Register My Garage Arcade V.I.P Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read
Go Back   my6thgen.org - Maxima Forum > my6thgen.org - Very Useful Information > Ask Your Technical & General Questions > Intakes, Headers & Exhaust

Reply
ExclamationThis thread is more than 150+ days old. If you still feel it is necessary to bump this thread, you have the permission to do so. Please click the checkbox below and post your reply.
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-13-2013, 03:56 PM   Thread Starter #1
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
maxvip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Official Member #: 3199
Last Online: 09-20-2017 11:18 AM
Location: minnesota
Posts: 12

Reputation Level: 0
maxvip is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Visit maxvip's Facebook
Default Headers I'm Lost

ok so im lost here i want to get headers only when i go to cattmans web site i see nothing for 6th gens hotshot dont seem to exist top speed nothing there either how ever i see some people talking about altima headers .....so can i use aftermarket altima headers for my maxima and if i can what year altima headers do i need to be looking for because as far as i know they have the same engines correct therefore they should bolt up would be my thought but i dont know can anyone help me i have a 2008 maxima with cvt thanks for any help here
maxvip is offline   Send a private message to maxvip Find more posts by maxvip Add maxvip to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 08-13-2013, 09:54 PM   #2
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
vicz.adriano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Official Member #: 5783
Last Online: 03-17-2016 02:01 AM
Posts: 209

Reputation Level: 7
vicz.adriano is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Headers I'm Lost

The altima headers I believe they get from eBay & are altima ser 3.5L headers ...I think some modification is done as far as 02 sensors go because of some cel lights but I think they bolt up pretty good
vicz.adriano is offline   Send a private message to vicz.adriano Find more posts by vicz.adriano Add vicz.adriano to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 08-13-2013, 10:35 PM   #3
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
ShawnD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Official Member #: 7303
Last Online: 05-11-2019 04:54 PM
Posts: 151

Reputation Level: 12
ShawnD will become famous soon enough

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Headers I'm Lost

I think racingline is still making headers for our gen too
ShawnD is offline   Send a private message to ShawnD Find more posts by ShawnD Add ShawnD to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 08-14-2013, 12:03 AM   #4
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
bhp4202's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Official Member #: 747
Last Online: 07-31-2018 02:48 PM
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 95

Reputation Level: 9
bhp4202 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Headers I'm Lost

You have to call cattman if you want them for 6th gen they are not on website.
__________________
04 SE....Injen CAI....Jet MAF....Racingline Y-Pipe.... Ebay Cat-Back Exhaust....NWP BOP....NWP Spacers....
bhp4202 is offline   Send a private message to bhp4202 Find more posts by bhp4202 Add bhp4202 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 08-14-2013, 09:27 AM   #5
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Steezmuffin686's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Official Member #: 8487
Last Online: 08-23-2018 09:27 PM
Location: West Bend
Posts: 114

Reputation Level: 7
Steezmuffin686 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Headers I'm Lost

if you check the stickies there's a nice write-up on the ser headers...with do's donts...and problems your likely to encounter.

Facts About SE-R Headers

found in the intakes, headers, and exhaust section of the forum. search sir, its your friend.
__________________
| 04 SE 6mt | ralco rz sts | shifter hacked 4" | no name cai | ebay catback | Racingline FSTB | Progress RSB | RoadMagnet springs (winter) | BC BR coilovers (summer) | SPC rear camber arms | 5% tint&banner | Hardwired passport 9500 | kicker 10DCVR12's | pioneer avh 280bt 6.2" | Hyfonics Brutus 1600w amp | Sherwood Carbon Fiber dash kit | OBX headers | G-coupe 18's | 5&20mm spacers | junction produce goodies |...more to come
...
Steezmuffin686 is offline   Send a private message to Steezmuffin686 Find more posts by Steezmuffin686 Add Steezmuffin686 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 08-14-2013, 09:28 AM   #6
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Steezmuffin686's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Official Member #: 8487
Last Online: 08-23-2018 09:27 PM
Location: West Bend
Posts: 114

Reputation Level: 7
Steezmuffin686 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Headers I'm Lost

if you check the stickies there's a nice write-up on the ser headers...with do's donts...and problems your likely to encounter.

