Register My Garage Arcade V.I.P Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read
Go Back   my6thgen.org - Maxima Forum > my6thgen.org - Very Useful Information > Ask Your Technical & General Questions > Intakes, Headers & Exhaust

Reply
ExclamationThis thread is more than 150+ days old. If you still feel it is necessary to bump this thread, you have the permission to do so. Please click the checkbox below and post your reply.
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-30-2011, 10:33 PM   Thread Starter #1
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
sunny2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Official Member #: 1570
Last Online: 05-05-2011 01:17 PM
Posts: 45

Reputation Level: 0
sunny2007 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Idle Relearn Will Not Work

Each time electric throttle control actuator or ECM is replaced.
Idle speed or ignition timing is out of specification.
Installation of a CAI or WAI
Timing Advancement

Drive the car to "warm up" temperature. Make sure your idle is close to 700 rpm.

Ensure any battery draining devices are off. Ie. headlights, interior dome lights, HVAC, stereo.
Turn the car ignition key to "OFF"
Wait ten seconds
Turn the key to "ON" (not start)
Wait three seconds.
Perform the following five times in five seconds or less. Fully press the gas pedal and release.
Wait seven seconds from last of the five releases.
Fully press the gas pedal and hold down. Within ten seconds the "Service Engine Soon" light should begin to blink.
Wait another ten seconds (while still holding the gas pedal) and the "Service Engine Soon" light should stop blinking.
As soon as it stops blinking, release the pedal, start the car and check the idle (should still be around 700 rpm)
Let the car idle at 700 rpm or so for about 25 seconds, rev the engine a few times and then let it return to idle.
Shut the car down.

DONE!!!

Tried it about 15 times over 2 weeks and the cell will not blink. It is suppose to blink at the second last step. Could some one tell me why.
sunny2007 is offline   Send a private message to sunny2007 Find more posts by sunny2007 Add sunny2007 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 03-30-2011, 10:35 PM   #2
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
EddyMaxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Official Member #: 1
Location: Bat-Brooklyn, NYC
Posts: 34,307

Reputation Level: 20
EddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to behold

Participation Level: 100%
Activity: 100% Activity: 100% Activity: 100%


Visit EddyMaxx's Facebook Visit EddyMaxx's PS3 Profile Visit EddyMaxx's YouTube
Default Re: idle relearn will not work

It works because I've done it. It needs to be perfectly timed. You can always disconnect your battery for a while to reset the ecu.
__________________
04' Nissan Maxima - [Supercharged w/ HR Swapped Motor & Fully Built Auto Trans]
98' Nissan Maxima - [VQ35DE 6-Speed Supercharged]

6thgen 2014 Build Thread
EddyMaxx is offline   Send a private message to EddyMaxx Find more posts by EddyMaxx Add EddyMaxx to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 03-30-2011, 10:37 PM   #3
Premier Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
CleanMaxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Official Member #: 11
Last Online: 11-09-2015 08:15 AM
Location: PA
Posts: 6,111

Reputation Level: 41
CleanMaxx has a spectacular aura aboutCleanMaxx has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
V.I.P Member  


/ Point Value: 15

Honorable Ride  


/ Point Value: 5

Visit CleanMaxx's Twitter Visit CleanMaxx's YouTube
Default Re: Idle Relearn Will Not Work

You dont even need to do this, just drive the car and over time it will adjust.
__________________
6speedTurbo
CleanMaxx is offline   Send a private message to CleanMaxx Find more posts by CleanMaxx Add CleanMaxx to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 03-30-2011, 10:40 PM   #4
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
EddyMaxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Official Member #: 1
Location: Bat-Brooklyn, NYC
Posts: 34,307

Reputation Level: 20
EddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to behold

Participation Level: 100%
Activity: 100% Activity: 100% Activity: 100%


Visit EddyMaxx's Facebook Visit EddyMaxx's PS3 Profile Visit EddyMaxx's YouTube
Default Re: Idle Relearn Will Not Work

