Register My Garage Arcade V.I.P Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read
Go Back   my6thgen.org - Maxima Forum > my6thgen.org - Very Useful Information > Ask Your Technical & General Questions > Engine, Trans, F/I & Tuning

Reply
ExclamationThis thread is more than 150+ days old. If you still feel it is necessary to bump this thread, you have the permission to do so. Please click the checkbox below and post your reply.
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-17-2011, 11:18 PM   Thread Starter #1
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
cags's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Official Member #: 1666
Last Online: 07-31-2012 09:57 PM
Posts: 22

Reputation Level: 0
cags is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
Default Camshaft Position Sensor Location

I replaced my bank 1 sensor ,now I need to replace my bank 2. How do I locate it and is it easy to access.
cags is offline   Send a private message to cags Find more posts by cags Add cags to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 04-17-2011, 11:26 PM   #2
Premier Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
NiZMo1o1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Official Member #: 211
Last Online: 10-20-2016 11:20 AM
Location: Wade County ! down in Sunny Florida
Posts: 5,222

Reputation Level: 42
NiZMo1o1 has a spectacular aura aboutNiZMo1o1 has a spectacular aura aboutNiZMo1o1 has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 20%
Activity: 20% Activity: 20% Activity: 20%

My Awards:
Supporting Family Member  


/ Point Value: 10

Member of the Month (M.O.T.M)  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: camshaft position sensor location

Cam postion sensor is on the Right Side ( Driver side on the valve cover / on the side of the head )Bank 2 would be the near the firewall or directly near the throttle body/intakethe sensor looks like this with ( IIRC ) a Green plugshouldnt be hard to miss it , it sits on the side of the HEAD , ( if you dont know where the head is ,its basically where the valve cover bolts down too , and where the headers bolt up too )
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.
Click the image to open in full size.
R.I.P. Kevin007www.EmeraldPerformance.com
NiZMo1o1 is offline   Send a private message to NiZMo1o1 Find more posts by NiZMo1o1 Add NiZMo1o1 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 04-17-2011, 11:47 PM   Thread Starter #3
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
cags's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Official Member #: 1666
Last Online: 07-31-2012 09:57 PM
Posts: 22

Reputation Level: 0
cags is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
Default Re: camshaft position sensor location

Thanks NiZMo1o1! Will look for it tomorrow and tell you my findings.
cags is offline   Send a private message to cags Find more posts by cags Add cags to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 04-17-2011, 11:49 PM   #4
Premier Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
NiZMo1o1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Official Member #: 211
Last Online: 10-20-2016 11:20 AM
Location: Wade County ! down in Sunny Florida
Posts: 5,222

Reputation Level: 42
NiZMo1o1 has a spectacular aura aboutNiZMo1o1 has a spectacular aura aboutNiZMo1o1 has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 20%
Activity: 20% Activity: 20% Activity: 20%

My Awards:
Supporting Family Member  


/ Point Value: 10

Member of the Month (M.O.T.M)  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: camshaft position sensor location

No worries ! GL !
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.
Click the image to open in full size.
R.I.P. Kevin007www.EmeraldPerformance.com
NiZMo1o1 is offline   Send a private message to NiZMo1o1 Find more posts by NiZMo1o1 Add NiZMo1o1 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 04-19-2011, 09:09 AM   #5
Connecticut's Prestige 6th Gen

my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
CXJ Performance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Official Member #: 82
Last Online: 12-14-2013 06:26 PM
Location: New Haven , CT
Posts: 1,437

Reputation Level: 25
CXJ Performance will become famous soon enoughCXJ Performance will become famous soon enough

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Supporting Family Member  


/ Point Value: 10

Honorable Ride  


/ Point Value: 5

Default Re: Camshaft Position Sensor Location

actually bank 1 is near the firewall
__________________
CXJPERFORMANCE.COM

Click the image to open in full size.
CXJ Performance is offline   Send a private message to CXJ Performance Find more posts by CXJ Performance Add CXJ Performance to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 04-19-2011, 12:37 PM   #6
Premier Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
NiZMo1o1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Official Member #: 211
Last Online: 10-20-2016 11:20 AM
Location: Wade County ! down in Sunny Florida
Posts: 5,222

Reputation Level: 42
NiZMo1o1 has a spectacular aura aboutNiZMo1o1 has a spectacular aura aboutNiZMo1o1 has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 20%
Activity: 20% Activity: 20% Activity: 20%

My Awards:
Supporting Family Member  


/ Point Value: 10

Member of the Month (M.O.T.M)  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: Camshaft Position Sensor Location

Originally Posted by coryxavier View Post
actually bank 1 is near the firewall
your absoulty right , Im thinking o2 banks ...
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.
Click the image to open in full size.
R.I.P. Kevin007www.EmeraldPerformance.com
NiZMo1o1 is offline   Send a private message to NiZMo1o1 Find more posts by NiZMo1o1 Add NiZMo1o1 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 06-03-2011, 11:08 PM   Thread Starter #7
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
cags's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Official Member #: 1666
Last Online: 07-31-2012 09:57 PM
Posts: 22