Facts About SE-R Headers

found in the intakes, headers, and exhaust section of the forum. search sir, its your friend.
__________________
| 04 SE 6mt | ralco rz sts | shifter hacked 4" | no name cai | ebay catback | Racingline FSTB | Progress RSB | RoadMagnet springs (winter) | BC BR coilovers (summer) | SPC rear camber arms | 5% tint&banner | Hardwired passport 9500 | kicker 10DCVR12's | pioneer avh 280bt 6.2" | Hyfonics Brutus 1600w amp | Sherwood Carbon Fiber dash kit | OBX headers | G-coupe 18's | 5&20mm spacers | junction produce goodies |...more to come
...
Steezmuffin686 is offline   Send a private message to Steezmuffin686 Find more posts by Steezmuffin686 Add Steezmuffin686 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 08-14-2013, 10:14 AM   #7
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Dos80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Official Member #: 7004
Last Online: 01-17-2018 07:59 PM
Posts: 208

Reputation Level: 7
Dos80 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Headers I'm Lost

I have m2 performance headers and y pipe for an 06 ser and yes theirs some cut and welding to do. I'm running with no cats with a magnaflow cat back also for ser and the sound is not to loud and quiet at idle. The sound is very unique. I love it and so do others.
__________________
06 SL6MT
Likes: (1)
dallazcod (08-21-2013)
Dos80 is offline   Send a private message to Dos80 Find more posts by Dos80 Add Dos80 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 08-14-2013, 10:11 PM   #8
Senior Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
incubus0111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Official Member #: 6540
Last Online: 09-02-2018 09:24 PM
Location: Here
Posts: 619

Reputation Level: 8
incubus0111 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Headers I'm Lost

Originally Posted by Dos80 View Post
I have m2 performance headers and y pipe for an 06 ser and yes theirs some cut and welding to do. I'm running with no cats with a magnaflow cat back also for ser and the sound is not to loud and quiet at idle. The sound is very unique. I love it and so do others.

sound clip...
incubus0111 is offline   Send a private message to incubus0111 Find more posts by incubus0111 Add incubus0111 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 08-14-2013, 10:48 PM   #9
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Dos80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Official Member #: 7004
Last Online: 01-17-2018 07:59 PM
Posts: 208

Reputation Level: 7
Dos80 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Headers I'm Lost

Lol OK NP. As soon as I figure out how to upload a video.
__________________
06 SL6MT
Dos80 is offline   Send a private message to Dos80 Find more posts by Dos80 Add Dos80 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 08-20-2013, 03:20 PM   #10
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Fresh207's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Official Member #: 7500
Last Online: 05-23-2017 08:23 PM
Posts: 11

Reputation Level: 0
Fresh207 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Headers I'm Lost

I just ordered a set of altima headers for my 04 max i also had to order i think they call it 02 simulators
Fresh207 is offline   Send a private message to Fresh207 Find more posts by Fresh207 Add Fresh207 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 08-20-2013, 11:33 PM   #11
Moderator
Burnt Orange
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
BurntOrangeAppeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Official Member #: 2887
Last Online: 12-04-2014 04:56 PM
Location: Under the Bridge
Posts: 2,816

Reputation Level: 33
BurntOrangeAppeal has a spectacular aura aboutBurntOrangeAppeal has a spectacular aura aboutBurntOrangeAppeal has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Headers I'm Lost

Originally Posted by Fresh207 View Post
I just ordered a set of altima headers for my 04 max i also had to order i think they call it 02 simulators
IMHO
Sims do not work for your header application. The problem with headers is the front A\F sensors which you cant use Sims on. Rear sensors (downstream) do not need sims, they will not trigger CEL when they function correctly. You will also need to move the A/F sensor bung down lower to the collector so that it doesnt just measure a single cylinder...but the entire bank.
__________________
'04 SE 6MT, Elite.
'01 SE Anniversary.
'97 GXE.
Click the image to open in full size.
Click the image to open in full size.
-=My Build Tread=-
Likes: (1)
Latinmaxima (08-22-2013)
BurntOrangeAppeal is offline   Send a private message to BurntOrangeAppeal Find more posts by BurntOrangeAppeal Add BurntOrangeAppeal to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 08-30-2013, 03:53 AM   #12
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
shredda's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Official Member #: 8388
Last Online: 09-17-2016 01:29 AM
Location: Canada
Posts: 99

Reputation Level: 7
shredda is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Headers I'm Lost

Originally Posted by BurntOrangeAppeal View Post
IMHO
Sims do not work for your header application. The problem with headers is the front A\F sensors which you cant use Sims on. Rear sensors (downstream) do not need sims, they will not trigger CEL when they function correctly. You will also need to move the A/F sensor bung down lower to the collector so that it doesnt just measure a single cylinder...but the entire bank.
I know I should probably research this more...but is there any way to have headers installed, without a cel? My cars ses light has been on for like 2 months, just got it scanned yesterday and it's throwing p0430...looks like I'm gonna either have to get the HFPCs by racingline, or headers
shredda is offline   Send a private message to shredda Find more posts by shredda Add shredda to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 08-30-2013, 07:55 AM   #13
Senior Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
O.G.Nat-tral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Official Member #: 6274
Last Online: 03-06-2019 08:33 AM
Location: The B.X.
Posts: 695

