Register My Garage Arcade V.I.P Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read
Go Back   my6thgen.org - Maxima Forum > my6thgen.org - Very Useful Information > How To's & DIY Mods > Audio, Video & Electronics

Reply
ExclamationThis thread is more than 150+ days old. If you still feel it is necessary to bump this thread, you have the permission to do so. Please click the checkbox below and post your reply.
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-29-2015, 11:22 AM   Thread Starter #1
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
harvey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Official Member #: 16267
Last Online: 01-22-2019 08:30 PM
Posts: 100

Reputation Level: 5
harvey is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Pass wire from hood to interior

Hi, is there a tutorial anywhere on how to pass wires from the hood area to the interior of the car? I would prefer if it doesnt include removing the wheel well. Thanks!
harvey is offline   Send a private message to harvey Find more posts by harvey Add harvey to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 04-29-2015, 01:35 PM   #2
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
KatIsFast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Official Member #: 16595
Last Online: 08-17-2015 06:39 PM
Location: Chicago Suburbs
Posts: 80

Reputation Level: 5
KatIsFast is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Pass wire from hood to interior

From where inside the car to where under the hood?
KatIsFast is offline   Send a private message to KatIsFast Find more posts by KatIsFast Add KatIsFast to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 04-29-2015, 02:28 PM   #3
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Hausch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Official Member #: 14956
Last Online: 07-25-2018 12:11 PM
Posts: 115

Reputation Level: 6
Hausch is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Pass wire from hood to interior

Drill into the firewall or go through the gourmet, but me when I ran 1/0 guage power wire I had to drill a new hole.
Hausch is offline   Send a private message to Hausch Find more posts by Hausch Add Hausch to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 04-29-2015, 02:44 PM   #4
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
KatIsFast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Official Member #: 16595
Last Online: 08-17-2015 06:39 PM
Location: Chicago Suburbs
Posts: 80

Reputation Level: 5
KatIsFast is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Pass wire from hood to interior

Originally Posted by Hausch View Post
Drill into the firewall or go through the gourmet, but me when I ran 1/0 guage power wire I had to drill a new hole.
That works. I'd be really careful doing it though.
KatIsFast is offline   Send a private message to KatIsFast Find more posts by KatIsFast Add KatIsFast to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 04-29-2015, 02:55 PM   #5
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Hausch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Official Member #: 14956
Last Online: 07-25-2018 12:11 PM
Posts: 115

Reputation Level: 6
Hausch is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Pass wire from hood to interior

Just watch where you are drilling and get a grommet or I guess tape for the hole so you don't cut the wire on it.
Hausch is offline   Send a private message to Hausch Find more posts by Hausch Add Hausch to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 04-29-2015, 06:55 PM   Thread Starter #6
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
harvey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Official Member #: 16267
Last Online: 01-22-2019 08:30 PM
Posts: 100

Reputation Level: 5
harvey is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Pass wire from hood to interior

Thanks for the replies. I put in some led lights in the front bumper and ran the wires into the hood.. I want to connect them to a switch that I will install neer the steering wheel. Can someone please describe to me where the best place to drill a hole would be, or where the grommt is? If possible please post pictures. Im a lil nervous about drilling as I dont want to ruin anything. Thanks for your help guys!!
harvey is offline   Send a private message to harvey Find more posts by harvey Add harvey to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 04-29-2015, 07:29 PM   #7
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
KatIsFast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Official Member #: 16595
Last Online: 08-17-2015 06:39 PM
Location: Chicago Suburbs
Posts: 80

Reputation Level: 5
KatIsFast is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Pass wire from hood to interior

Originally Posted by harvey View Post
Thanks for the replies. I put in some led lights in the front bumper and ran the wires into the hood.. I want to connect them to a switch that I will install neer the steering wheel. Can someone please describe to me where the best place to drill a hole would be, or where the grommt is? If possible please post pictures. Im a lil nervous about drilling as I dont want to ruin anything. Thanks for your help guys!!
The best place to drill a hole in the firewall is where there isn't anything else. Anytime you do DIY work like this you take a risk, but if you're patient, take your time, and do your homework you can reduce the risk of something going wrong.

