Register My Garage Arcade V.I.P Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read
Go Back   my6thgen.org - Maxima Forum > my6thgen.org - Very Useful Information > Ask Your Technical & General Questions > Engine, Trans, F/I & Tuning

Reply
ExclamationThis thread is more than 150+ days old. If you still feel it is necessary to bump this thread, you have the permission to do so. Please click the checkbox below and post your reply.
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-05-2010, 03:54 AM   Thread Starter #1
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
deep007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Official Member #: 301
Last Online: 07-26-2014 02:12 PM
Location: CA
Posts: 1,232

Reputation Level: 12
deep007 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Official Ride  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Will 09' Maxima Motor Fit 08' Maxima?

alright guys i knw it sounds crazy but here what im getting at..i want to knw if i can fit an 09 motor into a 08 maxima both motor nd tranny? Some of you guys think why whould i even do that here wht im thinkin since i love the 08 body style im thinkin about keeping this car as an project car..i can juice this motor nd tranny out nd when it gave up i can put a brand 09 new motor nnd tranny into it but only if it whould fit.

Where im gonna get the motor and the tranny?
some junk yard have an 09 maxima nd my body shop guy said he can get it for cheap since he buy alot of cars from them. The car has only 2300 miles on it yes 2300 miles only..it start nd runs but hard to sit in it since the body it all fucked up..so im thinkin abt getting it wht u guys think? My friend with doin the same thing eith his bmw 323 ci nd hes putting an 335i motor nd tranny in it almost brand new
deep007 is offline   Send a private message to deep007 Find more posts by deep007 Add deep007 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 12-05-2010, 03:57 AM   Thread Starter #2
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
deep007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Official Member #: 301
Last Online: 07-26-2014 02:12 PM
Location: CA
Posts: 1,232

Reputation Level: 12
deep007 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Official Ride  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: 09 maxima motor in 08 maxima will it fit?

i whould love to have an g35 motor nd tranny into the maxima but i knw its not gonna worth it..

---------- Post added at 02:57 AM ---------- Previous post was at 02:56 AM ----------

[QUOTE=deep007;92815]i whould love to have an g35 motor nd tranny into the maxima but i knw its not gonna worth it since its the front nd rear wheel drive
deep007 is offline   Send a private message to deep007 Find more posts by deep007 Add deep007 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 12-05-2010, 06:41 AM   #3
Senior Moderator

my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
1hawaii50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Official Member #: 63
Last Online: 11-03-2014 08:34 PM
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 13,276

Reputation Level: 58
1hawaii50 has a spectacular aura about1hawaii50 has a spectacular aura about1hawaii50 has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Supporting Family Member  


/ Point Value: 10

Member of the Month (M.O.T.M)  


/ Point Value: 10

Most Valuable Poster (MVP)  


/ Point Value: 10

V.I.P Member  


/ Point Value: 15

Spotlight Ride Of The Month  


/ Point Value: 5

Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Official Ride  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: 09 maxima motor in 08 maxima will it fit?

I would think that it would fit, but somebody with more knowledge will chime in.
__________________
1hawaii50 is offline   Send a private message to 1hawaii50 Find more posts by 1hawaii50 Add 1hawaii50 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 12-05-2010, 07:17 PM   #4
The Go To Guy
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Mr DoLLa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Official Member #: 59
Last Online: 12-09-2014 03:40 PM
Location: bEEn MaNy pLaCeS bUt Im BrOOkLyN's OwN
Posts: 1,410

Reputation Level: 27
Mr DoLLa has a spectacular aura aboutMr DoLLa has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Member of the Month (M.O.T.M)  


/ Point Value: 10

Banner of The Month  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: Will 09' Maxima Motor Fit 08' Maxima?