Originally Posted by CleanMaxx View Post
You dont even need to do this, just drive the car and over time it will adjust.
True as well but that procedure does work. lol
__________________
04' Nissan Maxima - [Supercharged w/ HR Swapped Motor & Fully Built Auto Trans]
98' Nissan Maxima - [VQ35DE 6-Speed Supercharged]

6thgen 2014 Build Thread
EddyMaxx is offline   Send a private message to EddyMaxx Find more posts by EddyMaxx Add EddyMaxx to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 03-30-2011, 10:43 PM   Thread Starter #5
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
sunny2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Official Member #: 1570
Last Online: 05-05-2011 01:17 PM
Posts: 45

Reputation Level: 0
sunny2007 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Idle Relearn Will Not Work

I am curious when you turn your key to on where the battery light comes on. The cell stays on or does it go off after a while. Mine stays on it goes off when I actually start the car.

Last edited by sunny2007; 03-30-2011 at 10:51 PM.
sunny2007 is offline   Send a private message to sunny2007 Find more posts by sunny2007 Add sunny2007 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 03-30-2011, 11:21 PM   #6
Premier Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
CleanMaxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Official Member #: 11
Last Online: 11-09-2015 08:15 AM
Location: PA
Posts: 6,111

Reputation Level: 41
CleanMaxx has a spectacular aura aboutCleanMaxx has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
V.I.P Member  


/ Point Value: 15

Honorable Ride  


/ Point Value: 5

Visit CleanMaxx's Twitter Visit CleanMaxx's YouTube
Default Re: Idle Relearn Will Not Work

yea warning lights come on but go off when you start the car, thats normal in most cars.
__________________
6speedTurbo
CleanMaxx is offline   Send a private message to CleanMaxx Find more posts by CleanMaxx Add CleanMaxx to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 03-30-2011, 11:41 PM   #7
Premier Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
jsmithsole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Official Member #: 76
Last Online: 02-27-2019 12:08 AM
Location: So Cal
Posts: 2,209

Reputation Level: 17
jsmithsole is on a distinguished road

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Guinness Record Holder  


/ Point Value: 15

Banner of The Month  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: Idle Relearn Will Not Work

Subscribed, I need to so this...

Sent from the Droid
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.
MyClick the image to open in full size.@ Car Domain
jsmithsole is offline   Send a private message to jsmithsole Find more posts by jsmithsole Add jsmithsole to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 03-31-2011, 12:03 AM   #8
Official Member
Donating Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
dstruc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Official Member #: 110
Last Online: 03-15-2017 07:25 PM
Location: anaheim, california
Posts: 3,793

Reputation Level: 20
dstruc is on a distinguished road

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Idle Relearn Will Not Work

this does work. ive done it a couple times. timing must be perfect for it to work.
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.
dstruc is offline   Send a private message to dstruc Find more posts by dstruc Add dstruc to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 03-31-2011, 12:38 AM   #9
Official Sweet Action 6.5gen
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Nismo4Life07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Official Member #: 117
Last Online: 05-19-2016 03:25 PM
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 11,156

Reputation Level: 66
Nismo4Life07 is a jewel in the roughNismo4Life07 is a jewel in the roughNismo4Life07 is a jewel in the roughNismo4Life07 is a jewel in the rough

Participation Level: 100%
Activity: 100% Activity: 100% Activity: 100%

My Awards:
Official Ride  


/ Point Value: 10

Supporting Family Member  


/ Point Value: 10

Honorable Ride  


/ Point Value: 5

Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Honorable Ride  


/ Point Value: 5

Visit Nismo4Life07's Facebook Visit Nismo4Life07's PS3 Profile Visit Nismo4Life07's YouTube
Default Re: Idle Relearn Will Not Work

I've done it but didn't get the CEL to blink. It reset the code just didn't blink the CEL.

