Register My Garage Arcade V.I.P Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read
Go Back   my6thgen.org - Maxima Forum > my6thgen.org - Very Useful Information > Ask Your Technical & General Questions > Engine, Trans, F/I & Tuning

Reply
ExclamationThis thread is more than 150+ days old. If you still feel it is necessary to bump this thread, you have the permission to do so. Please click the checkbox below and post your reply.
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-28-2013, 11:34 PM   Thread Starter #1
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Brandon1023's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Official Member #: 10955
Last Online: 02-28-2016 04:51 PM
Posts: 30

Reputation Level: 0
Brandon1023 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Can't Get Tranny And Engine Aligned

Well, the title says it all. After all the work done to my Vq35, I'm finding it impossible to get the input shaft on the tranny to line up with the splines inside the torque converter. I have the engine on cinder blocks and I have tried balancing the tranny the best I can with the hoist, but no matter how straight they seem, the surfaces just don't mate. Any ideas? thanks.

Last edited by 06BlckMax; 07-29-2013 at 12:36 AM.
Brandon1023 is offline   Send a private message to Brandon1023 Find more posts by Brandon1023 Add Brandon1023 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 07-29-2013, 12:52 AM   #2
Senior Moderator
The Capital's 6th Gen
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
officerfrasher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Official Member #: 1765
Last Online: 06-01-2018 10:32 AM
Location: Frankfort, KY 40601
Posts: 13,375

Reputation Level: 58
officerfrasher has a spectacular aura aboutofficerfrasher has a spectacular aura aboutofficerfrasher has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Member of the Month (M.O.T.M)  


/ Point Value: 10

Supporting Family Member  


/ Point Value: 10

Official Ride  


/ Point Value: 10

Spotlight Ride Of The Month  


/ Point Value: 5

Default Re: Cant Get Tranny And Engine Aligned

Paging @BurntOrangeAppeal
officerfrasher is offline   Send a private message to officerfrasher Find more posts by officerfrasher Add officerfrasher to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 07-29-2013, 11:37 AM   Thread Starter #3
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Brandon1023's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Official Member #: 10955
Last Online: 02-28-2016 04:51 PM
Posts: 30

Reputation Level: 0
Brandon1023 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Cant Get Tranny And Engine Aligned

I have read on other forums that some users use long bolts threaded in to the transmission with the hex heads cut off. This way they can be used as guide pins and hopefully it'll make it a lot easier. Will update soon.

edit: Ok, same problem.

Last edited by Brandon1023; 07-29-2013 at 02:28 PM.
Brandon1023 is offline   Send a private message to Brandon1023 Find more posts by Brandon1023 Add Brandon1023 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 07-29-2013, 05:55 PM   #4
Executive Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Latinmaxima's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Official Member #: 1924
Last Online: 05-05-2016 04:32 PM
Location: Richmond, KY
Posts: 5,588

Reputation Level: 24
Latinmaxima is on a distinguished road

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Visit Latinmaxima's Facebook Visit Latinmaxima's PS3 Profile Visit Latinmaxima's YouTube Visit Latinmaxima's Xbox Gamercard
Default Re: Can't Get Tranny And Engine Aligned

Do you have the torque converter mounted to the engine or do you have it inside of the transmission already? It should be in the transmission the mount to the engine.

So says latinmaxima, so it shall be!
__________________
2004 Nissan Maxima SE<(^_^<)Samsung Galaxy Nexus(>^_^)> Motorola Xoom
Click the image to open in full size.
Latinmaxima is offline   Send a private message to Latinmaxima Find more posts by Latinmaxima Add Latinmaxima to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 07-29-2013, 07:32 PM   Thread Starter #5
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Brandon1023's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Official Member #: 10955
Last Online: 02-28-2016 04:51 PM
Posts: 30

Reputation Level: 0
Brandon1023 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Can't Get Tranny And Engine Aligned

Yea it's in there. At first, I had it on the flywheel, but I removed the bolts and dropped it on to the input shaft in the transmission casing. I even tried picking the engine up vertically and dropping it in there with the hoist, but it. STILL has about 1" of a gap that won't flush with the engine
Brandon1023 is offline   Send a private message to Brandon1023 Find more posts by Brandon1023 Add Brandon1023 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 07-29-2013, 08:33 PM   #6
Executive Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Latinmaxima's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Official Member #: 1924
Last Online: 05-05-2016 04:32 PM
Location: Richmond, KY
Posts: 5,588

