Register My Garage Arcade V.I.P Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read
Go Back   my6thgen.org - Maxima Forum > my6thgen.org - Very Useful Information > Ask Your Technical & General Questions > Engine, Trans, F/I & Tuning

Reply
ExclamationThis thread is more than 150+ days old. If you still feel it is necessary to bump this thread, you have the permission to do so. Please click the checkbox below and post your reply.
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-16-2013, 12:52 PM   Thread Starter #1
Premier Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
silvermax06's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Official Member #: 2470
Last Online: 06-03-2018 02:53 PM
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,173

Reputation Level: 10
silvermax06 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Need Help With Code

Well my car gave me this code today. P2A00.. Have no idea where to start.
Any help would be great...
silvermax06 is offline   Send a private message to silvermax06 Find more posts by silvermax06 Add silvermax06 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 07-16-2013, 01:01 PM   #2
Senior Moderator
The Capital's 6th Gen
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
officerfrasher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Official Member #: 1765
Last Online: 06-01-2018 10:32 AM
Location: Frankfort, KY 40601
Posts: 13,375

Reputation Level: 58
officerfrasher has a spectacular aura aboutofficerfrasher has a spectacular aura aboutofficerfrasher has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Member of the Month (M.O.T.M)  


/ Point Value: 10

Supporting Family Member  


/ Point Value: 10

Official Ride  


/ Point Value: 10

Spotlight Ride Of The Month  


/ Point Value: 5

Default Re: Need Help With Code

What's the description of the code? What symptoms is the car having?
officerfrasher is offline   Send a private message to officerfrasher Find more posts by officerfrasher Add officerfrasher to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 07-16-2013, 01:03 PM   Thread Starter #3
Premier Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
silvermax06's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Official Member #: 2470
Last Online: 06-03-2018 02:53 PM
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,173

Reputation Level: 10
silvermax06 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Need Help With Code

Originally Posted by officerfrasher View Post
What's the description of the code? What symptoms is the car having?
Car has no issues running. It says intake air leak. High fuel pressure or leaking injector. AF ratio sensor heater circuit fault. Failed AF sensor..
silvermax06 is offline   Send a private message to silvermax06 Find more posts by silvermax06 Add silvermax06 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 07-16-2013, 01:08 PM   #4
Moderator
Burnt Orange
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
BurntOrangeAppeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Official Member #: 2887
Last Online: 12-04-2014 04:56 PM
Location: Under the Bridge
Posts: 2,816

Reputation Level: 33
BurntOrangeAppeal has a spectacular aura aboutBurntOrangeAppeal has a spectacular aura aboutBurntOrangeAppeal has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Need Help With Code

Bank 1 A/F sensor. (Firewall)
You need to purchase a brand new bosch replacement. Perfor a manual adaptive learning procedure. As described below.
You can also use the elm327 dongle and a phone of your choice to perform the code earasing thats reguired.

1. Start engine and warm it up to normal operating temperature.
2. Turn ignition switch OFF.
3. Disconnect mass air flow sensor harness connector, and restart and run engine for at least 5 seconds at idle speed.
4. Stop engine and reconnect mass air flow sensor harness connector.
5. Make sure DTC P0102 is displayed.
6. Erase the DTC memory.
7. Make sure DTC P0000 is displayed.
8. Run engine for at least 10 minutes at idle speed.
__________________
'04 SE 6MT, Elite.
'01 SE Anniversary.
'97 GXE.
Click the image to open in full size.
Click the image to open in full size.
-=My Build Tread=-
BurntOrangeAppeal is offline   Send a private message to BurntOrangeAppeal Find more posts by BurntOrangeAppeal Add BurntOrangeAppeal to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 07-18-2013, 10:42 AM   Thread Starter #5
Premier Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
silvermax06's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Official Member #: 2470
Last Online: 06-03-2018 02:53 PM
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,173

Reputation Level: 10
silvermax06 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Need Help With Code

I fixed it. Seems to have been the gas cap. Disconnected the battery for 5-10 minutes. unscrewed the gas cap and put it back. Hooked battery back up. Have drove for 5 or 6 hours in the last 2 days. Im on vacation so putting some miles on her .. everything seems fine no codes yet..
silvermax06 is offline   Send a private message to silvermax06 Find more posts by silvermax06 Add silvermax06 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 07-18-2013, 12:13 PM   #6
Moderator
Burnt Orange
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
BurntOrangeAppeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Official Member #: 2887
Last Online: 12-04-2014 04:56 PM
Location: Under the Bridge
Posts: 2,816

Reputation Level: 33
BurntOrangeAppeal has a spectacular aura aboutBurntOrangeAppeal has a spectacular aura aboutBurntOrangeAppeal has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Need Help With Code

Disconnecting the battery does not fix codes. IMO,She will come back. Its a matter of time. Also, a loose gas cap throws a different code.
__________________
'04 SE 6MT, Elite.
'01 SE Anniversary.
'97 GXE.
Click the image to open in full size.
Click the image to open in full size.
-=My Build Tread=-
BurntOrangeAppeal is offline   Send a private message to BurntOrangeAppeal Find more posts by BurntOrangeAppeal Add BurntOrangeAppeal to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 07-18-2013, 04:20 PM   Thread Starter #7
Premier Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
silvermax06's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Official Member #: 2470
Last Online: 06-03-2018 02:53 PM
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,173