But yeah. Get a stopwatch and male sure it's exactly the right times.
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.
Click the image to open in full size.
Nismo4Life07 is offline   Send a private message to Nismo4Life07 Find more posts by Nismo4Life07 Add Nismo4Life07 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 03-31-2011, 12:41 AM   #10
Official Member
Donating Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
dstruc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Official Member #: 110
Last Online: 03-15-2017 07:25 PM
Location: anaheim, california
Posts: 3,793

Reputation Level: 20
dstruc is on a distinguished road

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Idle Relearn Will Not Work

Originally Posted by Nismo4Life07 View Post
I've done it but didn't get the CEL to blink. It reset the code just didn't blink the CEL.

But yeah. Get a stopwatch and male sure it's exactly the right times.
stopwatch? noob. i did it the old fashion way. 1 mississippi 2 mississippi.
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.
dstruc is offline   Send a private message to dstruc Find more posts by dstruc Add dstruc to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 03-31-2011, 12:47 AM   #11
Mile High City 6th Gen
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
vitec115's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Official Member #: 483
Last Online: 07-11-2014 12:08 PM
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,553

Reputation Level: 14
vitec115 is on a distinguished road

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Visit vitec115's PS3 Profile Visit vitec115's Xbox Gamercard
Default Re: Idle Relearn Will Not Work

i tried too after doing the spacers install,no luck at all,after 5 times i give up......
i guess timing is key on this.
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.
vitec115 is offline   Send a private message to vitec115 Find more posts by vitec115 Add vitec115 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 03-31-2011, 03:41 AM   #12
Senior Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
twisted1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Official Member #: 1494
Last Online: 02-11-2012 05:14 AM
Location: louisiana
Posts: 626

Reputation Level: 13
twisted1 is on a distinguished road

Participation Level: 3%
Activity: 3% Activity: 3% Activity: 3%
Default Re: Idle Relearn Will Not Work

The idle and ecu reset also didn't wrk for me.... No cel blinks.
__________________
Stillen lip kit, black housed headlamps, 370z 18s, 350z 17's on drs, blue led fogs, aem wideband o2,apexi safcll, 75shot zex wet kit, skunk2 cans, custom y&b pipes, 3rd cat & resonator delete, magnaflow precats, nwp spacers, kn cai, and walbro 255 still in box. Dyno #s coming soon....
twisted1 is offline   Send a private message to twisted1 Find more posts by twisted1 Add twisted1 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 03-31-2011, 05:48 AM   #13
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
08maximase's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Official Member #: 1081
Last Online: 02-13-2012 01:57 AM
Location: Rehoboth MA, always in RI
Posts: 210

Reputation Level: 9
08maximase is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Idle Relearn Will Not Work

works for me everytime...just have to be right on with the counting.
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.
08maximase is offline   Send a private message to 08maximase Find more posts by 08maximase Add 08maximase to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 03-31-2011, 09:43 AM   #14
Premier Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
CleanMaxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Official Member #: 11
Last Online: 11-09-2015 08:15 AM
Location: PA
Posts: 6,111

Reputation Level: 41
CleanMaxx has a spectacular aura aboutCleanMaxx has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
V.I.P Member  


/ Point Value: 15

Honorable Ride  


/ Point Value: 5

Visit CleanMaxx's Twitter Visit CleanMaxx's YouTube
Default Re: Idle Relearn Will Not Work

stopwatch? noob.
__________________
6speedTurbo
CleanMaxx is offline   Send a private message to CleanMaxx Find more posts by CleanMaxx Add CleanMaxx to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 03-31-2011, 10:26 AM   #15
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
08maximase's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Official Member #: 1081
Last Online: 02-13-2012 01:57 AM
Location: Rehoboth MA, always in RI
Posts: 210

Reputation Level: 9
08maximase is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Idle Relearn Will Not Work

Originally Posted by CleanMaxx View Post
stopwatch? noob.
Lol....Seems like your getting good with your new camera...i like your signature pic!
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.
Likes: (1)
CleanMaxx (03-31-2011)
08maximase is offline   Send a private message to 08maximase Find more posts by 08maximase Add 08maximase to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 Members And 1 Guests)
 
Thread Tools


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:06 PM.