Register My Garage Arcade V.I.P Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read
Go Back   my6thgen.org - Maxima Forum > my6thgen.org - Very Useful Information > How To's & DIY Mods > Engine, Trans, F/I & Tuning

Reply
ExclamationThis thread is more than 150+ days old. If you still feel it is necessary to bump this thread, you have the permission to do so. Please click the checkbox below and post your reply.
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-09-2010, 09:32 PM   Thread Starter #1
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
EddyMaxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Official Member #: 1
Location: Bat-Brooklyn, NYC
Posts: 34,328

Reputation Level: 20
EddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to behold

Participation Level: 100%
Activity: 100% Activity: 100% Activity: 100%


Visit EddyMaxx's Facebook Visit EddyMaxx's PS3 Profile Visit EddyMaxx's YouTube
Default How to Configure Your APEXI SAFC2

Source Credit: Splash45 from http://www.b15u.com

----------------------------------------------

Step 1.

After installing your SAFC II properly, put the car's ignition into the "ON" position. DO NOT TURN ON THE ENGINE!! Running with another cars tune, or settings may damage your car. You have been warned.

Step 2.
First you will need to initialize the unit. This is basically clearing out any old settings or tune, so you start with a clean slate.
At the main menu, go down and click on the "Etc." sub menu.

Click the image to open in full size.


Next scroll down to the "Initialize" option and click it.

Click the image to open in full size.


When the AFC asks if you want to "Init. All?" hit yes.

Click the image to open in full size.


Step 3.
Now, back at the main menu go into the "Etc." sub menu to set up the car.

Click the image to open in full size.


The first setting is sensor type. This is the MAF type and signal info.

Click the image to open in full size.


Our cars have a Hot Wire type MAF, select "Hot Wire".

Click the image to open in full size.


Now, this has been in debate on the Sensor Numbers. Both 18 in 18 out and 24 in 24 out have worked. I used 18/18 on my car, and that is what we did with Shane's.

Click the image to open in full size.


Next is the sensor calibration. This is 1 in 1 out.

Click the image to open in full size.


Step 4.
Next setting is the Car Type. Back into the "Etc." Sub Menu select the "Car Type" option.

Click the image to open in full size.


Our cars are 6cyl and the throttle signal is the arrow going up.

Click the image to open in full size.


Step 5.
Back into the "Etc." sub menu select sensor check.

Click the image to open in full size.


This displays some of the signals.

Click the image to open in full size.


What you will need to do in the sensor check screen is put the car in 1st gear, then hold the throttle closed (foot all the off the pedal) for 10 seconds and then fully open (foot to the floor) for 10 seconds. You should see the volts go up. Like this.

Fully closed:

Click the image to open in full size.


Fully Open:

Click the image to open in full size.


Step 6.
Now you will need to calibrate your knock sensor.
So what you do is turn the ignition COMPLETELY off for 10 seconds. And now proceed to turn your car on (it's okay now).

Drive it around a bit, make sure the throttle is fine and your MAF isn't putting your car in limp mode. It's not right? Good. Check the RPMs are accurate at different RPMs as well.

After the car is warmed
Now you need to calibrate the knock sensor. Find a place where you can make some noise, cause you're going to revving the engine.

With the car still on, go into the "Settings" sub menu

Click the image to open in full size.


And select the "Knk Set" Option.

Click the image to open in full size.


Now, what you need to do is rev the car up to the two RPMs. Lower one first and higher second. Take as much time as you need. It's tough keeping the RPMs at a single point. When you are STEADY at the right RPM, hit the button, that will set the knock at that RPM.

Click the image to open in full size.


Repeat for the next RPM.

