Register My Garage Arcade V.I.P Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read
Go Back   my6thgen.org - Maxima Forum > my6thgen.org - Very Useful Information > Ask Your Technical & General Questions > Engine, Trans, F/I & Tuning

Reply
ExclamationThis thread is more than 150+ days old. If you still feel it is necessary to bump this thread, you have the permission to do so. Please click the checkbox below and post your reply.
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-21-2011, 06:12 PM   Thread Starter #1
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
TayWolf55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Official Member #: 1127
Last Online: 02-29-2016 05:36 PM
Posts: 13

Reputation Level: 0
TayWolf55 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Need help with P0300 and Fuel Pressure

Hey guys I need some help with a P0300 code and a pretty big misfire that started last night.

I was getting on the car just a little when the SES started flashing and the car started misfiring pretty bad. I'm 95% positive it's not just one cylinder misfiring. A friend of mine scanned the codes and came up with p0300, which of course, is cylinder misfire.

The car has 120k miles on it, and before we rip the upper intake off and purchas all new spark plugs / coils we figured we would test the fuel pressure to make sure there's enough fuel going in.

Is there a way to check fuel pressure without taking it to Nissan? They say they have a special tool designed by Nissan, and without, it's impossible.

Thanks,
Taylor
TayWolf55 is offline   Send a private message to TayWolf55 Find more posts by TayWolf55 Add TayWolf55 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 06-21-2011, 09:09 PM   #2
Premier Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
NiZMo1o1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Official Member #: 211
Last Online: 10-20-2016 11:20 AM
Location: Wade County ! down in Sunny Florida
Posts: 5,222

Reputation Level: 42
NiZMo1o1 has a spectacular aura aboutNiZMo1o1 has a spectacular aura aboutNiZMo1o1 has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 20%
Activity: 20% Activity: 20% Activity: 20%

My Awards:
Supporting Family Member  


/ Point Value: 10

Member of the Month (M.O.T.M)  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: Need help with P0300 and Fuel Pressure

usually the scanner will show which cylinder is missing.

mis firing could be cause by two things on our motors,

clog cats OR mainly bad coil packs,

VQs are known for having coil pack issues, does your scanner show which cylinder ?

if not then swap the front ones around and crank the car.

as for the fuel thing, a clog injector would make the car lean as well or a clog fuel filter which is in the tank.

I doubt its the fuel issues
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.
Click the image to open in full size.
R.I.P. Kevin007www.EmeraldPerformance.com
NiZMo1o1 is offline   Send a private message to NiZMo1o1 Find more posts by NiZMo1o1 Add NiZMo1o1 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 06-21-2011, 09:43 PM   Thread Starter #3
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
TayWolf55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Official Member #: 1127
Last Online: 02-29-2016 05:36 PM
Posts: 13

Reputation Level: 0
TayWolf55 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Need help with P0300 and Fuel Pressure

Thanks for the reply.

We drove around a little bit with the scanner and it was P0300 and P0301 which I assume means random misfire, and also cylinder 1 misfire.

Is this a sign that ONLY the first cylinder is misfiring?
TayWolf55 is offline   Send a private message to TayWolf55 Find more posts by TayWolf55 Add TayWolf55 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 06-21-2011, 10:03 PM   #4
Premier Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
NiZMo1o1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Official Member #: 211
Last Online: 10-20-2016 11:20 AM
Location: Wade County ! down in Sunny Florida
Posts: 5,222

Reputation Level: 42
NiZMo1o1 has a spectacular aura aboutNiZMo1o1 has a spectacular aura aboutNiZMo1o1 has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 20%
Activity: 20% Activity: 20% Activity: 20%

My Awards:
Supporting Family Member  


/ Point Value: 10

Member of the Month (M.O.T.M)  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: Need help with P0300 and Fuel Pressure

Originally Posted by TayWolf55 View Post
Thanks for the reply.

We drove around a little bit with the scanner and it was P0300 and P0301 which I assume means random misfire, and also cylinder 1 misfire.

Is this a sign that ONLY the first cylinder is misfiring?
swap coilpack 1 with # 3

see if the misfires is now p0303 , if SO that coilpack needs to be replace.
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.
Click the image to open in full size.
R.I.P. Kevin007www.EmeraldPerformance.com
NiZMo1o1 is offline   Send a private message to NiZMo1o1 Find more posts by NiZMo1o1 Add NiZMo1o1 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 06-23-2011, 12:20 AM   Thread Starter #5
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
TayWolf55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Official Member #: 1127
Last Online: 02-29-2016 05:36 PM
Posts: 13

Reputation Level: 0
TayWolf55 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Need help with P0300 and Fuel Pressure

Thanks for the advice.

I wouldn't consider myself a mechanic, but I was able to get the intake off today and get all 6 spark plugs out. Spark plug #1 looked VERY rough.

I tried searching, but is there an easy guide to checking the coil packs? I've got an ohm meter, I just have no idea how to use it. I would like to do this without putting the engine back together.

