Register My Garage Arcade V.I.P Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read
Go Back   my6thgen.org - Maxima Forum > my6thgen.org - Very Useful Information > Ask Your Technical & General Questions > Engine, Trans, F/I & Tuning

Reply
ExclamationThis thread is more than 150+ days old. If you still feel it is necessary to bump this thread, you have the permission to do so. Please click the checkbox below and post your reply.
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-26-2012, 01:29 PM   Thread Starter #1
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
rydewitme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Official Member #: 1018
Last Online: 11-03-2013 11:08 AM
Posts: 13

Reputation Level: 0
rydewitme is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default 5AT Converted To 6 Speed: Wiring Issues

So i recently did a 6th gen transmission swap. I converted my Maxima from a 5 AT to a 6speed.I used a manual engine harness and a manual ecu. Now I am at a stomp. I cannot get the engine to crank. I believe the problem is finding which wires is needed to be cut and connected. Can some one help me solve this problem, all suggestions and advice are welcomed.
rydewitme is offline   Send a private message to rydewitme Find more posts by rydewitme Add rydewitme to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-26-2012, 01:31 PM   #2
Senior Citizen Moderator
6th Gen Official Pops
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
07maximan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Official Member #: 2184
Last Online: 12-08-2014 03:33 PM
Location: Close....Very Close!!
Posts: 9,421

Reputation Level: 69
07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice07maximan is just really nice

Participation Level: 9%
Activity: 9% Activity: 9% Activity: 9%

My Awards:
Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Member of the Month (M.O.T.M)  


/ Point Value: 10

Honorable Ride  


/ Point Value: 5

Most Valuable Poster (MVP)  


/ Point Value: 10

Default re: 5AT Converted To 6 Speed: Wiring Issues

First off,Welcome!!

Sit tight,some one will chime in and help you out. There are a lot of guys here with a ton of experience.
__________________

Originally Posted by dstruc View Post
Next week Omar is taking us walking through the projects. Alex is getting raped for sure.
07maximan is offline   Send a private message to 07maximan Find more posts by 07maximan Add 07maximan to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-26-2012, 01:34 PM   #3
Senior Moderator
The Capital's 6th Gen
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
officerfrasher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Official Member #: 1765
Last Online: 06-01-2018 10:32 AM
Location: Frankfort, KY 40601
Posts: 13,375

Reputation Level: 58
officerfrasher has a spectacular aura aboutofficerfrasher has a spectacular aura aboutofficerfrasher has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Member of the Month (M.O.T.M)  


/ Point Value: 10

Supporting Family Member  


/ Point Value: 10

Official Ride  


/ Point Value: 10

Spotlight Ride Of The Month  


/ Point Value: 5

Default Re: 5AT Converted To 6 Speed: Wiring Issues

Welcome!

I'd say @BurntOrangeAppeal can probably help.
Likes: (1)
BurntOrangeAppeal (11-26-2012)
officerfrasher is offline   Send a private message to officerfrasher Find more posts by officerfrasher Add officerfrasher to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-26-2012, 01:55 PM   Thread Starter #4
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
rydewitme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Official Member #: 1018
Last Online: 11-03-2013 11:08 AM
Posts: 13

Reputation Level: 0
rydewitme is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default re: 5AT Converted To 6 Speed: Wiring Issues

it has been a 1hr or less and i already am getting replies. Thank you for the suggestions and other suggestions to come. :-)
rydewitme is offline   Send a private message to rydewitme Find more posts by rydewitme Add rydewitme to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-26-2012, 01:57 PM   #5
Moderator
Burnt Orange
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
BurntOrangeAppeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Official Member #: 2887
Last Online: 12-04-2014 04:56 PM
Location: Under the Bridge
Posts: 2,816

Reputation Level: 33
BurntOrangeAppeal has a spectacular aura aboutBurntOrangeAppeal has a spectacular aura aboutBurntOrangeAppeal has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: 5AT Converted To 6 Speed: Wiring Issues

Originally Posted by rydewitme View Post
So i recently did a 6th gen transmission swap. I converted my Maxima from a 5 AT to a 6speed.I used a manual engine harness and a manual ecu. Now I am at a stomp. I cannot get the engine to crank. I believe the problem is finding which wires is needed to be cut and connected. Can some one help me solve this problem, all suggestions and advice are welcomed.
You should have left the 5At ECM. Your 6MT would have fired and Be running on Automatic ECM no problem. You need to program the ECM/BCm.....you've changed the brain.