And there you go!! Your car is all set up!!
__________________
04' Nissan Maxima - [Supercharged w/ HR Swapped Motor & Fully Built Auto Trans]
98' Nissan Maxima - [VQ35DE 6-Speed Supercharged]

6thgen 2014 Build Thread
EddyMaxx is offline   Send a private message to EddyMaxx Find more posts by EddyMaxx Add EddyMaxx to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-09-2010, 09:41 PM   Thread Starter #2
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
EddyMaxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Official Member #: 1
Location: Bat-Brooklyn, NYC
Posts: 34,328

Reputation Level: 20
EddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to behold

Participation Level: 100%
Activity: 100% Activity: 100% Activity: 100%


Visit EddyMaxx's Facebook Visit EddyMaxx's PS3 Profile Visit EddyMaxx's YouTube
Default Re: How to Configure Your APEXI SAFC2

Good info to know for those who have a SAFC2.
__________________
04' Nissan Maxima - [Supercharged w/ HR Swapped Motor & Fully Built Auto Trans]
98' Nissan Maxima - [VQ35DE 6-Speed Supercharged]

6thgen 2014 Build Thread
EddyMaxx is offline   Send a private message to EddyMaxx Find more posts by EddyMaxx Add EddyMaxx to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-09-2010, 10:45 PM   #3
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
DON-OMAR-05MAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Official Member #: 10
Last Online: 02-25-2012 01:45 PM
Posts: 342

Reputation Level: 10
DON-OMAR-05MAX is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Guinness Record Holder  


/ Point Value: 15

Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Default Re: How to Configure Your APEXI SAFC2

nice write up, just one question: our cars are 4 cylinders??
DON-OMAR-05MAX is offline   Send a private message to DON-OMAR-05MAX Find more posts by DON-OMAR-05MAX Add DON-OMAR-05MAX to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-09-2010, 10:49 PM   Thread Starter #4
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
EddyMaxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Official Member #: 1
Location: Bat-Brooklyn, NYC
Posts: 34,328

Reputation Level: 20
EddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to behold

Participation Level: 100%
Activity: 100% Activity: 100% Activity: 100%


Visit EddyMaxx's Facebook Visit EddyMaxx's PS3 Profile Visit EddyMaxx's YouTube
Default Re: How to Configure Your APEXI SAFC2

Originally Posted by DON-OMAR-05MAX View Post
nice write up, just one question: our cars are 4 cylinders??
Fixed. Original writeup was for a Sentra and I forgot to change the 4CYL. lol
__________________
04' Nissan Maxima - [Supercharged w/ HR Swapped Motor & Fully Built Auto Trans]
98' Nissan Maxima - [VQ35DE 6-Speed Supercharged]

6thgen 2014 Build Thread
EddyMaxx is offline   Send a private message to EddyMaxx Find more posts by EddyMaxx Add EddyMaxx to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-09-2010, 11:01 PM   #5
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
DON-OMAR-05MAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Official Member #: 10
Last Online: 02-25-2012 01:45 PM
Posts: 342

Reputation Level: 10
DON-OMAR-05MAX is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Guinness Record Holder  


/ Point Value: 15

Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Default Re: How to Configure Your APEXI SAFC2

Originally Posted by EddyMaxx View Post
Fixed. Original writeup was for a Sentra and I forgot to change the 4CYL. lol
Thanks Edwin, so this write up applies to both platforms (4 and 6 cyl.) equally?? There's no specs difference between the sentra and maxima when it comes to this setup?? Just wanna make sure, might be getting this unit to replace my eManage...wanna get everything out of my current setup.
DON-OMAR-05MAX is offline   Send a private message to DON-OMAR-05MAX Find more posts by DON-OMAR-05MAX Add DON-OMAR-05MAX to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-09-2010, 11:06 PM   #6
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
i8wd40b4u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Official Member #: 994
Last Online: 07-13-2013 01:37 PM
Posts: 186

Reputation Level: 9
i8wd40b4u is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: How to Configure Your APEXI SAFC2

all the photos on the last couple are of the same thing, just to let u know
__________________
i8wd40b4u is offline   Send a private message to i8wd40b4u Find more posts by i8wd40b4u Add i8wd40b4u to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-10-2010, 12:56 AM   #7
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
hero782's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Official Member #: 335
Last Online: 07-05-2018 03:34 PM
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,834

Reputation Level: 23
hero782 will become famous soon enoughhero782 will become famous soon enough

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Spotlight Ride Of The Month  


/ Point Value: 5

Official Ride  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: How to Configure Your APEXI SAFC2

Im assuming it will be almost the same for the Apexi neo right?
Likes: (1)
H4X1MA (04-22-2011)
hero782 is offline   Send a private message to hero782 Find more posts by hero782 Add hero782 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-10-2010, 01:01 AM   Thread Starter #8
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
EddyMaxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Official Member #: 1
Location: Bat-Brooklyn, NYC
Posts: 34,328

Reputation Level: 20
EddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to behold

Participation Level: 100%
Activity: 100% Activity: 100% Activity: 100%


Visit EddyMaxx's Facebook Visit EddyMaxx's PS3 Profile Visit EddyMaxx's YouTube
Default Re: How to Configure Your APEXI SAFC2

Originally Posted by hero782 View Post
Im assuming it will be almost the same for the Apexi neo right?

