.
H4X1MA is offline   Send a private message to H4X1MA Find more posts by H4X1MA Add H4X1MA to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 03-07-2012, 02:18 PM   #2
Senior Citizen Moderator
6th Gen Official Pops
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
07maximan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Official Member #: 2184
Last Online: 12-08-2014 03:33 PM
Location: Close....Very Close!!
Posts: 9,421

Reputation Level: 69
07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice

Participation Level: 9%
Activity: 9% Activity: 9% Activity: 9%

My Awards:
Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Member of the Month (M.O.T.M)  


/ Point Value: 10

Honorable Ride  


/ Point Value: 5

Most Valuable Poster (MVP)  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: Aftermarket Amp Install

Youre talking about replacing the speakers too,right?
__________________

Originally Posted by dstruc View Post
Next week Omar is taking us walking through the projects. Alex is getting raped for sure.
07maximan is offline   Send a private message to 07maximan Find more posts by 07maximan Add 07maximan to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 03-07-2012, 03:21 PM   Thread Starter #3
Premier Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
H4X1MA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Official Member #: 265
Last Online: 10-20-2014 06:00 PM
Posts: 1,073

Reputation Level: 20
H4X1MA will become famous soon enough

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Aftermarket Amp Install

Originally Posted by 07maximan View Post
Youre talking about replacing the speakers too,right?
Replaced my speakers with EFX last year, so no need to do those again.
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.
H4X1MA is offline   Send a private message to H4X1MA Find more posts by H4X1MA Add H4X1MA to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 03-07-2012, 03:24 PM   #4
Senior Citizen Moderator
6th Gen Official Pops
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
07maximan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Official Member #: 2184
Last Online: 12-08-2014 03:33 PM
Location: Close....Very Close!!
Posts: 9,421

Reputation Level: 69
07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice

Participation Level: 9%
Activity: 9% Activity: 9% Activity: 9%

My Awards:
Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Member of the Month (M.O.T.M)  


/ Point Value: 10

Honorable Ride  


/ Point Value: 5

Most Valuable Poster (MVP)  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: Aftermarket Amp Install

Originally Posted by H4X1MA View Post
Replaced my speakers with EFX last year, so no need to do those again.
So then all you need to do is run your speaker wires from the speakers to the amp along with your power,ground and remote wire...easy squeezy!!
__________________

Originally Posted by dstruc View Post
Next week Omar is taking us walking through the projects. Alex is getting raped for sure.
07maximan is offline   Send a private message to 07maximan Find more posts by 07maximan Add 07maximan to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 03-07-2012, 03:26 PM   #5
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Hmax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Official Member #: 158
Last Online: 05-10-2018 02:35 PM
Location: Da Bronx, NY
Posts: 5,926

Reputation Level: 32
Hmax will become famous soon enoughHmax will become famous soon enough

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Most Valuable Poster (MVP)  


/ Point Value: 10

Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Default Re: Aftermarket Amp Install

^^^^^ this
__________________
Originally Posted by hero782 View Post
Low & Slow!!! And I stop at potholes lol
Click the image to open in full size.

Want 12HP More?- CLICK HERE
Hmax is offline   Send a private message to Hmax Find more posts by Hmax Add Hmax to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 03-07-2012, 03:33 PM   #6
Senior Citizen Moderator
6th Gen Official Pops
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
07maximan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Official Member #: 2184
Last Online: 12-08-2014 03:33 PM
Location: Close....Very Close!!
Posts: 9,421

Reputation Level: 69
07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice

Participation Level: 9%
Activity: 9% Activity: 9% Activity: 9%

My Awards:
Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Member of the Month (M.O.T.M)  


/ Point Value: 10

Honorable Ride  


/ Point Value: 5

Most Valuable Poster (MVP)  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: Aftermarket Amp Install

Oh I forgot about RCA's. Of course youll need those as well.
__________________

Originally Posted by dstruc View Post
Next week Omar is taking us walking through the projects. Alex is getting raped for sure.
07maximan is offline   Send a private message to 07maximan Find more posts by 07maximan Add 07maximan to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 03-07-2012, 03:40 PM   Thread Starter #7
Premier Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
H4X1MA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Official Member #: 265
Last Online: 10-20-2014 06:00 PM
Posts: 1,073