Starting system is identical to any model Maxima. Make sure all your stuff is correct, double check ground connectionsand power going to the starter from ignition etc.
It should crank iMO. But it should NOT fire as fuel is cut until the ECM is programmed(NVIS) antitheft.
__________________
'04 SE 6MT, Elite.
'01 SE Anniversary.
'97 GXE.
Click the image to open in full size.
Click the image to open in full size.
-=My Build Tread=-
Likes: (1)
officerfrasher (11-26-2012)
BurntOrangeAppeal is offline   Send a private message to BurntOrangeAppeal Find more posts by BurntOrangeAppeal Add BurntOrangeAppeal to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-26-2012, 02:01 PM   #6
Moderator
Flipadelphia
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
06BlckMax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Official Member #: 662
Last Online: Yesterday 12:42 AM
Location: IG: 06BlckMax
Posts: 6,827

Reputation Level: 55
06BlckMax is a jewel in the rough06BlckMax is a jewel in the rough06BlckMax is a jewel in the rough06BlckMax is a jewel in the rough

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Visit 06BlckMax's PS3 Profile
Default re: 5AT Converted To 6 Speed: Wiring Issues

Originally Posted by rydewitme View Post
it has been a 1hr or less and i already am getting replies. Thank you for the suggestions and other suggestions to come. :-)
That's how this site works
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.

------See How It Was Built------
06BlckMax is offline   Send a private message to 06BlckMax Find more posts by 06BlckMax Add 06BlckMax to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-26-2012, 04:24 PM   Thread Starter #7
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
rydewitme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Official Member #: 1018
Last Online: 11-03-2013 11:08 AM
Posts: 13

Reputation Level: 0
rydewitme is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default re: 5AT Converted To 6 Speed: Wiring Issues

Originally Posted by BurntOrangeAppeal View Post
You should have left the 5At ECM. Your 6MT would have fired and Be running on Automatic ECM no problem. You need to program the ECM/BCm.....you've changed the brain.

Starting system is identical to any model Maxima. Make sure all your stuff is correct, double check ground connectionsand power going to the starter from ignition etc.
It should crank iMO. But it should NOT fire as fuel is cut until the ECM is programmed(NVIS) antitheft.
I get that the manual ecu won't work because it needs to be reprogrammed. However I still have the original ecu would that work if I put it back in or do I have to go to Nissan and reprogram my original ecu.
rydewitme is offline   Send a private message to rydewitme Find more posts by rydewitme Add rydewitme to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-26-2012, 08:39 PM   #8
Moderator
Burnt Orange
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
BurntOrangeAppeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Official Member #: 2887
Last Online: 12-04-2014 04:56 PM
Location: Under the Bridge
Posts: 2,816

Reputation Level: 33
BurntOrangeAppeal has a spectacular aura aboutBurntOrangeAppeal has a spectacular aura aboutBurntOrangeAppeal has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: 5AT Converted To 6 Speed: Wiring Issues

Originally Posted by rydewitme View Post
I get that the manual ecu won't work because it needs to be reprogrammed. However I still have the original ecu would that work if I put it back in or do I have to go to Nissan and reprogram my original ecu.
Original ECM should work.
__________________
'04 SE 6MT, Elite.
'01 SE Anniversary.
'97 GXE.
Click the image to open in full size.
Click the image to open in full size.
-=My Build Tread=-
Likes: (1)
Latinmaxima (11-26-2012)
BurntOrangeAppeal is offline   Send a private message to BurntOrangeAppeal Find more posts by BurntOrangeAppeal Add BurntOrangeAppeal to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-26-2012, 09:53 PM   Thread Starter #9
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
rydewitme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Official Member #: 1018
Last Online: 11-03-2013 11:08 AM
Posts: 13