Overall the concept is the same. Haven't used the NEO. Good thing is you can adjust thing till the car "feels right". lol
__________________
04' Nissan Maxima - [Supercharged w/ HR Swapped Motor & Fully Built Auto Trans]
98' Nissan Maxima - [VQ35DE 6-Speed Supercharged]

6thgen 2014 Build Thread
Likes: (1)
hero782 (11-10-2010)
EddyMaxx is offline   Send a private message to EddyMaxx Find more posts by EddyMaxx Add EddyMaxx to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-10-2010, 01:03 AM   #9
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
hero782's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Official Member #: 335
Last Online: 07-05-2018 03:34 PM
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,834

Reputation Level: 23
hero782 will become famous soon enoughhero782 will become famous soon enough

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Spotlight Ride Of The Month  


/ Point Value: 5

Official Ride  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: How to Configure Your APEXI SAFC2

ok thank i should receive my neo this week, ima try this out!!!
hero782 is offline   Send a private message to hero782 Find more posts by hero782 Add hero782 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-10-2010, 01:06 AM   Thread Starter #10
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
EddyMaxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Official Member #: 1
Location: Bat-Brooklyn, NYC
Posts: 34,328

Reputation Level: 20
EddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to behold

Participation Level: 100%
Activity: 100% Activity: 100% Activity: 100%


Visit EddyMaxx's Facebook Visit EddyMaxx's PS3 Profile Visit EddyMaxx's YouTube
Default Re: How to Configure Your APEXI SAFC2

Originally Posted by hero782 View Post
ok thank i should receive my neo this week, ima try this out!!!
For the neo you can actually get a plug-n-play harness.

Part # 30-2991 Nissan Maxima 04-08

I'll post a thread on all that sometime this week.
__________________
04' Nissan Maxima - [Supercharged w/ HR Swapped Motor & Fully Built Auto Trans]
98' Nissan Maxima - [VQ35DE 6-Speed Supercharged]

6thgen 2014 Build Thread
EddyMaxx is offline   Send a private message to EddyMaxx Find more posts by EddyMaxx Add EddyMaxx to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-10-2010, 01:08 AM   Thread Starter #11
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
EddyMaxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Official Member #: 1
Location: Bat-Brooklyn, NYC
Posts: 34,328

Reputation Level: 20
EddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to behold

Participation Level: 100%
Activity: 100% Activity: 100% Activity: 100%


Visit EddyMaxx's Facebook Visit EddyMaxx's PS3 Profile Visit EddyMaxx's YouTube
Default Re: How to Configure Your APEXI SAFC2

NEO is basically the same overall. Just newer and nicer interface.

Click the image to open in full size.

Click the image to open in full size.
__________________
04' Nissan Maxima - [Supercharged w/ HR Swapped Motor & Fully Built Auto Trans]
98' Nissan Maxima - [VQ35DE 6-Speed Supercharged]

6thgen 2014 Build Thread
EddyMaxx is offline   Send a private message to EddyMaxx Find more posts by EddyMaxx Add EddyMaxx to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-10-2010, 01:15 AM   #12
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
hero782's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Official Member #: 335
Last Online: 07-05-2018 03:34 PM
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,834

Reputation Level: 23
hero782 will become famous soon enoughhero782 will become famous soon enough

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Spotlight Ride Of The Month  


/ Point Value: 5

Official Ride  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: How to Configure Your APEXI SAFC2

that part number is for aem ecu patch/ext cable right?
hero782 is offline   Send a private message to hero782 Find more posts by hero782 Add hero782 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-10-2010, 01:18 AM   Thread Starter #13
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
EddyMaxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Official Member #: 1
Location: Bat-Brooklyn, NYC
Posts: 34,328