Reputation Level: 20
H4X1MA will become famous soon enough

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Aftermarket Amp Install

But do I have to run new wires from the doors, or is there another option?
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.
H4X1MA is offline   Send a private message to H4X1MA Find more posts by H4X1MA Add H4X1MA to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 03-07-2012, 03:49 PM   #8
Senior Citizen Moderator
6th Gen Official Pops
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
07maximan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Official Member #: 2184
Last Online: 12-08-2014 03:33 PM
Location: Close....Very Close!!
Posts: 9,421

Reputation Level: 69
07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice

Participation Level: 9%
Activity: 9% Activity: 9% Activity: 9%

My Awards:
Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Member of the Month (M.O.T.M)  


/ Point Value: 10

Honorable Ride  


/ Point Value: 5

Most Valuable Poster (MVP)  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: Aftermarket Amp Install

Originally Posted by H4X1MA View Post
But do I have to run new wires from the doors, or is there another option?
Nope, you have to run new wires.
__________________

Originally Posted by dstruc View Post
Next week Omar is taking us walking through the projects. Alex is getting raped for sure.
07maximan is offline   Send a private message to 07maximan Find more posts by 07maximan Add 07maximan to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 03-07-2012, 03:52 PM   #9
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Cheeto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Official Member #: 556
Last Online: 08-29-2012 08:59 PM
Location: St Petersburg, FL
Posts: 434

Reputation Level: 9
Cheeto is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Aftermarket Amp Install

Originally Posted by H4X1MA View Post
But do I have to run new wires from the doors, or is there another option?
Negative. The speaker wires will work fine. I'm sending almost 100w rms to each speaker via stock wiring. The only Thing you'll need to to is run power and ground for the amp. You can splice into the wire harness once you unplug it from the bose amp. There you will find all the inputs from the HU and outputs going to the speakers.
__________________
Likes: (2)
Apollos2 (03-08-2012), Latinmaxima (03-08-2012)
Cheeto is offline   Send a private message to Cheeto Find more posts by Cheeto Add Cheeto to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 03-07-2012, 03:55 PM   #10
Senior Citizen Moderator
6th Gen Official Pops
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
07maximan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Official Member #: 2184
Last Online: 12-08-2014 03:33 PM
Location: Close....Very Close!!
Posts: 9,421

Reputation Level: 69
07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice

Participation Level: 9%
Activity: 9% Activity: 9% Activity: 9%

My Awards:
Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Member of the Month (M.O.T.M)  


/ Point Value: 10

Honorable Ride  


/ Point Value: 5

Most Valuable Poster (MVP)  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: Aftermarket Amp Install

Originally Posted by Cheeto View Post
Negative. The speaker wires will work fine. I'm sending almost 100w rms to each speaker via stock wiring. The only Thing you'll need to to is run power and ground for the amp. You can splice into the wire harness once you unplug it from the bose amp. There you will find all the inputs from the HU and outputs going to the speakers.
While this might work and it will save you time,personally I wouldnt do this. To me this is a shortcut I wouldnt take ,but thats just me. You have to decide for your self.
__________________

Originally Posted by dstruc View Post
Next week Omar is taking us walking through the projects. Alex is getting raped for sure.
07maximan is offline   Send a private message to 07maximan Find more posts by 07maximan Add 07maximan to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 03-07-2012, 04:12 PM   #11
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Cheeto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Official Member #: 556
Last Online: 08-29-2012 08:59 PM
Location: St Petersburg, FL
Posts: 434

Reputation Level: 9
Cheeto is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Aftermarket Amp Install

Originally Posted by 07maximan View Post


While this might work and it will save you time,personally I wouldnt do this. To me this is a shortcut I wouldnt take ,but thats just me. You have to decide for your self.
While this is true, unless you plan on running over 100 watts to each speaker then it's really not necessary. This is advice that most audio installation shops will tell you and do most of the time, unless upon customer request or feel the wire is inadequate after a visual inspection.
__________________
Cheeto is offline   Send a private message to Cheeto Find more posts by Cheeto Add Cheeto to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 03-07-2012, 04:16 PM   #12
Senior Citizen Moderator
6th Gen Official Pops
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
07maximan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Official Member #: 2184
Last Online: 12-08-2014 03:33 PM
Location: Close....Very Close!!
Posts: 9,421

Reputation Level: 69
07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice

Participation Level: 9%
Activity: 9% Activity: 9% Activity: 9%

My Awards:
Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Member of the Month (M.O.T.M)  


