Register My Garage Arcade V.I.P Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read
Go Back   my6thgen.org - Maxima Forum > my6thgen.org - Very Useful Information > Ask Your Technical & General Questions > Engine, Trans, F/I & Tuning

Reply
ExclamationThis thread is more than 150+ days old. If you still feel it is necessary to bump this thread, you have the permission to do so. Please click the checkbox below and post your reply.
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-06-2010, 06:37 PM   Thread Starter #1
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
red box's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Official Member #: 1176
Last Online: 04-02-2011 03:38 PM
Posts: 45

Reputation Level: 0
red box is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default SAFC2

Hey 6th gen brothers and sisters, do any one with a SAFC on there 6th gen maxima know the set up on the SAFC for our maxima? We have A34 MAF sensor, so what is the in/out on the SAFC for a 6th gen? Do we still have a,Hotwire sensor on our 6th gen? on the SAFC for the airflow signal on the 6th gen do we use the pink and orange wires on the SAFC? On the A32 MAF sensor maxima guys use the yellow and white wires of the SAFC for the airflow signal. Last to we use the knock sensor for the 6th on the SAFC? Because on A32 MAF sensor maxima guys didnt use the knock sensor hook up on the SAFC.
red box is offline   Send a private message to red box Find more posts by red box Add red box to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-06-2010, 09:35 PM   #2
Premier Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
NiZMo1o1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Official Member #: 211
Last Online: 10-20-2016 11:20 AM
Location: Wade County ! down in Sunny Florida
Posts: 5,222

Reputation Level: 42
NiZMo1o1 has a spectacular aura aboutNiZMo1o1 has a spectacular aura aboutNiZMo1o1 has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 20%
Activity: 20% Activity: 20% Activity: 20%

My Awards:
Supporting Family Member  


/ Point Value: 10

Member of the Month (M.O.T.M)  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: SAFC

welcome to the site, try messaging Ramberg , or maximaburg , I belive they both are running a SAFC
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.
Click the image to open in full size.
R.I.P. Kevin007www.EmeraldPerformance.com
NiZMo1o1 is offline   Send a private message to NiZMo1o1 Find more posts by NiZMo1o1 Add NiZMo1o1 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-07-2010, 08:56 AM   Thread Starter #3
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
red box's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Official Member #: 1176
Last Online: 04-02-2011 03:38 PM
Posts: 45

Reputation Level: 0
red box is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: SAFC

Hey, thanks for the reply, i need help setting the SAFC on the 6th.
red box is offline   Send a private message to red box Find more posts by red box Add red box to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-07-2010, 09:28 AM   #4
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
i8wd40b4u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Official Member #: 994
Last Online: 07-13-2013 01:37 PM
Posts: 186

Reputation Level: 10
i8wd40b4u is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: SAFC

glad to hear that there is a person who wants to do something with their max! lol, if you get a PM, please post it up if there are details, always like to learn stuff ! Do you have a wideband btw? and r u runing a II or a neo SAFC? AND one last touch, I sorta remember some members saying that the prefeared Air to Fuel ratio would be 13, coming from a 14.8ish stock? Go look at all of our posts, this forum is a little confusing, but everything is organized! Glad to have you here, btw check this post out http://www.my6thgen.org/showthread.php?t=904 sounds like u want to do performance stuff
__________________
i8wd40b4u is offline   Send a private message to i8wd40b4u Find more posts by i8wd40b4u Add i8wd40b4u to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-07-2010, 09:52 AM   Thread Starter #5
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
red box's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Official Member #: 1176
Last Online: 04-02-2011 03:38 PM
Posts: 45

Reputation Level: 0
red box is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: SAFC

I have a SAFC II AND A BULLY DOG, NO WIDE BAND.
red box is offline   Send a private message to red box Find more posts by red box Add red box to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-07-2010, 11:34 AM   #6
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
i8wd40b4u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Official Member #: 994
Last Online: 07-13-2013 01:37 PM
Posts: 186

Reputation Level: 10
i8wd40b4u is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: SAFC

So you can do engine timing too, thats good , just encase u want to take the battery off for a while for the car to re-learn itself, but the +2 timing goes 3/4 of the times. Good luck, hope u get a quick reply.
__________________
i8wd40b4u is offline   Send a private message to i8wd40b4u Find more posts by i8wd40b4u Add i8wd40b4u to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-07-2010, 01:50 PM   Thread Starter #7
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
red box's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Official Member #: 1176
Last Online: 04-02-2011 03:38 PM
Posts: 45

Reputation Level: 0
red box is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: SAFCII