Reputation Level: 20
EddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to behold

Participation Level: 100%
Activity: 100% Activity: 100% Activity: 100%


Visit EddyMaxx's Facebook Visit EddyMaxx's PS3 Profile Visit EddyMaxx's YouTube
Default Re: How to Configure Your APEXI SAFC2

Originally Posted by hero782 View Post
that part number is for aem ecu patch/ext cable right?
Yeah its expensive. Easier just splicing it all in. lol

You can get it done in NYC for about 50-60 bucks.
__________________
04' Nissan Maxima - [Supercharged w/ HR Swapped Motor & Fully Built Auto Trans]
98' Nissan Maxima - [VQ35DE 6-Speed Supercharged]

6thgen 2014 Build Thread
EddyMaxx is offline   Send a private message to EddyMaxx Find more posts by EddyMaxx Add EddyMaxx to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-10-2010, 01:21 AM   #14
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
hero782's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Official Member #: 335
Last Online: 07-05-2018 03:34 PM
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,834

Reputation Level: 23
hero782 will become famous soon enoughhero782 will become famous soon enough

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Spotlight Ride Of The Month  


/ Point Value: 5

Official Ride  


/ Point Value: 10

Default Re: How to Configure Your APEXI SAFC2

I know its more than what I paid for the neo lol, too bad i'm in cali
hero782 is offline   Send a private message to hero782 Find more posts by hero782 Add hero782 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-10-2010, 01:46 AM   #15
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
eK9aT10pSi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Official Member #: 423
Last Online: 01-13-2012 06:41 PM
Posts: 55

Reputation Level: 12
eK9aT10pSi is on a distinguished road

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: How to Configure Your APEXI SAFC2

is there a link of the wiring diagram on where to splice in the wires from the safc2 to the maxima ecu harness?
eK9aT10pSi is offline   Send a private message to eK9aT10pSi Find more posts by eK9aT10pSi Add eK9aT10pSi to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-10-2010, 02:46 PM   #16
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Rohanmax14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Official Member #: 250
Last Online: 07-26-2016 06:33 PM
Location: Memphis,tn
Posts: 255

Reputation Level: 10
Rohanmax14 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: How to Configure Your APEXI SAFC2

How do we setup for n2o?
Rohanmax14 is offline   Send a private message to Rohanmax14 Find more posts by Rohanmax14 Add Rohanmax14 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-10-2010, 04:44 PM   #17
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
red box's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Official Member #: 1176
Last Online: 04-02-2011 03:38 PM
Posts: 45

Reputation Level: 0
red box is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: How to Configure Your APEXI SAFC2

Whats up eddmaxx, that was some good infomation you sheared on the SAFCII. in the beganing you told use not to have any other tune device on your car befor install the SAFCII. Well, i have the bully dog program on my 6thgen and it will let me go back to stock setting so that i want interfer with the SAFC II. BUT it will still let me change my timing +2 with out changing any other stock setting. ? Can i still use the SAFCII and use my bully dog to change the maxima stock timing with out interfering the SAFCII? Becuse the SAFCII dose'nt let you change the timing on any car.
red box is offline   Send a private message to red box Find more posts by red box Add red box to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-10-2010, 08:09 PM   #18
Senior Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Jammaxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Official Member #: 27
Last Online: 04-09-2014 12:18 AM
Location: Bronx/Westchester/Jamaica, W.I
Posts: 859

Reputation Level: 13
Jammaxx is on a distinguished road

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

My Awards:
Active Member  


/ Point Value: 5

Default Re: How to Configure Your APEXI SAFC2

Wat about the VAFC II, does this work with it as well?
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.
I am an ELITIST, at least so they say.
Jammaxx is offline   Send a private message to Jammaxx Find more posts by Jammaxx Add Jammaxx to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-11-2010, 11:55 AM   #19
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
red box's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Official Member #: 1176
Last Online: 04-02-2011 03:38 PM
Posts: 45

Reputation Level: 0
red box is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: How to Configure Your APEXI SAFC2

Well the neo plug-and -play harness fit and work on a SAFCII?
red box is offline   Send a private message to red box Find more posts by red box Add red box to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-11-2010, 12:47 PM   Thread Starter #20
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
EddyMaxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Official Member #: 1
Location: Bat-Brooklyn, NYC
Posts: 34,328