Reputation Level: 0
rydewitme is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default re: 5AT Converted To 6 Speed: Wiring Issues

Originally Posted by BurntOrangeAppeal View Post
Original ECM should work.
I'm going to give it a try. I'll let everyone know if it work. Thankyou
rydewitme is offline   Send a private message to rydewitme Find more posts by rydewitme Add rydewitme to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-27-2012, 10:54 AM   #10
Executive Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Latinmaxima's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Official Member #: 1924
Last Online: 05-05-2016 04:32 PM
Location: Richmond, KY
Posts: 5,588

Reputation Level: 24
Latinmaxima is on a distinguished road

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Visit Latinmaxima's Facebook Visit Latinmaxima's PS3 Profile Visit Latinmaxima's YouTube Visit Latinmaxima's Xbox Gamercard
Default Re: 5AT Converted To 6 Speed: Wiring Issues

So did you get a chance last night to swap it?

Posted Via Tapatalk 2
__________________
2004 Nissan Maxima SE<(^_^<)Samsung Galaxy Nexus(>^_^)> Motorola Xoom
Click the image to open in full size.
Latinmaxima is offline   Send a private message to Latinmaxima Find more posts by Latinmaxima Add Latinmaxima to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-27-2012, 06:24 PM   Thread Starter #11
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
rydewitme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Official Member #: 1018
Last Online: 11-03-2013 11:08 AM
Posts: 13

Reputation Level: 0
rydewitme is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default re: 5AT Converted To 6 Speed: Wiring Issues

Originally Posted by Latinmaxima View Post
So did you get a chance last night to swap it?

Posted Via Tapatalk 2
nah i actually didn't it started raining here in NY, matter-a-fact it's raining here all day. I promise to keep everyone up-to-date. plus when everything is up and running i'll make another post showing basically the journey i went through doing this swap, with my cousin maxskull.
rydewitme is offline   Send a private message to rydewitme Find more posts by rydewitme Add rydewitme to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-27-2012, 06:55 PM   #12
Executive Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Latinmaxima's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Official Member #: 1924
Last Online: 05-05-2016 04:32 PM
Location: Richmond, KY
Posts: 5,588

Reputation Level: 24
Latinmaxima is on a distinguished road

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Visit Latinmaxima's Facebook Visit Latinmaxima's PS3 Profile Visit Latinmaxima's YouTube Visit Latinmaxima's Xbox Gamercard
Default Re: 5AT Converted To 6 Speed: Wiring Issues

Understandable I don't know if it's like other 5 speed swaps or 6 speed swaps but make sure you don't forget the reverse light wires.

Posted Via Tapatalk 2
__________________
2004 Nissan Maxima SE<(^_^<)Samsung Galaxy Nexus(>^_^)> Motorola Xoom
Click the image to open in full size.
Likes: (1)
smittybizzle (02-10-2013)
Latinmaxima is offline   Send a private message to Latinmaxima Find more posts by Latinmaxima Add Latinmaxima to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-28-2012, 01:10 AM   #13
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
johnnymaxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Official Member #: 249
Last Online: 12-28-2014 10:06 PM
Location: brooklyn NY
Posts: 145

Reputation Level: 9
johnnymaxx is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default re: 5AT Converted To 6 Speed: Wiring Issues

this is interesting . I have an 07 with cvt and i always wondered about doing a 6MT swap . rydewitme how much are you spending more or less estimate for the swap ?
johnnymaxx is offline   Send a private message to johnnymaxx Find more posts by johnnymaxx Add johnnymaxx to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-28-2012, 10:33 AM   #14
Senior Moderator
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Chemax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Official Member #: 140
Last Online: 10-04-2014 01:46 PM
Location: SATX
Posts: 11,313