A grommet is this thing. You insert it after drilling the hole so the sharp metal doesn't slice through the wire.

Do you have a friend who could help you maybe? If you're too nervous I wouldn't attempt it.
KatIsFast is offline   Send a private message to KatIsFast Find more posts by KatIsFast Add KatIsFast to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 04-29-2015, 08:09 PM   Thread Starter #8
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
harvey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Official Member #: 16267
Last Online: 01-22-2019 08:30 PM
Posts: 100

Reputation Level: 5
harvey is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Pass wire from hood to interior

Thanks so much for the reply. I have done lots of electrical work in the past so im not really nervous about the job. Can you please tell me where to locate the grommets? Im having trouble finding them. Thanks alot!
harvey is offline   Send a private message to harvey Find more posts by harvey Add harvey to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 04-29-2015, 11:58 PM   #9
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
KatIsFast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Official Member #: 16595
Last Online: 08-17-2015 06:39 PM
Location: Chicago Suburbs
Posts: 80

Reputation Level: 5
KatIsFast is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Pass wire from hood to interior

Originally Posted by harvey View Post
Thanks so much for the reply. I have done lots of electrical work in the past so im not really nervous about the job. Can you please tell me where to locate the grommets? Im having trouble finding them. Thanks alot!
Once you know what size hole you're going to drill you can pick one up from almost any hardware store.
KatIsFast is offline   Send a private message to KatIsFast Find more posts by KatIsFast Add KatIsFast to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 04-30-2015, 09:09 AM   Thread Starter #10
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
harvey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Official Member #: 16267
Last Online: 01-22-2019 08:30 PM
Posts: 100

Reputation Level: 5
harvey is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Pass wire from hood to interior

Where is the the location of the grommet thats in the car?
harvey is offline   Send a private message to harvey Find more posts by harvey Add harvey to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 04-30-2015, 11:10 AM   #11
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
KatIsFast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Official Member #: 16595
Last Online: 08-17-2015 06:39 PM
Location: Chicago Suburbs
Posts: 80

Reputation Level: 5
KatIsFast is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Pass wire from hood to interior

Originally Posted by harvey View Post
Where is the the location of the grommet thats in the car?
There isn't one. You'll have to drill a hole in the firewall and add one.
KatIsFast is offline   Send a private message to KatIsFast Find more posts by KatIsFast Add KatIsFast to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 04-30-2015, 11:31 AM   Thread Starter #12
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
harvey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Official Member #: 16267
Last Online: 01-22-2019 08:30 PM
Posts: 100

Reputation Level: 5
harvey is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Pass wire from hood to interior

Ok thanks ill try it out
harvey is offline   Send a private message to harvey Find more posts by harvey Add harvey to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 04-30-2015, 11:35 AM   Thread Starter #13
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
harvey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Official Member #: 16267
Last Online: 01-22-2019 08:30 PM
Posts: 100

Reputation Level: 5
harvey is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Pass wire from hood to interior

Btw do you know which wire color is the drls and the blinkers? If I dont end up drilling maybe ill just tap them directly in the trunk. I noticed on the top right of the hood under a plastic cover a bunch of wires going into the car.. maybe ill just tap into those. Thanks so much!
harvey is offline   Send a private message to harvey Find more posts by harvey Add harvey to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 04-30-2015, 12:57 PM   #14
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
KatIsFast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Official Member #: 16595
Last Online: 08-17-2015 06:39 PM
Location: Chicago Suburbs
Posts: 80

Reputation Level: 5
KatIsFast is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Pass wire from hood to interior

Originally Posted by harvey View Post
Btw do you know which wire color is the drls and the blinkers? If I dont end up drilling maybe ill just tap them directly in the trunk. I noticed on the top right of the hood under a plastic cover a bunch of wires going into the car.. maybe ill just tap into those. Thanks so much!
That I don't know. I haven't messed around with the wiring in this car much.