Reputation Level: 20
EddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to behold

Participation Level: 100%
Activity: 100% Activity: 100% Activity: 100%


Visit EddyMaxx's Facebook Visit EddyMaxx's PS3 Profile Visit EddyMaxx's YouTube
Default Re: How to Configure Your APEXI SAFC2

Originally Posted by red box View Post
Whats up eddmaxx, that was some good infomation you sheared on the SAFCII. in the beganing you told use not to have any other tune device on your car befor install the SAFCII. Well, i have the bully dog program on my 6thgen and it will let me go back to stock setting so that i want interfer with the SAFC II. BUT it will still let me change my timing +2 with out changing any other stock setting. ? Can i still use the SAFCII and use my bully dog to change the maxima stock timing with out interfering the SAFCII? Becuse the SAFCII dose'nt let you change the timing on any car.

The Bully Dog will not interfere with the APEXI SAFC2. With the Bully Dog you can only really adjust timing. The Apexi SAFC2 is meant for tuning your RPM points where you are either running lean or rich. That's why you see the correction factor either + (Add Fuel) or -1 (Reduce Fuel) when you reach a certain RPM point.

As you add mods you will increase airflow resulting in more fuel being needed to compensate for the new air breathing mods.

You can have both Bully Dog and SAFC2 connected without any issues.
__________________
04' Nissan Maxima - [Supercharged w/ HR Swapped Motor & Fully Built Auto Trans]
98' Nissan Maxima - [VQ35DE 6-Speed Supercharged]

6thgen 2014 Build Thread
EddyMaxx is offline   Send a private message to EddyMaxx Find more posts by EddyMaxx Add EddyMaxx to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-11-2010, 12:49 PM   Thread Starter #21
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
EddyMaxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Official Member #: 1
Location: Bat-Brooklyn, NYC
Posts: 34,328

Reputation Level: 20
EddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to behold

Participation Level: 100%
Activity: 100% Activity: 100% Activity: 100%


Visit EddyMaxx's Facebook Visit EddyMaxx's PS3 Profile Visit EddyMaxx's YouTube
Default Re: How to Configure Your APEXI SAFC2

Originally Posted by red box View Post
Well the neo plug-and -play harness fit and work on a SAFCII?
Probably... But I wouldn't even bother with it. The harness cost more than the unit depending on how much you get it for lol
__________________
04' Nissan Maxima - [Supercharged w/ HR Swapped Motor & Fully Built Auto Trans]
98' Nissan Maxima - [VQ35DE 6-Speed Supercharged]

6thgen 2014 Build Thread
EddyMaxx is offline   Send a private message to EddyMaxx Find more posts by EddyMaxx Add EddyMaxx to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-11-2010, 12:52 PM   Thread Starter #22
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
EddyMaxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Official Member #: 1
Location: Bat-Brooklyn, NYC
Posts: 34,328

Reputation Level: 20
EddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to behold

Participation Level: 100%
Activity: 100% Activity: 100% Activity: 100%


Visit EddyMaxx's Facebook Visit EddyMaxx's PS3 Profile Visit EddyMaxx's YouTube
Default Re: How to Configure Your APEXI SAFC2

Originally Posted by Rohanmax14 View Post
How do we setup for n2o?
It has two maps you can use. You will need to take it to a tuning shop for them to tune for a nitrous map and n/a map.
__________________
04' Nissan Maxima - [Supercharged w/ HR Swapped Motor & Fully Built Auto Trans]
98' Nissan Maxima - [VQ35DE 6-Speed Supercharged]

6thgen 2014 Build Thread
EddyMaxx is offline   Send a private message to EddyMaxx Find more posts by EddyMaxx Add EddyMaxx to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-11-2010, 12:55 PM   Thread Starter #23
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
EddyMaxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Official Member #: 1
Location: Bat-Brooklyn, NYC
Posts: 34,328

Reputation Level: 20
EddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to behold

Participation Level: 100%
Activity: 100% Activity: 100% Activity: 100%


Visit EddyMaxx's Facebook Visit EddyMaxx's PS3 Profile Visit EddyMaxx's YouTube
Default Re: How to Configure Your APEXI SAFC2

Originally Posted by eK9aT10pSi View Post
is there a link of the wiring diagram on where to splice in the wires from the safc2 to the maxima ecu harness?
Yeah I posted it here: Apexi SAFC2


Installation Pinout:

Click the image to open in full size.