Reputation Level: 51
Chemax has a spectacular aura aboutChemax has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Supporting Family Member  


/ Point Value: 10

Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Default Re: 5AT Converted To 6 Speed: Wiring Issues

Originally Posted by johnnymaxx View Post
this is interesting . I have an 07 with cvt and i always wondered about doing a 6MT swap . rydewitme how much are you spending more or less estimate for the swap ?
Someone just had a thread asking about CVT -> MT conversion. I think the consensus was that it'd be a lot more expensive. See if you can find that thread.
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.
We all have different ways of coping - I use sex and awesomeness.

mmm.... chorizo
-csiepka
Likes: (2)
BurntOrangeAppeal (11-28-2012), johnnymaxx (11-28-2012)
Chemax is offline   Send a private message to Chemax Find more posts by Chemax Add Chemax to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-28-2012, 04:53 PM   Thread Starter #15
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
rydewitme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Official Member #: 1018
Last Online: 11-03-2013 11:08 AM
Posts: 13

Reputation Level: 0
rydewitme is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default re: 5AT Converted To 6 Speed: Wiring Issues

Originally Posted by johnnymaxx View Post
this is interesting . I have an 07 with cvt and i always wondered about doing a 6MT swap . rydewitme how much are you spending more or less estimate for the swap ?
i got everything for about $2100, inculding transmission and all the other necessities. however the price quoted was with the expensive fidanza flywheel and stage two clutch so it would be cheaper, if u make deductions on those parts.
rydewitme is offline   Send a private message to rydewitme Find more posts by rydewitme Add rydewitme to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-28-2012, 05:30 PM   #16
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
johnnymaxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Official Member #: 249
Last Online: 12-28-2014 10:06 PM
Location: brooklyn NY
Posts: 145

Reputation Level: 9
johnnymaxx is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default re: 5AT Converted To 6 Speed: Wiring Issues

Originally Posted by rydewitme View Post
i got everything for about $2100, inculding transmission and all the other necessities. however the price quoted was with the expensive fidanza flywheel and stage two clutch so it would be cheaper, if u make deductions on those parts.

oh alright thanks .
johnnymaxx is offline   Send a private message to johnnymaxx Find more posts by johnnymaxx Add johnnymaxx to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-30-2012, 02:04 PM   #17
L36
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
L36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Official Member #: 3575
Last Online: 03-14-2019 12:19 PM
Posts: 146

Reputation Level: 9
L36 is on a distinguished road

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default re: 5AT Converted To 6 Speed: Wiring Issues

In 6speed MT, you have to press the clutch in for the engine to crank because there are 2 switches in the clutch pedal. One switch tells the ECU when the pedal is not pressed in at all, and another that lets the ECU know when the pedal is pressed in all the way.

To start a 6M/T car, you need to have that clutch pedal in; for the switch to let the ECU know that the clutch is pressed in. Since you have a M/T computer installed, that's why its the case. If the pedal is not pressed in, the car will not crank at all. This means you also need the full in-dash harness from a 6 speed to make this 100% working or use auto ECU. I'm also not 100% sure if the clutch harness is part of the engine harness or dash, but Ive been told its part of the dash harness.

If it was an immobilizer issue, the car should crank (Security light should be lit constantly if the key is wrong during ON position). Only difference is when immobilizer kicks in, the car will crank but spark plugs will not fire and injectors will not pump fuel into the engine.