SO CANT USE THE BULL DOG AND THE SAFCII AT THE SAME TIME. I TOOK MY BATTERY OFF FOR A LONG DURING A CAR ACCIDENT AND THAT BULL DOG PORGRAM DIDNT GO AWAY, I DIDNT HAVE TO INSTALL AGAIN.
red box is offline   Send a private message to red box Find more posts by red box Add red box to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-07-2010, 03:26 PM   #8
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
i8wd40b4u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Official Member #: 994
Last Online: 07-13-2013 01:37 PM
Posts: 186

Reputation Level: 10
i8wd40b4u is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: SAFCII

cool, then your the 1/4 that don't have the problem, what year is your car, and whats up with the caps LOL
__________________
i8wd40b4u is offline   Send a private message to i8wd40b4u Find more posts by i8wd40b4u Add i8wd40b4u to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-07-2010, 05:19 PM   Thread Starter #9
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
red box's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Official Member #: 1176
Last Online: 04-02-2011 03:38 PM
Posts: 45

Reputation Level: 0
red box is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: SAFCII

I HAVE A 2006 SE MAXIMA WITH ALL THE BOLTS ON BESIDE A TUBO ARE NOS. I HAVE A CELL FROM THE PERCAT MOVE FROM THE HEADER TO THE BACK OF THE CAT. WHEN I CLEAR THE CELL IT SEEM TO COME BACK ON AROUND 2000RPM -2500RPM ANY THING OVER THAT AND THE CELL DOES NOT COME BACK AT ALL. I THINK THE MAXIAM IS EITHER RUNNING TO RICH ARE TO LEAN DURING CLOSE LOOP AT LOW RPM. ALSO MY PULL OFF THE RED LINE IS GREAT BUT POWER IS LOST AT HIGHER RPM. WITH THE BULL DOG I HAVE MY RPM SET AT 6800 AND IN LOWER GEAR ,I HIT THAT MARK EVERTIME BUT LOOSING POWER IN 4TH AND 5TH GEAR. THIS 6THGEN NEED A DYNO TUNE BAD. I NEVER GOTTING A LEAD ARE RICH CODES BUT I FEEL LIKE POWER IS LOOSE IN THOSE GEARS.
red box is offline   Send a private message to red box Find more posts by red box Add red box to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-07-2010, 05:53 PM   #10
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
i8wd40b4u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Official Member #: 994
Last Online: 07-13-2013 01:37 PM
Posts: 186

Reputation Level: 10
i8wd40b4u is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: SAFCII

lol I swearz you are using a cell phone to type this stuff But I get what you are saying for the most part, too bad i cannot relate, I have a CVT, 07 SL, with no performance mods yet, but in the future, I will have probably everything but headers, cams, and fuel pump. But my say on this is that since you have all your mods ! your low end torque is suffering ! You need a tune to make everything work like the human body, your car is like frankenstein. Picture him walking vs some regular person, did you bore your manifold / getting a new upper intake one or cut out the extra metal?
i8wd40b4u is offline   Send a private message to i8wd40b4u Find more posts by i8wd40b4u Add i8wd40b4u to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-07-2010, 07:27 PM   #11
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
tookrzy4u192's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Official Member #: 85
Last Online: 07-29-2018 04:38 PM
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 459

Reputation Level: 15
tookrzy4u192 will become famous soon enough

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Spotlight Ride Of The Month  


/ Point Value: 5

Default Re: SAFCII

Originally Posted by red box View Post
I HAVE A 2006 SE MAXIMA WITH ALL THE BOLTS ON BESIDE A TUBO ARE NOS. I HAVE A CELL FROM THE PERCAT MOVE FROM THE HEADER TO THE BACK OF THE CAT. WHEN I CLEAR THE CELL IT SEEM TO COME BACK ON AROUND 2000RPM -2500RPM ANY THING OVER THAT AND THE CELL DOES NOT COME BACK AT ALL. I THINK THE MAXIAM IS EITHER RUNNING TO RICH ARE TO LEAN DURING CLOSE LOOP AT LOW RPM. ALSO MY PULL OFF THE RED LINE IS GREAT BUT POWER IS LOST AT HIGHER RPM. WITH THE BULL DOG I HAVE MY RPM SET AT 6800 AND IN LOWER GEAR ,I HIT THAT MARK EVERTIME BUT LOOSING POWER IN 4TH AND 5TH GEAR. THIS 6THGEN NEED A DYNO TUNE BAD. I NEVER GOTTING A LEAD ARE RICH CODES BUT I FEEL LIKE POWER IS LOOSE IN THOSE GEARS.
I would recommend a wideband If you don't already have it.. You can then street tune it yourself and make sure at all times that your car is running healthy.