Reputation Level: 10
silvermax06 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Need Help With Code

I have traveled a long distance for a couple of days. With no code coming back. If it does i will post it.
Likes: (1)
BurntOrangeAppeal (07-18-2013)
silvermax06 is offline   Send a private message to silvermax06 Find more posts by silvermax06 Add silvermax06 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 07-19-2013, 12:40 AM   #8
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
timpol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Official Member #: 584
Last Online: 11-29-2015 10:49 AM
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 274

Reputation Level: 9
timpol is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Need Help With Code

Originally Posted by BurntOrangeAppeal View Post
Disconnecting the battery does not fix codes. IMO,She will come back. Its a matter of time. Also, a loose gas cap throws a different code.
Concur. I have this code now myself and it's not related to the fuel cap.
timpol is offline   Send a private message to timpol Find more posts by timpol Add timpol to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 07-19-2013, 09:25 AM   Thread Starter #9
Premier Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
silvermax06's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Official Member #: 2470
Last Online: 06-03-2018 02:53 PM
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,173

Reputation Level: 10
silvermax06 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Need Help With Code

Well another day no code again. If it was the sensor it would have popped on again by now. Had that problem with my ser. But that was because of a header install.. And disconnecting the battery does clear the code. Some cars have a set time to retain memory before clearing it after power loss....
silvermax06 is offline   Send a private message to silvermax06 Find more posts by silvermax06 Add silvermax06 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 10-01-2013, 06:00 PM   #10
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
richyun6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Official Member #: 11262
Last Online: 02-17-2014 08:01 PM
Posts: 14

Reputation Level: 0
richyun6 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Need Help With Code

hey @BurntOrangeAppeal i have a quick question for you if you dont mind. Im also having that same exact code being thrown on my 06 maxi. I went to autozone and got the same code p2a00 and im receiving very bad gas mileage 12- 14 mpg. Im trying to order the sensor online from rockauto or ebay to have my buddy install it for me and idk which one to buy. Is it the upstream sensor or downstream sensor ? and also would only disconnecting the battery after replacement clear the light. Thanks in advance

Last edited by richyun6; 10-01-2013 at 06:03 PM.
richyun6 is offline   Send a private message to richyun6 Find more posts by richyun6 Add richyun6 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 10-01-2013, 07:06 PM   #11
Moderator
Burnt Orange
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
BurntOrangeAppeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Official Member #: 2887
Last Online: 12-04-2014 04:56 PM
Location: Under the Bridge
Posts: 2,816

Reputation Level: 33
BurntOrangeAppeal has a spectacular aura aboutBurntOrangeAppeal has a spectacular aura aboutBurntOrangeAppeal has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Need Help With Code

Originally Posted by richyun6 View Post
hey @BurntOrangeAppeal i have a quick question for you if you dont mind. Im also having that same exact code being thrown on my 06 maxi. I went to autozone and got the same code p2a00 and im receiving very bad gas mileage 12- 14 mpg. Im trying to order the sensor online from rockauto or ebay to have my buddy install it for me and idk which one to buy. Is it the upstream sensor or downstream sensor ? and also would only disconnecting the battery after replacement clear the light. Thanks in advance
You need an upstream A/F sensor. I buy mine at the dealer through the shop @ discount so I cant help with aftermarket info.
As far as the battery disconnect to perform relearns, that in afraid will NOT work. You need to stop/start adaptive releans for proper fueling and no CeLs, as posted.
__________________
'04 SE 6MT, Elite.
'01 SE Anniversary.
'97 GXE.
Click the image to open in full size.
Click the image to open in full size.
-=My Build Tread=-
BurntOrangeAppeal is offline   Send a private message to BurntOrangeAppeal Find more posts by BurntOrangeAppeal Add BurntOrangeAppeal to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 10-01-2013, 07:19 PM   #12
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
richyun6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Official Member #: 11262
Last Online: 02-17-2014 08:01 PM
Posts: 14

Reputation Level: 0
richyun6 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Need Help With Code

Thank you very much. Im still leaning on getting the aftermarket sensor so ill ask around the forum to see if anyone done it.


Posted Via Tapatalk - now Free
Likes: (1)
BurntOrangeAppeal (10-01-2013)
richyun6 is offline   Send a private message to richyun6 Find more posts by richyun6 Add richyun6 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 10-05-2013, 08:39 PM   #13
Senior Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
O.G.Nat-tral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Official Member #: 6274
Last Online: 03-06-2019 08:33 AM
Location: The B.X.
Posts: 695

Reputation Level: 8
O.G.Nat-tral is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Visit O.G.Nat-tral's PS3 Profile Visit O.G.Nat-tral's Twitter Visit O.G.Nat-tral's YouTube
Default Re: Need Help With Code

You guys are great...
__________________


Abused VQ
O.G.Nat-tral is offline   Send a private message to O.G.Nat-tral Find more posts by O.G.Nat-tral Add O.G.Nat-tral to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 Members And 1 Guests)
 
Thread Tools


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:55 PM.