Last edited by L36; 11-30-2012 at 02:10 PM.
Likes: (2)
BurntOrangeAppeal (11-30-2012), Latinmaxima (11-30-2012)
L36 is offline   Send a private message to L36 Find more posts by L36 Add L36 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 12-02-2012, 05:26 PM   #18
Premier Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
NiZMo1o1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Official Member #: 211
Last Online: 10-20-2016 11:20 AM
Location: Wade County ! down in Sunny Florida
Posts: 5,222

Reputation Level: 42
NiZMo1o1 has a spectacular aura aboutNiZMo1o1 has a spectacular aura aboutNiZMo1o1 has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 20%
Activity: 20% Activity: 20% Activity: 20%

My Awards:
Supporting Family Member  


/ Point Value: 10

Member of the Month (M.O.T.M)  


/ Point Value: 10

Default re: 5AT Converted To 6 Speed: Wiring Issues

you shouldn't need to even do that harness
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.
Click the image to open in full size.
R.I.P. Kevin007www.EmeraldPerformance.com
Likes: (1)
smittybizzle (12-02-2012)
NiZMo1o1 is offline   Send a private message to NiZMo1o1 Find more posts by NiZMo1o1 Add NiZMo1o1 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 12-03-2012, 10:54 AM   Thread Starter #19
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
rydewitme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Official Member #: 1018
Last Online: 11-03-2013 11:08 AM
Posts: 13

Reputation Level: 0
rydewitme is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default re: 5AT Converted To 6 Speed: Wiring Issues

Originally Posted by BurntOrangeAppeal View Post
Original ECM should work.
so I took your advice and retried it yesterday I hooked up original wire harness and computer, unfortunately the engine still did not crank. I figured it maybe the starter so i replaced the starter as well. still the same problem. If you or any one could give me anymore advice i would highly appreciate it.
rydewitme is offline   Send a private message to rydewitme Find more posts by rydewitme Add rydewitme to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 12-03-2012, 11:05 AM   Thread Starter #20
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
rydewitme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Official Member #: 1018
Last Online: 11-03-2013 11:08 AM
Posts: 13

Reputation Level: 0
rydewitme is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default re: 5AT Converted To 6 Speed: Wiring Issues

Originally Posted by L36 View Post
In 6speed MT, you have to press the clutch in for the engine to crank because there are 2 switches in the clutch pedal. One switch tells the ECU when the pedal is not pressed in at all, and another that lets the ECU know when the pedal is pressed in all the way.

To start a 6M/T car, you need to have that clutch pedal in; for the switch to let the ECU know that the clutch is pressed in. Since you have a M/T computer installed, that's why its the case. If the pedal is not pressed in, the car will not crank at all. This means you also need the full in-dash harness from a 6 speed to make this 100% working or use auto ECU. I'm also not 100% sure if the clutch harness is part of the engine harness or dash, but Ive been told its part of the dash harness.

If it was an immobilizer issue, the car should crank (Security light should be lit constantly if the key is wrong during ON position). Only difference is when immobilizer kicks in, the car will crank but spark plugs will not fire and injectors will not pump fuel into the engine.
Thank you for you advice. I realize that too maybe the issue however I am not using a manual dash harness i am using the auto harness. So I took a previous advice that was given to me to use the auto harness and computer. So currently I'm using the original setup of the car to run the manual transmission. You are absolutely right about clutch pedal positioning switch located on the clutch. What i figure is that I need to find out what color wiring should i connect to that switch or bypass it since its a auto dash harness to let the engine crank when i turn the key in on position. If you or anyone knows that as well that would be vital in solving this problem
rydewitme is offline   Send a private message to rydewitme Find more posts by rydewitme Add rydewitme to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 12-03-2012, 11:20 AM   #21
Executive Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Latinmaxima's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Official Member #: 1924
Last Online: 05-05-2016 04:32 PM
Location: Richmond, KY
Posts: 5,588

Reputation Level: 24
Latinmaxima is on a distinguished road

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Visit Latinmaxima's Facebook Visit Latinmaxima's PS3 Profile Visit Latinmaxima's YouTube Visit Latinmaxima's Xbox Gamercard
Default Re: 5AT Converted To 6 Speed: Wiring Issues

Well I couldn't tell you the color or location but in the last swap I did in an integra we ran the clutch wires to the shifter area where the harness for the shifter was. The car had to be in park to start so we use the switch on the clutch and the parking wire. When depressed the computer would see the car in park and allow it to start. Doing the swap with the auto computer you will lose cruise control. Not sure if you knew that. Just a heads up. I would start there though if that helps any.