Your afr while just driving normal should be at 14.7 but will fluctuate a little. A good afr to shoot for going WOT will be 12.7-13.5
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.
tookrzy4u192 is offline   Send a private message to tookrzy4u192 Find more posts by tookrzy4u192 Add tookrzy4u192 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-07-2010, 07:48 PM   Thread Starter #12
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
red box's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Official Member #: 1176
Last Online: 04-02-2011 03:38 PM
Posts: 45

Reputation Level: 0
red box is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: SAFCII

LOL SORRY, I HAVE A KINETIX INTAKE MANIFOLD AND 255 FUEL PUMP ALSO. YOU ARE SO RIGHT,MY CAR IS LIKE FRANKENSTEIN LOL. MY LOW END TORQUE FEELS OK TO ME, THE 6THGEN PULL LIKE CRAZY WITH HEADER AND FULL CAT BACK. ITS THE HIGH MID AND HIGH END THATS FATING OUT IN 5TH GEAR. THIS CAR IS SUFFING BIG TIME, IT HAS THE TOOL TO MAKE CRAZY POWER FOR A N/A BUT IT NEEDS TO BE TUNE. I HAVE A SAFCII BUT WOULDNT DO ME ANY GOOD WITH OUT THE RIGHT SETTING FOR THE 06 MAXIMA. THE RIGHT NUMBERS ARE VERY IMPORTANT TO HAVE WHEN TRYING TO TUNE WITH A SAFCII AND IF NOT ILL BE BACK IN THE SAME MESS IM IN RIGHT NOW WITH PERFORMACE PARTS AND ALONG WITH A BAD TUNE IF I DONT GET THE INFO I NEED TO MAKE THIS FRANKENSTEIN KICK SOME ASS....LOL
red box is offline   Send a private message to red box Find more posts by red box Add red box to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-07-2010, 08:18 PM   #13
Senior Moderator
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Chemax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Official Member #: 140
Last Online: 10-04-2014 01:46 PM
Location: SATX
Posts: 11,313

Reputation Level: 51
Chemax has a spectacular aura aboutChemax has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Supporting Family Member  


/ Point Value: 10

Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Default Re: SAFC2

Hey, uh... is your keyboard broken or caps-lock stuck?
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.
We all have different ways of coping - I use sex and awesomeness.

mmm.... chorizo
-csiepka
Chemax is offline   Send a private message to Chemax Find more posts by Chemax Add Chemax to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-07-2010, 10:38 PM   #14
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
i8wd40b4u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Official Member #: 994
Last Online: 07-13-2013 01:37 PM
Posts: 186

Reputation Level: 10
i8wd40b4u is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: SAFCII

Hehe, he keeps on dodging why its on caps! Doesn't matter, getting use to it by now, yeppp wideband and a good pair of tuners will have that thing cranking what its suppose to! And maybe even save you some fuel... sorta... kinda.... well actually yea, if they get the flow right, intake, a/f, and exhaust is free flowing, you are making your engine produce more HP, its just the point of you saying, OH i want more power, so I will use more fuel thing, but other than that, its a efficient machine and if it was a CVT heheh.
__________________
i8wd40b4u is offline   Send a private message to i8wd40b4u Find more posts by i8wd40b4u Add i8wd40b4u to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-07-2010, 11:41 PM   Thread Starter #15
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
red box's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Official Member #: 1176
Last Online: 04-02-2011 03:38 PM
Posts: 45

Reputation Level: 0
red box is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: SAFCII

LOL, I SEE THAT EVERONE HATE THE CAP SHIT, SO HERE WE GO AGAIN. LOL The 6th gen is using a lot of fuel at this time and rolling on 255/45/18 is not helping thing out either when it come down to fuel. Why to i need a wideband when im going to be getting a dyno tune where they have one already. street tuning is not the best tuning if want to do it the right way.
red box is offline   Send a private message to red box Find more posts by red box Add red box to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-07-2010, 11:58 PM   #16
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
i8wd40b4u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Official Member #: 994
Last Online: 07-13-2013 01:37 PM
Posts: 186

Reputation Level: 10
i8wd40b4u is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: SAFCII

yea, but like if u want to tune it yourself, u need / want it, if you get it protuned for 250-500 bucks they will figure out a way to measure the stuff right
__________________
i8wd40b4u is offline   Send a private message to i8wd40b4u Find more posts by i8wd40b4u Add i8wd40b4u to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-08-2010, 12:29 AM   #17
The Irish 6th Gen!
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
iirishsamuraii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Official Member #: 61
Last Online: 05-02-2014 07:53 AM
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,733

Reputation Level: 15
iirishsamuraii is on a distinguished road

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Supporting Family Member  


/ Point Value: 10

Banner of The Month  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: SAFCII