Safc red wire (power supply) to pin 109 of small connector red/white stripe
Safc green wire (rpm signal) to pin 13 of large connector green
Safc purple wire (knock sensor) to pin 15 of large connector white
Safc gray wire (throttle signal) to pin 50 of large connector white
Safc brown wire (ground) to pin 115 or small connector black (closest to ecm)
Safc black wire (ground) to pin 115 of small connector black (1cm after brown wire on same wire of main harness)
Safc pink wire (airflow signal output) to pin 51 of large connector green/orange wire (this wire is actually cut and you want the pink wire on the side away from the ecm)
Safc orange wire (airflow signal input) to pin 51 of large connector green/orange (connect to the wire still attached to the ecm)
__________________
04' Nissan Maxima - [Supercharged w/ HR Swapped Motor & Fully Built Auto Trans]
98' Nissan Maxima - [VQ35DE 6-Speed Supercharged]

6thgen 2014 Build Thread
EddyMaxx is offline   Send a private message to EddyMaxx Find more posts by EddyMaxx Add EddyMaxx to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-11-2010, 12:59 PM   Thread Starter #24
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
EddyMaxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Official Member #: 1
Location: Bat-Brooklyn, NYC
Posts: 34,328

Reputation Level: 20
EddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to beholdEddyMaxx is a splendid one to behold

Participation Level: 100%
Activity: 100% Activity: 100% Activity: 100%


Visit EddyMaxx's Facebook Visit EddyMaxx's PS3 Profile Visit EddyMaxx's YouTube
Default Re: How to Configure Your APEXI SAFC2

Originally Posted by Jammaxx View Post
Wat about the VAFC II, does this work with it as well?
I know the VAFC2 works with the 2003-2003 Maximas so in theory it should work with the 6thgens because the 2002-2003 also use SAFC2.

But I would stick with the SAFC2 since its already proven 100% to work.
__________________
04' Nissan Maxima - [Supercharged w/ HR Swapped Motor & Fully Built Auto Trans]
98' Nissan Maxima - [VQ35DE 6-Speed Supercharged]

6thgen 2014 Build Thread
EddyMaxx is offline   Send a private message to EddyMaxx Find more posts by EddyMaxx Add EddyMaxx to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 11-11-2010, 05:41 PM   #25
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
red box's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Official Member #: 1176
Last Online: 04-02-2011 03:38 PM
Posts: 45

Reputation Level: 0
red box is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: How to Configure Your APEXI SAFC2

Eddmaxx is the man, whas up my 6thgen brother? 1st of all i love your 6thgen maxima, its on point! now you telling me that i can keep the bull dog program that is program by bully dogs people for my 6thgen, and still use a SAFCII to tune my a/f? Because this is what i need now. I called APEXI Company in CA about this and this and there answer was that the SAFCII was only made to work on a factory stock ECM, not a ECM thats already be program flesh,a bully dog device dose to your 6thgen ECM. I was told by APEXI's people to but my ECM back to sock before install a SAFCII on my 6thgen. Then i asked APEXI's people in CA if i but my ECM back to stock can i just use the bully dod to change the timing and then install the SAFCII?? The people at APEXI had no answer for that one, beause they say that never be done before with a SAFCII install. The people at APEXI in CA told me they would like to see what happend if I install a SAFCII with a car that already have advance timimg. (What is your take on this, would you try it after hearing what APEXI's people has told me?) I really dont feel like killing my 6thgen by trying to use both a bully dog and a SAFCII together at the same time! My 6thgen is to young to die yet, she's a 2006 SE thats looking for alittle help?
red box is offline   Send a private message to red box Find more posts by red box Add red box to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Reply

Tags
apexi, safc

Go Back   my6thgen.org - Maxima Forum > my6thgen.org - Very Useful Information > How To's & DIY Mods > Engine, Trans, F/I & Tuning


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 Members And 0 Guests and 2 Web Crawlers)
 
Thread Tools


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:29 PM.