/ Point Value: 10

Honorable Ride  


/ Point Value: 5

Most Valuable Poster (MVP)  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: Aftermarket Amp Install

Originally Posted by Cheeto View Post
While this is true, unless you plan on running over 100 watts to each speaker then it's really not necessary. This is advice that most audio installation shops will tell you and do most of the time, unless upon customer request or feel the wire is inadequate after a visual inspection.
That makes sense. I have to remember that most people dont build stupid over the top systems like me. To be honest I dont even know why I do it...I push my shit pretty hard at times.
__________________

Originally Posted by dstruc View Post
Next week Omar is taking us walking through the projects. Alex is getting raped for sure.
07maximan is offline   Send a private message to 07maximan Find more posts by 07maximan Add 07maximan to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 03-07-2012, 04:21 PM   Thread Starter #13
Premier Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
H4X1MA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Official Member #: 265
Last Online: 10-20-2014 06:00 PM
Posts: 1,073

Reputation Level: 20
H4X1MA will become famous soon enough

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Aftermarket Amp Install

I will probably be going with 80w/c. So what you guys are saying is. Rip the dash part, yank the bose amp, throw in the new one, and rewire the speakers.

Is it worth it?
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.
H4X1MA is offline   Send a private message to H4X1MA Find more posts by H4X1MA Add H4X1MA to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 03-07-2012, 04:24 PM   #14
Senior Citizen Moderator
6th Gen Official Pops
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
07maximan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Official Member #: 2184
Last Online: 12-08-2014 03:33 PM
Location: Close....Very Close!!
Posts: 9,421

Reputation Level: 69
07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice

Participation Level: 9%
Activity: 9% Activity: 9% Activity: 9%

My Awards:
Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Member of the Month (M.O.T.M)  


/ Point Value: 10

Honorable Ride  


/ Point Value: 5

Most Valuable Poster (MVP)  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: Aftermarket Amp Install

Originally Posted by H4X1MA View Post
I will probably be going with 80w/c. So what you guys are saying is. Rip the dash part, yank the bose amp, throw in the new one, and rewire the speakers.

Is it worth it?
Its hard to answer that. For me, getting rid of the stock system was a priority. My system sounds very nice but,it was a lot of time, work and money.For me,totally worth it. So, Im going to say yes its worth it. Will you do it yourself then??
__________________

Originally Posted by dstruc View Post
Next week Omar is taking us walking through the projects. Alex is getting raped for sure.
07maximan is offline   Send a private message to 07maximan Find more posts by 07maximan Add 07maximan to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 03-07-2012, 06:03 PM   Thread Starter #15
Premier Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
H4X1MA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Official Member #: 265
Last Online: 10-20-2014 06:00 PM
Posts: 1,073

Reputation Level: 20
H4X1MA will become famous soon enough

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Aftermarket Amp Install

Originally Posted by 07maximan View Post


Its hard to answer that. For me, getting rid of the stock system was a priority. My system sounds very nice but,it was a lot of time, work and money.For me,totally worth it. So, Im going to say yes its worth it. Will you do it yourself then??
What is your typical music, and was the difference obvious? When I had my door speakers replaced i noticed a change in how loud the treble was, but thats about it
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.
H4X1MA is offline   Send a private message to H4X1MA Find more posts by H4X1MA Add H4X1MA to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 03-07-2012, 06:08 PM   #16
Senior Citizen Moderator
6th Gen Official Pops
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
07maximan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Official Member #: 2184
Last Online: 12-08-2014 03:33 PM
Location: Close....Very Close!!
Posts: 9,421

Reputation Level: 69
07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice

Participation Level: 9%
Activity: 9% Activity: 9% Activity: 9%

My Awards:
Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Member of the Month (M.O.T.M)  


/ Point Value: 10

Honorable Ride  


/ Point Value: 5

Most Valuable Poster (MVP)  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: Aftermarket Amp Install

Originally Posted by H4X1MA View Post
What is your typical music, and was the difference obvious? When I had my door speakers replaced i noticed a change in how loud the treble was, but thats about it
I listen to mainly rock. 80's type of metal to more modern stuff. I noticed a huge difference in my set up. Keep in mind though,Im running a 4 channel amp that puts out about 180 wpc into some super efficient speakers. It gets loud,very loud while staying clean. I also use an external EQ with a voltage booster. Im a music lover so for me spending the time and money was well spent. I love my system and couldnt imagine not having one like it.
__________________

