Register My Garage Arcade V.I.P Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read
Go Back   my6thgen.org - Maxima Forum > my6thgen.org - Very Useful Information > How To's & DIY Mods > Audio, Video & Electronics

Reply
ExclamationThis thread is more than 150+ days old. If you still feel it is necessary to bump this thread, you have the permission to do so. Please click the checkbox below and post your reply.
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-25-2013, 01:35 AM   Thread Starter #1
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
chrisNYLI516's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Official Member #: 4597
Last Online: 10-17-2013 08:09 PM
Location: Strong.Island
Posts: 41

Reputation Level: 0
chrisNYLI516 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Before I Change My Headunit

I have a 04 max sl with the navigation system, would my navigation system still work if I change my stereo headunit??
chrisNYLI516 is offline   Send a private message to chrisNYLI516 Find more posts by chrisNYLI516 Add chrisNYLI516 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 08-25-2013, 02:49 AM   #2
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
Florkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Official Member #: 7134
Last Online: 04-24-2016 02:27 PM
Location: Northern Virginia (NOVA)
Posts: 96

Reputation Level: 7
Florkin is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Before I change my headunit

It would, you just won't have the guide voice.
Florkin is offline   Send a private message to Florkin Find more posts by Florkin Add Florkin to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 08-25-2013, 10:33 AM   Thread Starter #3
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
chrisNYLI516's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Official Member #: 4597
Last Online: 10-17-2013 08:09 PM
Location: Strong.Island
Posts: 41

Reputation Level: 0
chrisNYLI516 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Before I change my headunit

Thanks!! So yeah I am most likely making the switch. Have you upgraded to a new headunit and still have the navigation working?

Originally Posted by Florkin View Post
It would, you just won't have the guide voice.
chrisNYLI516 is offline   Send a private message to chrisNYLI516 Find more posts by chrisNYLI516 Add chrisNYLI516 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 08-25-2013, 11:21 AM   #4
Moderator
Burnt Orange
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
BurntOrangeAppeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Official Member #: 2887
Last Online: 12-04-2014 04:56 PM
Location: Under the Bridge
Posts: 2,816

Reputation Level: 33
BurntOrangeAppeal has a spectacular aura aboutBurntOrangeAppeal has a spectacular aura aboutBurntOrangeAppeal has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Before I change my headunit

Originally Posted by chrisNYLI516 View Post
Thanks!! So yeah I am most likely making the switch. Have you upgraded to a new headunit and still have the navigation working?
I have.
__________________
'04 SE 6MT, Elite.
'01 SE Anniversary.
'97 GXE.
Click the image to open in full size.
Click the image to open in full size.
-=My Build Tread=-
BurntOrangeAppeal is offline   Send a private message to BurntOrangeAppeal Find more posts by BurntOrangeAppeal Add BurntOrangeAppeal to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 08-25-2013, 12:16 PM   Thread Starter #5
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
chrisNYLI516's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Official Member #: 4597
Last Online: 10-17-2013 08:09 PM
Location: Strong.Island
Posts: 41

Reputation Level: 0
chrisNYLI516 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Before I change my headunit

When you put in the new headunit did you keep the boss amp? And thanks all I need is the navigation I never even use the voice guide

Originally Posted by BurntOrangeAppeal View Post
I have.
chrisNYLI516 is offline   Send a private message to chrisNYLI516 Find more posts by chrisNYLI516 Add chrisNYLI516 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 08-25-2013, 12:24 PM   #6
Moderator
Burnt Orange
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
BurntOrangeAppeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Official Member #: 2887
Last Online: 12-04-2014 04:56 PM
Location: Under the Bridge
Posts: 2,816

Reputation Level: 33
BurntOrangeAppeal has a spectacular aura aboutBurntOrangeAppeal has a spectacular aura aboutBurntOrangeAppeal has a spectacular aura about

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Before I change my headunit

Originally Posted by chrisNYLI516 View Post
When you put in the new headunit did you keep the boss amp? And thanks all I need is the navigation I never even use the voice guide
No I remowed the Bose speakers, amps and rewired everything. My new double din came with Nav so essentially now, I have the option to display OEM navigation as well as aftermarket NAV.
__________________
'04 SE 6MT, Elite.
'01 SE Anniversary.
'97 GXE.
Click the image to open in full size.
Click the image to open in full size.
-=My Build Tread=-
BurntOrangeAppeal is offline   Send a private message to BurntOrangeAppeal Find more posts by BurntOrangeAppeal Add BurntOrangeAppeal to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Old 08-25-2013, 12:51 PM   Thread Starter #7
Newbie
my6thgen.org Profile Info.
 
chrisNYLI516's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Official Member #: 4597
Last Online: 10-17-2013 08:09 PM
Location: Strong.Island
Posts: 41

Reputation Level: 0
chrisNYLI516 is an unknown quantity at this point

Participation Level: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default Re: Before I change my headunit

Thanks for the info! The new headunit I am planning to get doesnt have Nav so I was wondering if my OEM will still work, which as you told me it would. Must be great to pick out of two different Nav system lol

Originally Posted by BurntOrangeAppeal View Post
No I remowed the Bose speakers, amps and rewired everything. My new double din came with Nav so essentially now, I have the option to display OEM navigation as well as aftermarket NAV.
chrisNYLI516 is offline   Send a private message to chrisNYLI516 Find more posts by chrisNYLI516 Add chrisNYLI516 to Your Friends list Reply With Quote top
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 Members And 1 Guests)
 
Thread Tools


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:12 PM.