Reputation Level: 24
Latinmaxima is on a distinguished road

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Visit Latinmaxima's Facebook Visit Latinmaxima's PS3 Profile Visit Latinmaxima's YouTube Visit Latinmaxima's Xbox Gamercard
Default Re: Can't Get Tranny And Engine Aligned

If you have the torque converter installed into the tranny once you begin to line them up rotate the torque converter as tour lining it up to the engine. Don't apply pressure constantly. Just rotate it and then attempt to line them up. If it doesn't pull away and rotate some more. It takes some time but it will work. Also make sure you have the converter all the way in. If it isn't you run the risk of shearing the input shaft. Not a fun fix.

So says latinmaxima, so it shall be!
__________________
2004 Nissan Maxima SE<(^_^<)Samsung Galaxy Nexus(>^_^)> Motorola Xoom
Click the image to open in full size.
Latinmaxima is offline   Send a private message to Latinmaxima Find more posts by Latinmaxima Add Latinmaxima to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 07-29-2013, 09:22 PM   Thread Starter #7
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Brandon1023's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Official Member #: 10955
Last Online: 02-28-2016 04:51 PM
Posts: 30

Reputation Level: 0
Brandon1023 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Can't Get Tranny And Engine Aligned

Alright I guess I'll give it another attempt before I go for the night (all this work Is exhausting). What do you think the easiest way to mount it would be? Removing the front suspension member? Is it possible to mount the engine, then drop the tranny seperately? When I had the transmission rebuilt, they removed it from the bottom of the car.
Brandon1023 is offline   Send a private message to Brandon1023 Find more posts by Brandon1023 Add Brandon1023 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 07-30-2013, 07:52 AM   #8
Executive Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Latinmaxima's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Official Member #: 1924
Last Online: 05-05-2016 04:32 PM
Location: Richmond, KY
Posts: 5,588

Reputation Level: 24
Latinmaxima is on a distinguished road

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Visit Latinmaxima's Facebook Visit Latinmaxima's PS3 Profile Visit Latinmaxima's YouTube Visit Latinmaxima's Xbox Gamercard
Default Re: Can't Get Tranny And Engine Aligned

I haven't done this type of work on this maxima yet. Have done it on every maxima since 3rd gen though. Just looking at this one I would think having to drop the subframe to remove both as one from the bottom is probably the best way to r&r. Hopefully we get some others feedback who have done this though.

So says latinmaxima, so it shall be!
__________________
2004 Nissan Maxima SE<(^_^<)Samsung Galaxy Nexus(>^_^)> Motorola Xoom
Click the image to open in full size.
Latinmaxima is offline   Send a private message to Latinmaxima Find more posts by Latinmaxima Add Latinmaxima to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 07-30-2013, 10:45 PM   Thread Starter #9
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Brandon1023's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Official Member #: 10955
Last Online: 02-28-2016 04:51 PM
Posts: 30

Reputation Level: 0
Brandon1023 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Can't Get Tranny And Engine Aligned

Finally sorted it out. turns out, all the manual cranking I did with the notches on the torque converter made them bend ever so slightly. This prevented the notches from lining up with the keyway in the tranny. unbent it, and a little force had it in. this damned tranny is finally mounted .
Brandon1023 is offline   Send a private message to Brandon1023 Find more posts by Brandon1023 Add Brandon1023 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 07-31-2013, 08:02 PM   #10
Executive Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Latinmaxima's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Official Member #: 1924
Last Online: 05-05-2016 04:32 PM
Location: Richmond, KY
Posts: 5,588

Reputation Level: 24
Latinmaxima is on a distinguished road

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Visit Latinmaxima's Facebook Visit Latinmaxima's PS3 Profile Visit Latinmaxima's YouTube Visit Latinmaxima's Xbox Gamercard
Default Re: Can't Get Tranny And Engine Aligned

Glad you got it done. Hope that doesn't cause any issues. Good luck.

So says latinmaxima, so it shall be!
__________________
2004 Nissan Maxima SE<(^_^<)Samsung Galaxy Nexus(>^_^)> Motorola Xoom
Click the image to open in full size.
Likes: (1)
Brandon1023 (08-02-2013)
Latinmaxima is offline   Send a private message to Latinmaxima Find more posts by Latinmaxima Add Latinmaxima to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 Members And 1 Guests)
 
Thread Tools


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:22 PM.