Posted Via Tapatalk 2
__________________
2004 Nissan Maxima SE<(^_^<)Samsung Galaxy Nexus(>^_^)> Motorola Xoom
Click the image to open in full size.
Latinmaxima is offline   Send a private message to Latinmaxima Find more posts by Latinmaxima Add Latinmaxima to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 12-03-2012, 01:40 PM   Thread Starter #22
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
rydewitme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Official Member #: 1018
Last Online: 11-03-2013 11:08 AM
Posts: 13

Reputation Level: 0
rydewitme is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: 5AT Converted To 6 Speed: Wiring Issues

I forgot to mention that the car airbags was deployed. However there was no damage done to the electrical system on the car only, the bu,per and reinforcement bar took damage. I didn't reset the airbag srs compute. would that prevent start.
rydewitme is offline   Send a private message to rydewitme Find more posts by rydewitme Add rydewitme to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 12-03-2012, 01:55 PM   #23
Moderator
Burnt Orange
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
BurntOrangeAppeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Official Member #: 2887
Last Online: 12-04-2014 04:56 PM
Location: Under the Bridge
Posts: 2,816

Reputation Level: 33
BurntOrangeAppeal has a spectacular aura aboutBurntOrangeAppeal has a spectacular aura aboutBurntOrangeAppeal has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: 5AT Converted To 6 Speed: Wiring Issues

Originally Posted by rydewitme View Post
I forgot to mention that the car airbags was deployed. However there was no damage done to the electrical system on the car only, the bu,per and reinforcement bar took damage. I didn't reset the airbag srs compute. would that prevent start.
No.
__________________
'04 SE 6MT, Elite.
'01 SE Anniversary.
'97 GXE.
Click the image to open in full size.
Click the image to open in full size.
-=My Build Tread=-
BurntOrangeAppeal is offline   Send a private message to BurntOrangeAppeal Find more posts by BurntOrangeAppeal Add BurntOrangeAppeal to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 12-03-2012, 04:07 PM   #24
L36
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
L36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Official Member #: 3575
Last Online: 03-14-2019 12:19 PM
Posts: 146

Reputation Level: 9
L36 is on a distinguished road

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: 5AT Converted To 6 Speed: Wiring Issues

Originally Posted by rydewitme View Post
Thank you for you advice. I realize that too maybe the issue however I am not using a manual dash harness i am using the auto harness. So I took a previous advice that was given to me to use the auto harness and computer. So currently I'm using the original setup of the car to run the manual transmission. You are absolutely right about clutch pedal positioning switch located on the clutch. What i figure is that I need to find out what color wiring should i connect to that switch or bypass it since its a auto dash harness to let the engine crank when i turn the key in on position. If you or anyone knows that as well that would be vital in solving this problem
Does the dash at least light up with auto ECU + auto engine harness? I'm pretty sure something might prevent the car from cranking if you're running auto harness... Its the transmission computer hooked up? I'm not well informed on auto to M/T swaps... They're pointless really but do what you gotta do.
L36 is offline   Send a private message to L36 Find more posts by L36 Add L36 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 12-04-2012, 11:52 AM   Thread Starter #25
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
rydewitme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Official Member #: 1018
Last Online: 11-03-2013 11:08 AM
Posts: 13

Reputation Level: 0
rydewitme is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: 5AT Converted To 6 Speed: Wiring Issues

Originally Posted by L36 View Post
Does the dash at least light up with auto ECU + auto engine harness? I'm pretty sure something might prevent the car from cranking if you're running auto harness... Its the transmission computer hooked up? I'm not well informed on auto to M/T swaps... They're pointless really but do what you gotta do.
yea the dash lights up everything as it was basically lights up. And yes to the TCM thats hooked up as well and its the auto Tcm as well.
rydewitme is offline   Send a private message to rydewitme Find more posts by rydewitme Add rydewitme to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 Members And 1 Guests)
 
Thread Tools


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:25 PM.