Originally Posted by dstruc View Post
Next week Omar is taking us walking through the projects. Alex is getting raped for sure.
07maximan is offline   Send a private message to 07maximan Find more posts by 07maximan Add 07maximan to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 03-07-2012, 06:14 PM   Thread Starter #17
Premier Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
H4X1MA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Official Member #: 265
Last Online: 10-20-2014 06:00 PM
Posts: 1,073

Reputation Level: 20
H4X1MA will become famous soon enough

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Aftermarket Amp Install

Originally Posted by 07maximan View Post


I listen to mainly rock. 80's type of metal to more modern stuff. I noticed a huge difference in my set up. Keep in mind though,Im running a 4 channel amp that puts out about 180 wpc into some super efficient speakers. It gets loud,very loud while staying clean. I also use an external EQ with a voltage booster. Im a music lover so for me spending the time and money was well spent. I love my system and couldnt imagine not having one like it.
Well we have about the same taste, so thats good news. I'm not sure what the EFX I have can handle, I'll have to look into it. When I asked about an EQ the local shop asked me if I was stuck in 1980 . I have a Pioneer dvd with a built in EQ so I don't know if I would need an external, but I would imagine that the external would give you more control.
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.
H4X1MA is offline   Send a private message to H4X1MA Find more posts by H4X1MA Add H4X1MA to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 03-07-2012, 06:20 PM   #18
Senior Citizen Moderator
6th Gen Official Pops
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
07maximan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Official Member #: 2184
Last Online: 12-08-2014 03:33 PM
Location: Close....Very Close!!
Posts: 9,421

Reputation Level: 69
07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice

Participation Level: 9%
Activity: 9% Activity: 9% Activity: 9%

My Awards:
Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Member of the Month (M.O.T.M)  


/ Point Value: 10

Honorable Ride  


/ Point Value: 5

Most Valuable Poster (MVP)  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: Aftermarket Amp Install

The EQ I have is no where near the 80's...this guy didnt know what he was saying. I have an Audio Control EQS and to be honest this made a HUGE difference in sound. Plus it increases the pre out voltage to up to 13 volts. Built in EQs generally dont have the range to really dial in the sound,hence the external EQ.
__________________

Originally Posted by dstruc View Post
Next week Omar is taking us walking through the projects. Alex is getting raped for sure.
Likes: (1)
Latinmaxima (03-08-2012)
07maximan is offline   Send a private message to 07maximan Find more posts by 07maximan Add 07maximan to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 03-08-2012, 09:31 AM   #19
Senior Moderator

my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
1hawaii50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Official Member #: 63
Last Online: 11-03-2014 08:34 PM
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 13,276

Reputation Level: 58
1hawaii50 has a spectacular aura about1hawaii50 has a spectacular aura about1hawaii50 has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Supporting Family Member  


/ Point Value: 10

Member of the Month (M.O.T.M)  


/ Point Value: 10

Most Valuable Poster (MVP)  


/ Point Value: 10

V.I.P Member  


/ Point Value: 15

Spotlight Ride Of The Month  


/ Point Value: 5

Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Official Ride  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: Aftermarket Amp Install

I'm pushing 350W per side to my front comps...using the stock speaker wiring wasn't an option. You are going to have to figure out which wires coming out of the factory amp feed each speaker, and you can then use the factory wiring. You just have to cut the factory plugs to make the new connections. Personally, you are going to be in there anyway...I'd run new wire...it isn't that difficult to do.
__________________
1hawaii50 is offline   Send a private message to 1hawaii50 Find more posts by 1hawaii50 Add 1hawaii50 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 03-08-2012, 10:18 AM   #20
Miltown's Maxima
Donating Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
BOOTZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Official Member #: 496
Last Online: 02-26-2016 06:14 PM
Location: Brewcity
Posts: 2,577

Reputation Level: 29
BOOTZ has a spectacular aura aboutBOOTZ has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 15%
Activity: 15% Activity: 15% Activity: 15%

My Awards:
Spotlight Ride Of The Month  


/ Point Value: 5

Honorable Ride  


/ Point Value: 5

Default Re: Aftermarket Amp Install

Driver door boot was hell for me! I ran 2 sets of 16 gauge wire... it sucked.
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.
BOOTZ is offline   Send a private message to BOOTZ Find more posts by BOOTZ Add BOOTZ to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 03-08-2012, 11:08 AM   #21
Mile High Maxima
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Apollos2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Official Member #: 510
Last Online: 06-06-2016 08:24 PM
Posts: 1,955