Mounts n subframe r different from the 7th gen to the 6th gen. Not sure if the mounting brackets on the engine r interchangable but if they r then u can perform the swap.
__________________
sO cHiLLy cHiLL
Mr DoLLa is offline   Send a private message to Mr DoLLa Find more posts by Mr DoLLa Add Mr DoLLa to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 12-05-2010, 07:25 PM   #5
The Irish 6th Gen!
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
iirishsamuraii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Official Member #: 61
Last Online: 05-02-2014 07:53 AM
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,733

Reputation Level: 15
iirishsamuraii is on a distinguished road

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Supporting Family Member  


/ Point Value: 10

Banner of The Month  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: Will 09' Maxima Motor Fit 08' Maxima?

The 7thgen motor is a VQ35DE... same motor thats in the 6th and 6.5 also the same motor thats in G35 from 02-i think 06 than they switched to a different version of the VQ35
iirishsamuraii is offline   Send a private message to iirishsamuraii Find more posts by iirishsamuraii Add iirishsamuraii to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 12-05-2010, 07:33 PM   #6
The Go To Guy
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Mr DoLLa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Official Member #: 59
Last Online: 12-09-2014 03:40 PM
Location: bEEn MaNy pLaCeS bUt Im BrOOkLyN's OwN
Posts: 1,410

Reputation Level: 27
Mr DoLLa has a spectacular aura aboutMr DoLLa has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Member of the Month (M.O.T.M)  


/ Point Value: 10

Banner of The Month  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: Will 09' Maxima Motor Fit 08' Maxima?

Yeah shanye, theyre all VQ35 jus a matter of mounting brackets. I'm sure u can use the same tranny cuz its CVT.
__________________
sO cHiLLy cHiLL
Mr DoLLa is offline   Send a private message to Mr DoLLa Find more posts by Mr DoLLa Add Mr DoLLa to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 12-05-2010, 07:43 PM   Thread Starter #7
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
deep007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Official Member #: 301
Last Online: 07-26-2014 02:12 PM
Location: CA
Posts: 1,232

Reputation Level: 12
deep007 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Official Ride  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: Will 09' Maxima Motor Fit 08' Maxima?

thats for the input guys ya i think it should fit since they both are front wheel drive nd i will get 290hp plus mod
deep007 is offline   Send a private message to deep007 Find more posts by deep007 Add deep007 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 12-05-2010, 07:50 PM   #8
The Go To Guy
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Mr DoLLa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Official Member #: 59
Last Online: 12-09-2014 03:40 PM
Location: bEEn MaNy pLaCeS bUt Im BrOOkLyN's OwN
Posts: 1,410

Reputation Level: 27
Mr DoLLa has a spectacular aura aboutMr DoLLa has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Member of the Month (M.O.T.M)  


/ Point Value: 10

Banner of The Month  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: Will 09' Maxima Motor Fit 08' Maxima?

It wont fit cuz of the mounting brackets unless u can take the brakets off a 6thgen n put them on. Then axles, they should fit but I'm not sure cuz they are different part numbers. Can get expensive.
__________________
sO cHiLLy cHiLL
Mr DoLLa is offline   Send a private message to Mr DoLLa Find more posts by Mr DoLLa Add Mr DoLLa to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 12-05-2010, 08:25 PM   #9
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
EddyMaxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Official Member #: 1
Location: Bat-Brooklyn, NYC
Posts: 34,335

Reputation Level: 20
EddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to behold

Participation Level: 100%
Activity: 100% Activity: 100% Activity: 100%


Visit EddyMaxx's Facebook Visit EddyMaxx's PS3 Profile Visit EddyMaxx's YouTube
Default Re: Will 09' Maxima Motor Fit 08' Maxima?

Yeap.... The above is correct. Same motor but 09's use a different mounting structure.

Click the image to open in full size.

Click the image to open in full size.
__________________
04' Nissan Maxima - [Supercharged w/ HR Swapped Motor & Fully Built Auto Trans]
98' Nissan Maxima - [VQ35DE 6-Speed Supercharged]

6thgen 2014 Build Thread
EddyMaxx is offline   Send a private message to EddyMaxx Find more posts by EddyMaxx Add EddyMaxx to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 12-05-2010, 08:31 PM   #10
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
EddyMaxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Official Member #: 1
Location: Bat-Brooklyn, NYC
Posts: 34,335

Reputation Level: 20
EddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to behold

Participation Level: 100%
Activity: 100% Activity: 100% Activity: 100%


Visit EddyMaxx's Facebook Visit EddyMaxx's PS3 Profile Visit EddyMaxx's YouTube
Default Re: Will 09' Maxima Motor Fit 08' Maxima?