Reputation Level: 0
cags is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
Default Re: Camshaft Position Sensor Location

Yeah i know am late, but i found the bank 2 sensor. i thought i had a bank 2 sensor laying around but i was wrong about that. Is it bad to use an aftermarket sensor?
cags is offline   Send a private message to cags Find more posts by cags Add cags to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 06-04-2011, 02:08 AM   #8
Premier Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
DViious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Official Member #: 738
Last Online: 12-13-2017 12:47 AM
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 1,339

Reputation Level: 13
DViious is on a distinguished road

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Camshaft Position Sensor Location

no not really i went to autozone a picked up the one in the rear and for the front i went to a local shop...they work fine no problems ever since...
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.

R.I.P BISHNU - SECONDTONONE317

TOPSPEED PRO-1 PERFORMANCE SPONSORED

http://stores.ebay.com/TOP-SPEED-PRO-1-PERFORMANCE
DViious is offline   Send a private message to DViious Find more posts by DViious Add DViious to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 06-04-2011, 10:46 PM   Thread Starter #9
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
cags's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Official Member #: 1666
Last Online: 07-31-2012 09:57 PM
Posts: 22

Reputation Level: 0
cags is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
Default Re: Camshaft Position Sensor Location

Thanks DViious, will purchase mine next week. I hope this is the answer to all my problems.
cags is offline   Send a private message to cags Find more posts by cags Add cags to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 06-05-2011, 12:46 AM   #10
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
InFaReD973's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Official Member #: 111
Last Online: 03-28-2019 10:30 PM
Posts: 228

Reputation Level: 10
InFaReD973 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 33%
Activity: 33% Activity: 33% Activity: 33%
Default Re: Camshaft Position Sensor Location

yea i bought both bank one and two from autozone for like 110 did that this passed week and no more service engine soon light from the code p0340
InFaReD973 is offline   Send a private message to InFaReD973 Find more posts by InFaReD973 Add InFaReD973 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 06-05-2011, 11:44 AM   Thread Starter #11
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
cags's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Official Member #: 1666
Last Online: 07-31-2012 09:57 PM
Posts: 22

Reputation Level: 0
cags is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
Default Re: Camshaft Position Sensor Location

I read a lot of post about the CSP sensor, and the most common thing i keep seeing is Check Engine Light on. In my max there is no check engine light on. When it did come on i disconnected my battery and connected it again and it was off. Even before that when i was still having the problems no light was on. Does that mean my problem is different from those listed on most post about CSP sensor?
cags is offline   Send a private message to cags Find more posts by cags Add cags to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-16-2011, 07:19 PM   Thread Starter #12
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
cags's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Official Member #: 1666
Last Online: 07-31-2012 09:57 PM
Posts: 22

Reputation Level: 0
cags is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
Default Re: Camshaft Position Sensor Location

Hey guys, i finally changed my camshaft sensor near the firewall, which now means i have replaced both CPS (the first changed at an earlier date), and changed all my mounts. However, i am still experiencing a hard jerk when shifting from R to D and a engine rev. Please help!!
cags is offline   Send a private message to cags Find more posts by cags Add cags to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-16-2011, 08:23 PM   #13
Premier Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
DViious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Official Member #: 738
Last Online: 12-13-2017 12:47 AM
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 1,339

Reputation Level: 13
DViious is on a distinguished road

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Camshaft Position Sensor Location

sounds like your torque converter is going bad...
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.

R.I.P BISHNU - SECONDTONONE317

TOPSPEED PRO-1 PERFORMANCE SPONSORED

http://stores.ebay.com/TOP-SPEED-PRO-1-PERFORMANCE
DViious is offline   Send a private message to DViious Find more posts by DViious Add DViious to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-17-2011, 11:57 AM   Thread Starter #14
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
cags's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Official Member #: 1666
Last Online: 07-31-2012 09:57 PM
Posts: 22

Reputation Level: 0
cags is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
Default Re: Camshaft Position Sensor Location

What would cause my torque converter to go bad? How much to fix or replace?
cags is offline   Send a private message to cags Find more posts by cags Add cags to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 04-10-2012, 02:49 PM   #15
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
dres5600's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Official Member #: 3985
Last Online: 07-28-2016 05:53 PM
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Posts: 17

Reputation Level: 0
dres5600 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Camshaft Position Sensor Location

I really would like yo know if CPS can cause bad gas mileage. If no what sensors if replaced will restore my mpg the most.
dres5600 is offline   Send a private message to dres5600 Find more posts by dres5600 Add dres5600 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 Members And 1 Guests)
 
Thread Tools


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:43 AM.