Reputation Level: 8
O.G.Nat-tral is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Visit O.G.Nat-tral's PS3 Profile Visit O.G.Nat-tral's Twitter Visit O.G.Nat-tral's YouTube
Default Re: Headers I'm Lost

I'm looking to install Altima headers myself and was wondering if I could get away with the altima headers and racingline Y-pipe to delete the y-pipe that comes with the altima kit..?? Please someone let me know if this set-up is possible..
__________________


Abused VQ
Likes: (1)
dallazcod (08-30-2013)
O.G.Nat-tral is offline   Send a private message to O.G.Nat-tral Find more posts by O.G.Nat-tral Add O.G.Nat-tral to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 09-22-2013, 05:50 AM   #14
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Mike2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Official Member #: 6390
Last Online: 05-08-2014 04:22 PM
Location: Phx, AZ
Posts: 128

Reputation Level: 7
Mike2005 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Headers I'm Lost

Originally Posted by BurntOrangeAppeal View Post
IMHO
Sims do not work for your header application. The problem with headers is the front A\F sensors which you cant use Sims on. Rear sensors (downstream) do not need sims, they will not trigger CEL when they function correctly. You will also need to move the A/F sensor bung down lower to the collector so that it doesnt just measure a single cylinder...but the entire bank.
So, I am assuming I will need to do this for both sides? Will I need longer A/F sensors or will the stock ones reach the new bung holes.
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.

Sometimes you just have to go faster than the other guy
Mike2005 is offline   Send a private message to Mike2005 Find more posts by Mike2005 Add Mike2005 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 09-23-2013, 02:02 AM   #15
Moderator
Burnt Orange
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
BurntOrangeAppeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Official Member #: 2887
Last Online: 12-04-2014 04:56 PM
Location: Under the Bridge
Posts: 2,816

Reputation Level: 33
BurntOrangeAppeal has a spectacular aura aboutBurntOrangeAppeal has a spectacular aura aboutBurntOrangeAppeal has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Headers I'm Lost

Originally Posted by Mike2005 View Post
So, I am assuming I will need to do this for both sides? Will I need longer A/F sensors or will the stock ones reach the new bung holes.
Yes, precisely.
You will need to move both banks A/F bungs downstream to the collector. The A/F sensors on both sides are too short to reach the newly welded bungs. Instead of extending the 5 wire A/F sensors, you will extend the plug on the engine harness. Highly recomended to solder and shrink tube each wire.
__________________
'04 SE 6MT, Elite.
'01 SE Anniversary.
'97 GXE.
Click the image to open in full size.
Click the image to open in full size.
-=My Build Tread=-
BurntOrangeAppeal is offline   Send a private message to BurntOrangeAppeal Find more posts by BurntOrangeAppeal Add BurntOrangeAppeal to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 09-23-2013, 03:48 AM   #16
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Mike2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Official Member #: 6390
Last Online: 05-08-2014 04:22 PM
Location: Phx, AZ
Posts: 128

Reputation Level: 7
Mike2005 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Headers I'm Lost

Originally Posted by BurntOrangeAppeal View Post
Yes, precisely.
You will need to move both banks A/F bungs downstream to the collector. The A/F sensors on both sides are too short to reach the newly welded bungs. Instead of extending the 5 wire A/F sensors, you will extend the plug on the engine harness. Highly recomended to solder and shrink tube each wire.
Sweet.
I need new sensors any way so should I just get the upstream 350z sensors and extend the rear plugs?

Also, please don't beat me with a pan hard rod. But, are there 2 A/F , 2 up stream o2 sensor, and 2 downstream? or are the A/F sensors being referred to as the upstream o2 sensors?
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.

Sometimes you just have to go faster than the other guy
Likes: (1)
Latinmaxima (09-25-2013)
Mike2005 is offline   Send a private message to Mike2005 Find more posts by Mike2005 Add Mike2005 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 09-23-2013, 10:57 AM   #17
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Mike2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Official Member #: 6390
Last Online: 05-08-2014 04:22 PM
Location: Phx, AZ
Posts: 128

Reputation Level: 7
Mike2005 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Headers I'm Lost

I think I got it. 2 up and 2 down. Consequently, the down stream for the frontier with the VQ35 is 47" long and is about the same price as the 350z.
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.

Sometimes you just have to go faster than the other guy
Likes: (1)
Latinmaxima (09-25-2013)
Mike2005 is offline   Send a private message to Mike2005 Find more posts by Mike2005 Add Mike2005 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 Members And 1 Guests)
 
Thread Tools


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:35 PM.