I have the SAFC installed on my car infact there is a thread on this forum that already has the wiring instructions go to "search" at the top of the page and type in Apexi and you will find what you are looking for
iirishsamuraii is offline   Send a private message to iirishsamuraii Find more posts by iirishsamuraii Add iirishsamuraii to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-08-2010, 12:49 PM   Thread Starter #18
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
red box's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Official Member #: 1176
Last Online: 04-02-2011 03:38 PM
Posts: 45

Reputation Level: 0
red box is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: SAFCII

YEA, but irishsamurail i already have the wire instruction thank you. I need the right setting for the SAFC befor I start the car after I install the SAFC on the 6thgen? The right in/out, the sensor typ, hi/lo thrott, ect.? if you have any ideal please shear them with me? And will the SAFCII work along with my bully dog program inside my ECM?
red box is offline   Send a private message to red box Find more posts by red box Add red box to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-08-2010, 03:09 PM   #19
Chi Towns Finest
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Javi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Official Member #: 508
Last Online: 09-27-2016 03:59 PM
Location: Chicago
Posts: 923

Reputation Level: 11
Javi is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: SAFCII

what is a SAFC????
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.
Javi is offline   Send a private message to Javi Find more posts by Javi Add Javi to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-08-2010, 04:44 PM   #20
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
i8wd40b4u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Official Member #: 994
Last Online: 07-13-2013 01:37 PM
Posts: 186

Reputation Level: 10
i8wd40b4u is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: SAFCII

Originally Posted by Javi View Post
what is a SAFC????
there are 2 types, II and the NEO that we use, neo is newer / prettier lol, it is a tuner i guess you can say, it lets u change a lot of stuff, main purpose is to make a smooth and rich flow of gas and air in your engine when it combusts. Only thing is that it doesnt do + 2 engine timing
__________________
i8wd40b4u is offline   Send a private message to i8wd40b4u Find more posts by i8wd40b4u Add i8wd40b4u to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-08-2010, 05:01 PM   #21
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
hero782's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Official Member #: 335
Last Online: 07-05-2018 03:34 PM
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,834

Reputation Level: 23
hero782 will become famous soon enoughhero782 will become famous soon enough

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Spotlight Ride Of The Month  


/ Point Value: 5

Official Ride  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: SAFCII

I just picked up a apexi neo, i dont know how to use it either lol. I wanna get the high flow cats first then install the neo to tune it, but Im considering taking it to get dyno'd tune first thou
hero782 is offline   Send a private message to hero782 Find more posts by hero782 Add hero782 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-08-2010, 08:07 PM   #22
The Irish 6th Gen!
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
iirishsamuraii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Official Member #: 61
Last Online: 05-02-2014 07:53 AM
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,733

Reputation Level: 15
iirishsamuraii is on a distinguished road

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Supporting Family Member  


/ Point Value: 10

Banner of The Month  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: SAFCII

Originally Posted by Javi View Post
what is a SAFC????

its an air fuel controller, it allows for 'basic' tuning it doesnt let you do a full ecu tune which normally includes throttle body control to achieve wide open throttle at all speeds, rev limiter, speed limiter, and cam phasing and obviously a/f and other things

if you are in the try state area I made an arrangement with a speed shop using Osiris, which is the best ecu reflash tuning for the VQ motor, for a group deal on the tuning and the Osiris license
iirishsamuraii is offline   Send a private message to iirishsamuraii Find more posts by iirishsamuraii Add iirishsamuraii to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-08-2010, 08:29 PM   Thread Starter #23
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
red box's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Official Member #: 1176
Last Online: 04-02-2011 03:38 PM
Posts: 45

Reputation Level: 0
red box is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: SAFCII

i have a S-AfcII and its one of the best when come down to air fuel controller. I use it on my 1997 supercharge A32 maxima.
red box is offline   Send a private message to red box Find more posts by red box Add red box to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-08-2010, 08:34 PM   Thread Starter #24
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
red box's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Official Member #: 1176
Last Online: 04-02-2011 03:38 PM
Posts: 45

Reputation Level: 0
red box is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: SAFCII

The setting on a SAFCII for a A32 MAF sensor is going to be diffence on a 6thgen A34 MAF sensor. I like to know what setting guys are using on the 6thgen for the SAFCII?
red box is offline   Send a private message to red box Find more posts by red box Add red box to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-08-2010, 08:48 PM   #25
The Irish 6th Gen!
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
iirishsamuraii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Official Member #: 61
Last Online: 05-02-2014 07:53 AM
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,733

Reputation Level: 15
iirishsamuraii is on a distinguished road

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Supporting Family Member  


/ Point Value: 10

Banner of The Month  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: SAFCII

i dont remember next time i go outside ill check for u
iirishsamuraii is offline   Send a private message to iirishsamuraii Find more posts by iirishsamuraii Add iirishsamuraii to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 Members And 1 Guests)
 
Thread Tools


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:37 PM.