What's your end goal here?
KatIsFast is offline   Send a private message to KatIsFast Find more posts by KatIsFast Add KatIsFast to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 04-30-2015, 04:05 PM   Thread Starter #15
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
harvey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Official Member #: 16267
Last Online: 01-22-2019 08:30 PM
Posts: 100

Reputation Level: 5
harvey is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Pass wire from hood to interior

I installed drl led lights and I would prefer to power them with a switch.. otherwise ill just have them power up automatically with the ignition
harvey is offline   Send a private message to harvey Find more posts by harvey Add harvey to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 04-30-2015, 07:36 PM   #16
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
KatIsFast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Official Member #: 16595
Last Online: 08-17-2015 06:39 PM
Location: Chicago Suburbs
Posts: 80

Reputation Level: 5
KatIsFast is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Pass wire from hood to interior

Originally Posted by harvey View Post
I installed drl led lights and I would prefer to power them with a switch.. otherwise ill just have them power up automatically with the ignition
If you want them on a switch I would drill into the firewall, add a grommet, and put the switch somewhere on the side of the media console. I wouldn't want to tap into the existing drl wiring without knowing exactly what's what and I don't have a wiring diagram for it.

You might be able to find one here by searching for it.
KatIsFast is offline   Send a private message to KatIsFast Find more posts by KatIsFast Add KatIsFast to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 05-03-2015, 09:21 PM   #17
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Hausch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Official Member #: 14956
Last Online: 07-25-2018 12:11 PM
Posts: 115

Reputation Level: 6
Hausch is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Pass wire from hood to interior

Yeah, for the switch right next to where the heating steering wheel is there is a spot you could throw it
Hausch is offline   Send a private message to Hausch Find more posts by Hausch Add Hausch to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 05-04-2015, 12:35 AM   #18
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
KatIsFast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Official Member #: 16595
Last Online: 08-17-2015 06:39 PM
Location: Chicago Suburbs
Posts: 80

Reputation Level: 5
KatIsFast is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Pass wire from hood to interior

I wish I had a heated steering wheel
KatIsFast is offline   Send a private message to KatIsFast Find more posts by KatIsFast Add KatIsFast to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 05-04-2015, 09:44 AM   #19
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Hausch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Official Member #: 14956
Last Online: 07-25-2018 12:11 PM
Posts: 115

Reputation Level: 6
Hausch is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Pass wire from hood to interior

Originally Posted by KatIsFast View Post
If you want them on a switch I would drill into the firewall, add a grommet, and put the switch somewhere on the side of the media console. I wouldn't want to tap into the existing drl wiring without knowing exactly what's what and I don't have a wiring diagram for it.

You might be able to find one here by searching for it.
Best thing ever, not even in the Benz lol
Originally Posted by KatIsFast View Post
I wish I had a heated steering wheel
Hausch is offline   Send a private message to Hausch Find more posts by Hausch Add Hausch to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 05-04-2015, 11:59 AM   #20
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
KatIsFast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Official Member #: 16595
Last Online: 08-17-2015 06:39 PM
Location: Chicago Suburbs
Posts: 80

Reputation Level: 5
KatIsFast is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Pass wire from hood to interior

Originally Posted by Hausch View Post
Best thing ever, not even in the Benz lol
Hey, you don't gotta rub it in lol.

Also I wasn't thinking of sticking the switch next to the steering wheel. My preference is always much lower. Closer to the floor board and out of sight. It's where I keep the silencer switch for my radar detector (when it's in the car).
KatIsFast is offline   Send a private message to KatIsFast Find more posts by KatIsFast Add KatIsFast to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 Members And 1 Guests)
 
Thread Tools


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:46 AM.