Reputation Level: 33
Apollos2 has a spectacular aura aboutApollos2 has a spectacular aura aboutApollos2 has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 27%
Activity: 27% Activity: 27% Activity: 27%
Default Re: Aftermarket Amp Install

Originally Posted by H4X1MA View Post
I will probably be going with 80w/c. So what you guys are saying is. Rip the dash part, yank the bose amp, throw in the new one, and rewire the speakers.

Is it worth it?
Nah, what amp you gonna run? I would just hook it up and go, you can always rip it all apart later.


Originally Posted by H4X1MA View Post
.....When I asked about an EQ the local shop asked me if I was stuck in 1980 .....

THEY PROBABLY THOUGHT YOU MEANT THIS
Click the image to open in full size.
__________________
Cardomain = Silver stream


Click the image to open in full size.Click the image to open in full size.
Apollos2 is offline   Send a private message to Apollos2 Find more posts by Apollos2 Add Apollos2 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 03-08-2012, 12:03 PM   #22
Senior Citizen Moderator
6th Gen Official Pops
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
07maximan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Official Member #: 2184
Last Online: 12-08-2014 03:33 PM
Location: Close....Very Close!!
Posts: 9,421

Reputation Level: 69
07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice

Participation Level: 9%
Activity: 9% Activity: 9% Activity: 9%

My Awards:
Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Member of the Month (M.O.T.M)  


/ Point Value: 10

Honorable Ride  


/ Point Value: 5

Most Valuable Poster (MVP)  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: Aftermarket Amp Install

Originally Posted by Apollos2 View Post
Nah, what amp you gonna run? I would just hook it up and go, you can always rip it all apart later.





THEY PROBABLY THOUGHT YOU MEANT THIS
Click the image to open in full size.
LOL..thats some 80's stuff there. Thats when they would put amps in the EQ as well. Thats some swap meet shit right there...
__________________

Originally Posted by dstruc View Post
Next week Omar is taking us walking through the projects. Alex is getting raped for sure.
07maximan is offline   Send a private message to 07maximan Find more posts by 07maximan Add 07maximan to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 03-08-2012, 02:41 PM   #23
Senior Moderator

my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
1hawaii50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Official Member #: 63
Last Online: 11-03-2014 08:34 PM
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 13,276

Reputation Level: 58
1hawaii50 has a spectacular aura about1hawaii50 has a spectacular aura about1hawaii50 has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Supporting Family Member  


/ Point Value: 10

Member of the Month (M.O.T.M)  


/ Point Value: 10

Most Valuable Poster (MVP)  


/ Point Value: 10

V.I.P Member  


/ Point Value: 15

Spotlight Ride Of The Month  


/ Point Value: 5

Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Official Ride  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: Aftermarket Amp Install

Originally Posted by BOOTZ View Post
Driver door boot was hell for me! I ran 2 sets of 16 gauge wire... it sucked.
I ran 12 and 16 gauge...I know. If you use a little dishwashing detergent on the wires, it helps tremendously!!!
__________________
1hawaii50 is offline   Send a private message to 1hawaii50 Find more posts by 1hawaii50 Add 1hawaii50 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 03-08-2012, 05:28 PM   #24
Miltown's Maxima
Donating Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
BOOTZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Official Member #: 496
Last Online: 02-26-2016 06:14 PM
Location: Brewcity
Posts: 2,577

Reputation Level: 29
BOOTZ has a spectacular aura aboutBOOTZ has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 15%
Activity: 15% Activity: 15% Activity: 15%

My Awards:
Spotlight Ride Of The Month  


/ Point Value: 5

Honorable Ride  


/ Point Value: 5

Default Re: Aftermarket Amp Install

Originally Posted by 1hawaii50 View Post
I ran 12 and 16 gauge...I know. If you use a little dishwashing detergent on the wires, it helps tremendously!!!
Yea, I think I ended up using hand soap. lol
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.
BOOTZ is offline   Send a private message to BOOTZ Find more posts by BOOTZ Add BOOTZ to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 Members And 1 Guests)
 
Thread Tools


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:24 PM.