Register My Garage Arcade V.I.P Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read
Go Back   my6thgen.org - Maxima Forum > my6thgen.org - Very Useful Information > How To's & DIY Mods > Audio, Video & Electronics

Reply
ExclamationThis thread is more than 150+ days old. If you still feel it is necessary to bump this thread, you have the permission to do so. Please click the checkbox below and post your reply.
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-26-2016, 03:17 PM   Thread Starter #1
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Max Sleeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Official Member #: 4300
Last Online: 05-06-2016 11:18 AM
Location: Fort Walton Beach, FL, 32547
Posts: 218

Reputation Level: 8
Max Sleeper is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default How to re-install stock Bose head unit

Is there a write up on how to re-install the stock head unit? I had someone install my aftermarket head unit but I want to switch it back to the stock one. I have the Bose head unit without the navigation.
Thanks.
__________________
Max Sleeper is offline   Send a private message to Max Sleeper Find more posts by Max Sleeper Add Max Sleeper to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 02-26-2016, 03:41 PM   #2
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Travieso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Official Member #: 15981
Last Online: 10-17-2018 11:08 PM
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 362

Reputation Level: 6
Travieso is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: How to re-install stock Bose head unit

search hard enough, there might be one. If not, i could possibly write one up for you, my car system is not fully complete, but i've taken it apart soo many times it's super easy now. I would just do a mock up re-install of the OE head unit just to show.
Travieso is offline   Send a private message to Travieso Find more posts by Travieso Add Travieso to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 02-26-2016, 04:38 PM   #3
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Avguytx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Official Member #: 17348
Last Online: 12-17-2016 01:35 PM
Location: Central, AR
Posts: 44

Reputation Level: 0
Avguytx is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: How to re-install stock Bose head unit

If it's just the in-dash part, it should be pretty much plug for plug if they used the correct aftermarket wiring harnesses. Were there new speakers installed where they bypassed/removed the stock speakers?
Avguytx is offline   Send a private message to Avguytx Find more posts by Avguytx Add Avguytx to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 02-26-2016, 08:08 PM   #4
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Hausch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Official Member #: 14956
Last Online: 09-03-2019 06:13 AM
Posts: 115

Reputation Level: 6
Hausch is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: How to re-install stock Bose head unit

DISCONNECT BATTERY.

1. Remove snifter knob.. should just have to turn the knob and pop out a pin and it slides up.

2. Pop out the (shift unlock?) the little square tab that is above the gears. push a screwdriver in there and put the car in N

3. Use plastic panel popper to remove the wood grain panel. ( screwdriver if careful not to scratch) P.S. Use a little force behind it.

4. Disconnect all the connectors, cig lighter, hazards and I think maybe 1 more.

5. Remove all screws holding in the dash kit (The thing where the radio is at)

6. Remove the dash kit with panel popper or screwdriver.

7. You''ll see a ribbon looking thing behind where the temp control is.. Remove that CAREFULLY. You don't want to rip that :

8. Remove all the screws holding the radio bracket it in.

9. Slide into the DM

10. Slide out radio

11. Remove all connections from the radio. ( Aux, usb, rcas, etc.)

12. Remove factory harness from the aftermarket harness.

13. Remove the temp control from aftermarket dash kit and put on the stock one. ( should be self explanatory)

14. Installation is the reverse of removal.

P.S. They prob used a radio antenna adapter its a big weird looking silver thing just disconnect it and plug it into the stock radio.
Hausch is offline   Send a private message to Hausch Find more posts by Hausch Add Hausch to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 02-26-2016, 08:09 PM   #5
Official Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Hausch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Official Member #: 14956
Last Online: 09-03-2019 06:13 AM
Posts: 115

Reputation Level: 6
Hausch is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: How to re-install stock Bose head unit

DISCONNECT BATTERY.

1. Remove snifter knob.. should just have to turn the knob and pop out a pin and it slides up.

2. Pop out the (shift unlock?) the little square tab that is above the gears. push a screwdriver in there and put the car in N

3. Use plastic panel popper to remove the wood grain panel. ( screwdriver if careful not to scratch) P.S. Use a little force behind it.

4. Disconnect all the connectors, cig lighter, hazards and I think maybe 1 more.

5. Remove all screws holding in the dash kit (The thing where the radio is at)

6. Remove the dash kit with panel popper or screwdriver.

7. You''ll see a ribbon looking thing behind where the temp control is.. Remove that CAREFULLY. You don't want to rip that :

8. Remove all the screws holding the radio bracket it in.

9. Slide into the DM

10. Slide out radio

11. Remove all connections from the radio. ( Aux, usb, rcas, etc.)

12. Remove factory harness from the aftermarket harness.

13. Remove the temp control from aftermarket dash kit and put on the stock one. ( should be self explanatory)

14. Installation is the reverse of removal.

P.S. They prob used a radio antenna adapter its a big weird looking silver thing just disconnect it and plug it into the stock radio.
Likes: (1)
Max Sleeper (03-01-2016)
Hausch is offline   Send a private message to Hausch Find more posts by Hausch Add Hausch to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 03-01-2016, 09:11 AM   #6
Senior Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
O.G.Nat-tral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Official Member #: 6274
Last Online: 06-03-2019 11:45 AM
Location: The B.X.
Posts: 695

Reputation Level: 9
O.G.Nat-tral is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Visit O.G.Nat-tral's PS3 Profile Visit O.G.Nat-tral's Twitter Visit O.G.Nat-tral's YouTube
Default Re: How to re-install stock Bose head unit

Here you go brother hope this helps..

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-jeAOHt-Nqw
__________________


Abused VQ
O.G.Nat-tral is offline   Send a private message to O.G.Nat-tral Find more posts by O.G.Nat-tral Add O.G.Nat-tral to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 03-01-2016, 09:12 AM   #7
Senior Member
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
O.G.Nat-tral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Official Member #: 6274
Last Online: 06-03-2019 11:45 AM
Location: The B.X.
Posts: 695

Reputation Level: 9
O.G.Nat-tral is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Visit O.G.Nat-tral's PS3 Profile Visit O.G.Nat-tral's Twitter Visit O.G.Nat-tral's YouTube
Default Re: How to re-install stock Bose head unit

Here you go brother hope this helps..

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-jeAOHt-Nqw
__________________


Abused VQ
Likes: (1)
Max Sleeper (03-01-2016)
O.G.Nat-tral is offline   Send a private message to O.G.Nat-tral Find more posts by O.G.Nat-tral Add O.G.Nat-tral to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 Members And 1 Guests)
 
Thread Tools


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:54 AM.