Originally Posted by deep007 View Post
thats for the input guys ya i think it should fit since they both are front wheel drive nd i will get 290hp plus mod
Just because you are swapping the motors does not mean you will gain the same 290HP. You will be at about the same level you are now.

The 290HP comes from a different drive-train..ecu update etc....
__________________
04' Nissan Maxima - [Supercharged w/ HR Swapped Motor & Fully Built Auto Trans]
98' Nissan Maxima - [VQ35DE 6-Speed Supercharged]

6thgen 2014 Build Thread
EddyMaxx is offline   Send a private message to EddyMaxx Find more posts by EddyMaxx Add EddyMaxx to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 12-05-2010, 08:54 PM   Thread Starter #11
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
deep007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Official Member #: 301
Last Online: 07-26-2014 02:12 PM
Location: CA
Posts: 1,232

Reputation Level: 12
deep007 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Official Ride  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: Will 09' Maxima Motor Fit 08' Maxima?

Oo ok i got you guys..but im getting the whole 09.. Front is in great shape not even the scratch..but the rear nd all the up to drive seat is fucked up so i dont he said he can get it around 1000 but idk yet
deep007 is offline   Send a private message to deep007 Find more posts by deep007 Add deep007 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 12-06-2010, 12:42 PM   #12
Premier Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
NiZMo1o1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Official Member #: 211
Last Online: 10-20-2016 11:20 AM
Location: Wade County ! down in Sunny Florida
Posts: 5,222

Reputation Level: 42
NiZMo1o1 has a spectacular aura aboutNiZMo1o1 has a spectacular aura aboutNiZMo1o1 has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 20%
Activity: 20% Activity: 20% Activity: 20%

My Awards:
Supporting Family Member  


/ Point Value: 10

Member of the Month (M.O.T.M)  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: Will 09' Maxima Motor Fit 08' Maxima?

the 09 VQ is a HR motor , The Heads are NOT the same , the wiring harness also is differnt VS 04s and up.

The Intake manifold is more smaller ,

The mounts are differnt as well as well as the subframe. Another thing is differnt is the oil pans.

It would not be worth your wild to make it work if your going for the 290hp motor.

A g35/350z motor also WONT work , the casting for the place of the motor mount is in a total differnt location, plus you would also need your timming cover from a FWD since the Alternator / A/C are in a differnt location.

if its just a placement motor Muranos/Altima/02-08 Maxima.

We have a 4th gen down here with the 08 Altima Motor with the Plastic Upper Manifold. but hes not even using it to the full potiental , because hes not even using vtc and the vias its pretty much
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.
Click the image to open in full size.
R.I.P. Kevin007www.EmeraldPerformance.com
NiZMo1o1 is offline   Send a private message to NiZMo1o1 Find more posts by NiZMo1o1 Add NiZMo1o1 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 12-06-2010, 12:47 PM   #13
The Go To Guy
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Mr DoLLa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Official Member #: 59
Last Online: 12-09-2014 03:40 PM
Location: bEEn MaNy pLaCeS bUt Im BrOOkLyN's OwN
Posts: 1,410

Reputation Level: 27
Mr DoLLa has a spectacular aura aboutMr DoLLa has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Member of the Month (M.O.T.M)  


/ Point Value: 10

Banner of The Month  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: Will 09' Maxima Motor Fit 08' Maxima?

^^ Yeah, exactly what he said is what I was saying. Lol.
__________________
sO cHiLLy cHiLL
Mr DoLLa is offline   Send a private message to Mr DoLLa Find more posts by Mr DoLLa Add Mr DoLLa to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 Members And 1 Guests)
 
Thread Tools


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:06 PM.