Right now it's looking like the spark plug is probably to blame, but while I'm there, I might as well check it.

edit - also, the local auto parts store was unable to find the intake gasket by itself. Only in a kit for $30? Is this a gasket I need to go straight to Nissan for?
TayWolf55 is offline   Send a private message to TayWolf55 Find more posts by TayWolf55 Add TayWolf55 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 06-23-2011, 09:31 PM   Thread Starter #6
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
TayWolf55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Official Member #: 1127
Last Online: 02-29-2016 05:36 PM
Posts: 13

Reputation Level: 0
TayWolf55 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Need help with P0300 and Fuel Pressure

Well I ended up swapping the coil pack from 1 to the front to make it easier to get to. Also put in all new plugs which it seems like the car needed pretty badly.

I didn't have a scanner, and had to use the onboard flashing cel light, and it seems to just be throwing the p0300 code now and still misfiring.

Last edited by TayWolf55; 06-23-2011 at 09:36 PM.
TayWolf55 is offline   Send a private message to TayWolf55 Find more posts by TayWolf55 Add TayWolf55 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 06-24-2011, 02:10 AM   #7
East LA's Official 6th Gen Maxima
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
georgelv1999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Official Member #: 206
Last Online: 03-19-2016 11:22 PM
Location: East Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 901

Reputation Level: 15
georgelv1999 is on a distinguished road

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Need help with P0300 and Fuel Pressure

The plugs last about 100k. If you hadn't changed them it was time. As far as coil packs it didn't throw any other codes? You know it's misfiring, just gotta know if when you switched the coil packs it moved to a different cylinder.
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.
Click the image to open in full size.
georgelv1999 is offline   Send a private message to georgelv1999 Find more posts by georgelv1999 Add georgelv1999 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 06-24-2011, 05:28 PM   Thread Starter #8
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
TayWolf55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Official Member #: 1127
Last Online: 02-29-2016 05:36 PM
Posts: 13

Reputation Level: 0
TayWolf55 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Need help with P0300 and Fuel Pressure

Took it to the shop today, and they figured it out to be a bad mass air flow sensor. Trying to find one online before I pay $200 for one here.

you try cleaning the MAF sensor first ?

what do you mean ( they figure it out to be a bad MAF ? )

did they use a scanner ? I would use the CRC MAF cleaner first,

then reset the ECU and start the car and let it idle and run for 20 mins or so to let the ECU go thru the relearn phase.

the MAF could be just dirty from having an aftermarket intake.

Last edited by NiZMo1o1; 06-25-2011 at 01:59 AM.
TayWolf55 is offline   Send a private message to TayWolf55 Find more posts by TayWolf55 Add TayWolf55 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 06-25-2011, 12:08 AM   #9
Senior Moderator
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Chemax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Official Member #: 140
Last Online: 10-04-2014 01:46 PM
Location: SATX
Posts: 11,313

Reputation Level: 51
Chemax has a spectacular aura aboutChemax has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Supporting Family Member  


/ Point Value: 10

Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Default Re: Need help with P0300 and Fuel Pressure

Originally Posted by TayWolf55 View Post
Took it to the shop today, and they figured it out to be a bad mass air flow sensor. Trying to find one online before I pay $200 for one here.
Be very picky about that. Try to read reviews before you buy.

Can't remember if anyone had a place to get them.

Does @MrDolla have a hookup for that?
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.
We all have different ways of coping - I use sex and awesomeness.

mmm.... chorizo
-csiepka
Chemax is offline   Send a private message to Chemax Find more posts by Chemax Add Chemax to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 06-25-2011, 02:14 AM   Thread Starter #10
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
TayWolf55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Official Member #: 1127
Last Online: 02-29-2016 05:36 PM
Posts: 13

Reputation Level: 0
TayWolf55 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Need help with P0300 and Fuel Pressure

Originally Posted by Chemax View Post
Be very picky about that. Try to read reviews before you buy.

Can't remember if anyone had a place to get them.

Does @MrDolla have a hookup for that?
Well, sorry to keep bumping this with my own updates.

Got rid of my brainfart and remembered a friend had an 03 G35.

Swung by, and he was more than happy to let me swap some parts.

Mass air flow... Nada.

From earlier in the thread, where I said I switched coil #1 and #3 because of the original p0301...

Swapped coil... fixed half the issue.

I'm now confident my problem is 2 bad coils. And a wasted $50 for a diagnosis.
TayWolf55 is offline   Send a private message to TayWolf55 Find more posts by TayWolf55 Add TayWolf55 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 07-01-2011, 04:18 AM   #11
East LA's Official 6th Gen Maxima
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
georgelv1999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Official Member #: 206
Last Online: 03-19-2016 11:22 PM
Location: East Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 901

Reputation Level: 15
georgelv1999 is on a distinguished road

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Need help with P0300 and Fuel Pressure

Any updates on the fix?
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.
Click the image to open in full size.
georgelv1999 is offline   Send a private message to georgelv1999 Find more posts by georgelv1999 Add georgelv1999 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 Members And 1 Guests)
 
Thread Tools


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:29 PM.